1993 Ford Taurus Reviews - Page 23 of 23

1993 Ford Taurus GL 3.0 6 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 3.0 6 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 0 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.6 / 10
Distance when acquired90000 miles
Most recent distance126000 miles

Summary:

A very poor investment

Faults:

The list is endless. I have spent over 2500 dollars repairing my car. It's in the shop as we speak. some problems were (and this is what I can remember off the top of my head): motor mount, air conditioner broke 3 times, brakes repaired 4 times, passenger door broke, oil pan, antifreeze hose, fuel pump, power steering pump, starter... still needs alignment and I hear noises that I never even knew existed.

General Comments:

This car has sucked me dry... it stalls all the time... mostly in the middle of a dangerous intersection... or on the highway... I will never buy another Ford product AGAIN! I've put in over 2500 dollars into this car and I've only had it 2 years. I highly recommend running away from any Ford dealership when one comes into sight... you'll be saving yourself tons of cash. Now I'm just waiting for the transmission to go... can't wait.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 13th July, 2000

29th Nov 2000, 18:08

I am having the same problems with my Taurus. It is now in the shop again after I just fixed the water pump and others. The dealership now tells me I need a new engine. I thought they were bluffing but after reading some of these remarks I believe it.

Ally

1993 Ford Taurus GL 3.0 from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1994
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 3.0 Automatic
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.8 / 10
Distance when acquired28000 miles
Most recent distance152000 miles
Previous carBuick Park Avenue

Summary:

I have to keep the car just to recoup my repair costs

Faults:

Transmission went out at 65,000 miles.

Computer, radiator, oxygen sensors have all been replaced. I have gone through two water pumps and several times have had to replace a motor mount. I now have to replace the heater core.

General Comments:

The one thing that would stop me from buying another Ford product is the fact that the tranny went out at 65,000 miles, unheard of. I think Ford knew they had a problem with the tranny in the 1994 and 1993 models and did nothing about it. With all my repair problems with this car, I can say one thing, it's never left me stranded, starts every time.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 8th April, 2000

25th Jun 2006, 21:07

I also had a 1994 Ford Taurus. I bought as a 5 yr old car used, with 104k miles. Drove nice and smooth. At 113k miles auto trans gave up on me! Cost me $1200.

Then I had cosmetic part problems. The power window switch did not work. Later I had a big oil leak. Mechanic tells me, its the crankshaft oil seal ON THE TRANSMISSION SIDE. To do that, they need to remove transmission to get to it. Will cost $750. Did not do however (lived with oil leak). I decided to sell this car to my co worker. He insisted on buying my 94 Ford.

While he had it, the transmission gave up again after about 30k miles later. Then about another 20k miles later, the engine blows! LOW QUALITY these cars are. I just know I LOST A LOT OF MONEY because of this car!

1993 Ford Taurus LX 3.8 from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1993
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 3.8 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired3000 miles
Most recent distance181000 miles
Previous carBuick Regal

Summary:

Frustrating at times and not too reliable but comfortable

Faults:

Head gaskets failed. Heads had to be removed and machined flat before replacement. Notorious problem for the 3.8 engine.

Link from ignition key lock to actual switch broke twice. Result is you can't turn the engine off - must remove fuses from under hood. Nature of linkage is such that it can still be started using the key after fuses replaced but fuses must be removed to turn the engine off.

Power brake unit sticks in brake applied mode especially when warmed up or in hot weather.

CD player unreliable.

Brake calipers stick.

General Comments:

Wire going to starting relay works off of terminal about every three months and has to be pushed back on. If I don't it eventually falls off and car won't start. Dealer just pushes it back on but does not fix. Power window motor in rear door rusted and froze.

Would not buy another even though I have liked this car in some ways. Body design of later models is not appealing.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 24th March, 2000

1993 Ford Taurus GL 3.8 Gasoline from North America

Year of manufacture1993
Engine and transmission 3.8 Gasoline
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10

Faults:

Oxygen sensors replaced.

Light switch replaced (Overheating).

EGR sensor replaced.

Auto trans rebuilt at 177,000 kms.

General Comments:

Owned since new in April 1993. Front brakes wear out faster than other Front WD cars owned. No major problems since new. There have been a number of factory recalls fixed at no charge. Car now has 206,000 km on odometer. Does not burn oil but front and rear seal leaks cause need for 1 litre added between oil changes - but no driveway drips! Seriously considering installation of new engine when this one blows, instead of buying new car. I'd buy another Taurus but don't like the recent styling. Maybe the 2000 model will be more appealing.

Thanks, Mike

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th October, 1999

28th Jul 2001, 06:30

Faulty fuel pump or clogged fuel filter ie. vapor lock.

9th Mar 2003, 14:55

Just a note to the stalling sho-owner... another site from a sho-owner indicated identical problems, and the cause... a bad CPS (crankshaft position sensor) which is located directly under the water pump. The pump started leaking, which damaged the sensor, and incapacitated the car. Try it... who knows?

5th Aug 2003, 16:29

To the person with the stalling problem I have a 93 Ford Taurus and I am having the same problem. I go on the highway and it does not pass 40 miles, I have to drive locally or with the hazard lights all the way home and this is very scary. I don't know whats wrong I have replaced all the sensors except the cps sensor what should I do advise please email me at Sleepingprincess27@msn.com thank you.

Average review marks: 6.3 / 10, based on 79 reviews