1994 Ford Taurus GL 3.0 from North America


A very reliable and safe family sedan!


Temperature sender at 60,000 miles.

A/C cycling switch at 60,000 miles.

Heater hose at 65,000 miles.

Radiator at 80,000 miles.

General Comments:

Our 1995 Taurus GL has been a wonderful vehicle since the day we purchased it. We never wonder if it will start or get us there on time.

Sure, we have done a little to it, but it still runs just as smooth as the day we bought it. We have taken it up north a couple times, and it never missed a beat.

Every time my wife looks at our Taurus, she says what a great car it has been, and I could not agree with her more!

Believe it or not, it still great on gas. I change the oil every 3,000 miles, and also maintain all it's other fluids. Its paint is fading in some areas, but we plan on having it painted sooner or later, that's how much we adore this car.

My wife has grinded the starter, not knowing that it was running. The power and speed of this vehicle is still awesome! I would most definitely recommend this vehicle to anyone who wants reliable transportation! I know my children and wife are always safe in our 1995 Taurus GL!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th August, 2003

1994 Ford Taurus GS 3.0L V6 from North America


A comfortable cheap car


Almost nothing has gone wrong with this car.

I've had to replace the water pump.

Replaced shocks around 180 000 kilometers.

General Comments:

Aside from the fact that a Taurus is definitely not a sports car, I still like it.

You get big car comfort, and decent economy.

It is now at almost 300 000 kilometers, and it is just starting to squeak.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th July, 2003

1994 Ford Taurus GL 3.0 gasoline from North America


No complaints with 21 mpg considering my very aggressive driving style


Rear brakes hung, burned up 2 sets of pads because I thought it was parking brake cable, turned out to be rear brake hoses, cheap and easy repair.

General Comments:

I LOVE the car, would definitely buy another Taurus. The Taurus I had before was a 1988, replaced due to age and failing transmission... at 151000 miles.

I realize a lot of people have had transmission problems, however mine is problem free, and shows no sign of failing anytime soon.

The car is equipped with a tachometer, and the motor rarely sees RPM of less than 3000, and doesn't even care. It almost seems like the harder I drive it, the better the car runs.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th July, 2003

1994 Ford Taurus GL 3.8 from North America


Don't buy it


Everything. This car is nothing but trouble. And talk about a gas pig. I am lucky to get 325 KM out of a tank of gas, and that's with taking it easy on the gas pedal. Anyone thinking about getting a car like this. Don't.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 14th March, 2003

5th Jun 2003, 22:00

That is because you had or have a automatic.

27th Jun 2004, 10:57

That's probably because the car needs a tune-up. Believe it or not you have to do that with all cars. My older Taurus WAGON, got an average of 26 MPG, doing around 70 on the highway. Considering it to be a V6, I think that's fine. I also kept up on all its mainteinence.

1994 Ford Taurus GL 3.8 from North America


An affordable, reliable performer, quiet, and very comfortable - a delight to drive


Starter began shorting-out at 58,000 miles.

(6-mos after purchase) traced to a cracked cylinder head leaking coolant on to starter. Cylinder head and starter both replaced.

Intermittent starter operation 60,000 miles. After several service dept. visits was traced to a partially severed connector-end on the starter lead wire.

Ignition switch tumbler replaced at 62,000 miles. Due to said tumbler being able to be turned and the car started without the ignition key in the switch.

Variable-speed, intermittent windshield wipers. Occasionally will hit a 'dead-spot' in the switch when changing wiper speed causing wipers to stop completely; till switch is moved again.

General Comments:

Transitioning from my '91 Cavalier Wagon. The roomy interior of the Taurus seemed like a limousine compared to the Cavalier.

With the 3.8L engine, its extremely quick and fairly nimble. I had to master using a 'light touch' on the accelerator pedal to preclude 'jack rabbit starts'.

Extremely well equipped with power accessories, the only things I truly miss are not having a power antenna and being a CD fan, having a factory stereo cassette player instead of a CD. But not to be daunted, I installed a CD Changer in the cavernous trunk.

Once the problems with the starter and the cylinder head were corrected, the car has been a total joy to drive. I use it commute to work daily, and have taken it on several trips. Its performed beautifully.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th February, 2003

30th Jun 2010, 12:07

I agree with most of this! I'm 16 and this is my 1st car.

At just over 200,000 miles, my dad and I (service management/mechanic) replaced hoses, sparkplugs, brakes and brakelines, belt, engine mount, lower control arm, and other various things that needed to be taken care of. It is good to go now.

My ignition tumblers are loose as well, and can be run without key, but key has to be in to unlock the cylinder.

My windshield wiper switch just went out, so I am getting that replaced (42$ at Autozone).

I have replaced the stereo, and have gone all out with 2 Pioneer 6.5s in the front, and 2 Kenwood 6*8s in the rear, with 2 Basslink 10 inch subs with Basslink amp in back run off a Pioneer deck.

Overall, I am happy with it for a 1st car!