1993 Ford Taurus Reviews - Page 20 of 23

1993 Ford Taurus SHO 3.0L V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1993
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 3.0L V6 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired100 miles
Most recent distance185000 miles
Previous carFord Probe

Summary:

A great bargain that runs reliably for many years and miles

Faults:

I replaced the clutch once at 105K.

I replaced the AC clutch once at 110K.

I replaced the radiator once at 175K.

I rate it a great car overall -- the engine and transmission still work great.

The electrical system has had a few little quirks since the beginning.

General Comments:

This car has turned out to be great value.

After the first 30K miles it seemed like a poor quality vehicle, as there were problems with the electrical system and brakes.

But now that I've driven it 185,000 miles with very few repairs I have changed my opinion. It's been very reliable, never stranding me, and it's still running great. There's no rust on the body, and the interior has held up very well.

It's been a great value over the long term.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th June, 2001

20th Sep 2002, 15:06

Congratulations on your Taurus, however, I believe you stand alone in terms of having any luck with this vehicle.

14th Jan 2009, 07:19

I'd like to make a point concerning the reliability of the SHO in the 93 Taurus - After reading many reviews and the horror stories that go along with the automatic 3.2L version of the car, the only people that seem to have no problems with the car are the ones who have the manual transmission with the 3.0L motor - now this might just be wishful thinking, but I am about to purchase a 93 Taurus with 110K on its own SHO - and it's a manual. Certain problems are expected with every car, that much I understand - and I'm hoping I got one of the lucky manuals that this gentleman did.

1993 Ford Taurus LX 3.2 V-6 from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 3.2 V-6 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.2 / 10
Distance when acquired100000 miles
Most recent distance149000 miles
Previous carHonda Civic

Summary:

Money eating inconvenience

Faults:

Steering column replaced twice.

Head gasket went out which led to the replacement of the engine.

Heater coil broke. Currently no heat in the car.

Electrical system is bad. Blinkers do not work and other sporadic problems.

Transmission is about to go.

Windshield wipers have never worked correctly.

General Comments:

This car generally sucks. The only good part about the car is that it looks new. The body has yet to rust anywhere. Considering that and the fact that the new engine only has 40000 miles, it is a difficult car to get rid of. I figure if everything has been replaced, then what else could go wrong? Again and again I find that Ford can screw up just about every part of this car.

I will never buy a Ford again.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 22nd June, 2001

1993 Ford Taurus GL 3.0 from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 3.0 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired53000 miles
Most recent distance61000 miles

Summary:

Great car for a 16 year old!

Faults:

Brakes went out in April of 2001.

Steering wheel makes strange rubbing noise, no dealer knows what it is.

Head gasket out at 54,000 miles.

General Comments:

This is car is very safe and reliable.

Seems to be in the shop a lot for minor things though.

Great on gas.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th May, 2001

7th Aug 2001, 13:32

Bought 93 Taurus GL 3.0 motor new. Only 12,000 miles on it to date (really). I don't travel much. About 1000 miles a year is my max... Gets around 17 MPG City and maybe 20 Highway...

Had 4 factory recalls.. No repairs to the car until today. A no start condition exists when the car heats up. In the dealership now. Hate to think of the bill!!!

Put in new battery last week. Only thing now that is wrong is the windshield wiper delay switch is intermittent. Have to play with it to make it work on delay mode.. Fast mode is OK.

1993 Ford Taurus GL 3.8L from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 3.8L Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired54300 miles
Most recent distance112654 miles
Previous carMercury Sable

Summary:

Very good performance and comfort at a reasonable price!

Faults:

Head gasket blew at 106,000 miles. Ford agreed to fix it if I paid the first $400. NO COMPLAINT! I got a 2001 Taurus to drive for 5 days, not only a new head gasket but new oxygen sensors, belt, spark plugs and water pump!!! I'm very pleased.

Left rear caliper replaced.

Struts (all around) at approx 88,000.

General Comments:

The 3.8L is more than adequate, ABS is superior to my 1996 Buick Regal GS. Only problem is dash shake and creak at the rear parcel shelf. Otherwise, this car has been wonderful to own.

My previous car was a 1991 Sable that had 156,000 on it when I traded it on this Taurus. Transmission went out (114,000) on that but again, Ford covered that FREE! Ford seems to stand behind their products. My father is a mechanic and we both feel that GM and Chrysler don't address problems.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th April, 2001

11th Nov 2001, 23:34

I have a 1993 Ford Taurus that I bought at 70,000 miles and it now has 1 year later 77,000 miles. This car has had to have a new steering rack, new cooling system, new brakes, new radiator, new sensors, new coils springs (one actually broke in the middle of traffic) and now the head gasket went and needs a new engine. Ford won't do anything for me, How did you get them to do anything for you? Would appreciate your help. ponykrzy@aol.com

20th Sep 2002, 15:13

93 Sable owner...ditto...head gaskets blew twice... ford did nothing for us even though the engine is identical to the 94-95 engines that qualified for the warranty. Would be very interested in knowing what you did to secure Ford's support.

25th Mar 2003, 14:45

Hi I'm having the same problem. I have a 94' ford Taurus and my head gaskets blew. I was told that I will need a new engine. They said that it would cost 3,000 dollars. I want to know if that is a good price. Do you have any suggestions on where I should go to get it fixed if that isn't a good price? Would it be cheaper for me to buy the engine and take it somewhere else? I don't know what to do please help. Ken,

Philadelphia, PA

coesta@hotmail.com.

8th Jan 2005, 09:21

I have a 1992 Taurus, 6 cyl engine. The head gasket blew at 102,000.

Average review marks: 6.3 / 10, based on 79 reviews