1994 Ford Taurus GL from North America


The single worst car in existence


Transmission went 3 weeks after purchasing the car.

Both rear and front brakes needed to be redone.

Fuel pump needed to be replaced..

Transmission and engine mounts needed to be replaced.

Muffler needed to be replaced.

Rad. pipes needed to be replaced.

Many other repairs that have simply blurred into each other in my last year of constant trips to the mechanic.

General Comments:

I truly believe that the reason that the car was so low on KM when I bought it was because it spent so much time in the shop that it simply couldn't be driven.

This car is the worst investment I have ever made. I am a student and recognise that a 10 year old car is going to have some upkeep necessary, but this car is the ultimate in money pits. There is no reliability or comfort whatsoever, it always feels as though, when you get inside, you are HOPING to make it to your destination. The transmission, after blowing 3 weeks into purchasing the vehicle, has needed further work 4 times in the last 9 months. The car is a nightmare... please heed my warnings, I wish that I had.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 7th August, 2004

9th Aug 2004, 10:04

Why with all the knowledge available on the Internet these days are folks still making such poor vehicle purchase decisions. These cars are an absolute joke.

16th Aug 2004, 10:53

I have always been a Ford man, but my 1994 Taurus was the worst car I have ever owned. The 3.0 V6 had major oil leaking problem which I had repaired several times. Finally the transmission hatched and I gave the car away to get rid of it.

18th Sep 2006, 00:08

"These cars are an absolute joke"

No, it's not the car it's the people that own them.

30th Aug 2009, 21:53

I agree with the above comment. These 3.0L Vulcans can last past 300,000 miles if treated well.

18th Nov 2009, 22:11

I bought a 94 with 160000 miles. Drove it 3 and a half yrs and got 227000 miles with only an alternator replaced. I had the good one I guess.

20th Nov 2009, 08:04

The original reviewer purchased a 10 year old vehicle - enough said!

21st Nov 2009, 16:18

I've purchased 15-25 year old vehicles my whole driving life and never had much trouble at all. Of course I only bought GM full sized cars.

1994 Ford Taurus SHO 3.2 from North America


Completely unreliable mechanical nightmare


Two months after I purchased the car, the transmission failed as I was climbing a hill at high power. The mechanic showed me the part; it was a metal gear that broke in half.

The alternator quit a month later. 6 months after replacing, the battery light is on again. I just ignore it.

Within 6 months, the starter failed. The first replacement lasted 6 months and failed. The second replacement lasted 6 months and failed. I am on my third starter in 2 years.

The engine developed a no start condition. The control module for the fuel pump failed. I started to use a hammer to bang the module in the morning to get the fuel pump to run.

Currently, the car has developed a monstrous misfire and engine skip. After an hour in heavy traffic, it will just shut down and won't start for a half hour. The mechanic can't figure what is wrong, but wants to replace the fuel pump (for $450), spark plugs and wires (for $660), timing belt (for $481), cylinder id sensor (for $250) etc. The car is essentially totaled for want of a tune up. And they can't guarantee that that is what the problems are.

Air conditioner leaks refrigerant. Blower motor only runs on high.

Battery light blinks like a flashing red light.

Various plumes of oil smoke constantly emanate from the engine compartment.

General Comments:

I had to move down from a BMW when I purchased this car. The reviews said it was a BMW at Ford prices. I've never had the pleasure of enjoying the car because it is constantly broken down. I have NEVER in my life been stranded on the side of the road as often as with this nightmare. Stay far, far away.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 24th July, 2004

24th Jul 2004, 13:56

Dump this flying coffin before it kills you!!

24th Jul 2004, 14:10

660 for spark plugs and wires!!!???!!!

Get a new mechanic!

23rd Feb 2005, 09:23

As for your comment, I too am having the same problems with my 94 Taurus. I guess I will have to find a way to salvage what I can. Thank You very much. PS. Anyone need parts?