1993 Ford Taurus Reviews - Page 19 of 23

1993 Ford Taurus LX 3.8 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1995
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 3.8 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.4 / 10
Distance when acquired11500 miles
Most recent distance82500 miles

Summary:

Good looking scrap metal

Faults:

The Head gaskets files twice in 81,000 miles.

The Transmission had to be rebuilt at 66,000 miles.

The A/C system Failed 3 times in 78,000 miles.

3 alternators in 80,000 miles.

2 starters in 65,000 miles.

Multiple cooling system failures.

Multiple electrical failures from the radio to the climate control system.

General Comments:

About the only thing good about this car is it did not rust, and the seats are comfortable.

That is about it. Ford knows about the problems with the 3.8 Engine, and Transmission.

This is a "disposable car" I would only recommend buying one if you have tons of cash and can throw out $2000 a year to keep it running.

Also, have a second spare car around, you will need it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 24th May, 2002

1993 Ford Taurus LX 3.8L from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 3.8L Automatic
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 1 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 0 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
1.0 / 10
Distance when acquired60000 miles
Most recent distance110000 miles
Previous carMazda MX6

Summary:

Absolute Junk - Avoid Fords at all cost!

Faults:

Coolant leaks and head gasket failure.

General Comments:

The most unreliable car I have owned. This car has serious problems, and if this Ford quality, I'll recommend avoiding any Ford products.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 27th February, 2002

1993 Ford Taurus SHO DOHC 3.0/3.2 from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission DOHC 3.0/3.2 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired80000 miles
Most recent distance140000 miles
Previous carFord Taurus

Summary:

Very smooth and very comforable

Faults:

My automatic transmission went bad at 85000 miles, right after I got it. But that happens with cars. Other than that, nothing major.

General Comments:

Great car. Manual 5-speed is a 3.0 and the automatic is 3.2 liter engine. It is not a Super-charged engine despite the what the other review says. I love my leather interior and all the options. A great looking 4 door with lots of horsepower. It really shows up the so called fast cars.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th January, 2002

22nd Oct 2003, 07:09

I think if you would help the car out and treat it good you would have it running longer yes, I want the car, but I have a ford turas and it is 24voc and 8 horse power treat your car good and it will treat you good in return.

21st Apr 2004, 00:08

I have a 1994 SHO with 229k on it. I bought it with 100k and it still runs great. It is simply the best car I have ever owned.

1993 Ford Taurus LX 3.0 from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1993
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 3.0 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.6 / 10
Distance when acquired1200 miles
Most recent distance76000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Blazer

Summary:

A miserable car

Faults:

The starter and the radiator failed, power windows failed.

For the last two years I have been plagued with stalling, jerking failure to start and other problems which even the dealer could not repair. $2000.00 dollars later, it might be fixed.

General Comments:

I purposely bought an American car, but have been rewarded with poor reliability and horrible repair costs. The car still looks good, but I would not trust it to go around the block.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 11th July, 2001

1993 Ford Taurus GL 3.8L from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 3.8L Automatic
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.0 / 10
Distance when acquired79000 kilometres
Most recent distance120000 kilometres

Faults:

The head gasket was cracked and coolant got into the engine which resulted to a blown head gasket at 120,000 Kilometres. This was an pre-existing condition and has completely ruined my engine. I am having to replace the engine.

General Comments:

Due to the poor customer service I have received both from the dealership and the Ford Calling Center, I would not recommend anybody to buy a Ford again.

I am completely unsatisfied by the Ford Taurus.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 26th June, 2001

19th Jul 2001, 13:33

The same problem happened to me (I have a 1994 Ford Taurus GL, 3.8L), but my mechanic found out that Ford was aware of this problem and the dealer had to fix it for free. You may want to research and get a refund.

That may be the only good thing that I can say about Ford though. Their customer service is AWFUL and their cars are worse.

17th May 2002, 13:43

I have a 1993 Taurus and this is my experience. at 40,000 miles heater core went out,44k wiper motor failed,47k the brake calipers leaked, had to be replaced,50k the trans started acting up when you turn left it slips and when it catches it hits hard and almost puts you out of control. At 56k the starter went out,57k the air cond. went out,62k the only power window still working is the left front,71k the power steering pump started leaking and had to be replaced. At 85k the heater core went out again. I now have 97k on this car and I will never buy a Ford product again, their products are junk, their dealers are the worst. Fix or repair daily really does fit a Ford. Steve S.

25th May 2002, 22:43

I had the same problems with my Sable. Worst car I have ever bought in 25 years of driving.

14th Oct 2006, 06:05

I just recently bought a 1994 Ford Taurus GL. The previous owner had spent some money on it and its running great. Is there any way at all that I might be able to prevent any of these problems if they haven't been taken care of yet?

Average review marks: 6.3 / 10, based on 79 reviews