1994 Ford Taurus SHO Supercharged 3.0 from North America


Very fast and comfortable


Starter went at 115,000.

Processor went, had to replace $$$.

General Comments:

With the Super-charger this car is a force to be reckoned with.

Doesn't handle around turns as well as I wish it would.

With every option under the sun, I love this car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th March, 2001

5th Sep 2001, 21:46

How hard was it to put a supercharger on it, e-mail me at lobes2002@aol.com


6th Apr 2010, 21:38

I am looking for a camshaft syncronizer for my 1994 Ford Taurus super high output. I have the sensor. It seems I can't find one anywhere. Please help.

Thank you.

1994 Ford Taurus GL 3.0 from North America


Absolutely incredible


The only problem I have had is running out of gas.

This car is awesome.

General Comments:

This car is incredible, I haven't had one problem with it since I received it. I will not buy a different car for the rest of my life, Ford is awesome, you guys are complaining about your cars messing up, all cars break down and have problems, get over it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th January, 2001

31st Jan 2001, 12:24

Ford IS CRAP. Maybe you own one of the few "decent" Fords. The European Fords are also the same, costly pieces of junk.

14th Dec 2002, 16:26

I just got a 94 Taurus GL form a private owner for $500. and it seems to be a great car. Muffler has a couple of holes and I'm gonna get that replaced, however I have a little hesitation from time to time. But as soon as I give it gas it goes! Any ideas? Fuel injection? Spark plugs? Holes in the muffler? Just being testy with it's new owner??? I'm a female and hate to be taken for a ride.



Meesh :-)

1994 Ford Taurus LX 3.0 V6 from North America


A good car with a bad transmission




Ignition switch.


General Comments:

A good car with a terrible transmission. The 3.0 engine is bulletproof but the transmission feels like it is made of plastic, it is very clunky. I am just waiting for it to go.

Another factor is that these cars are dirt cheap when compared to GM products that don't seem to be much better.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th January, 2001

15th Sep 2003, 15:49

No, YOU'RE wrong. It is a 3.0L Vulcan engine. And the poster is absolutely correct in that the engine is excellent, while the AX4S automatic trans-axle is weak at best. I'm glad I sold mine at 125k miles before something major went wrong with it.

1994 Ford Taurus LX 3.0 from North America


A problem prone vehicle


Transmission rebuild at 60,000.

Two water pumps installed at the Ford dealer 13 months apart.

Front driveshaft.

Engine pinging that can't be fixed.

Broken electric lumbar support.

General Comments:

Quality in not what Ford builds into their cars. "Quality is not job 1".

Luckily I got the 3.0 Liter engine instead of the problem prone 3.8, else I may have had engine problems in addition to the transmission.

Transmission problems on the six cylinder Fords is an epidemic for Ford owners. I can't believe the Government never forced them to recall them.

Ford had known about their transmission problems for years, but continued to make them anyway.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 9th December, 2000

11th Dec 2000, 13:39

I can't believe you sold the Legend and got a Taurus. No wonder you hated it.

16th Jan 2001, 13:13

Hi man, I thought my car was the only one!!! Piston #6 valves or springs weak!! 2,100 for a rebuilt transmission plus more engine problems. Transmission and engine sucks!!!

Body and handling are very good!!!

1994 Ford Taurus LX 3.8 L from North America


Does not hold up well with age...... poor quality


Transmission replaced, fuel pump replaced, turn signal mechanism replaced, motor mount replaced....

$3000 worth of mechanical replairs in four years.

General Comments:

Ford put all the money in the looks!

Car is a joke mechanically......

Resale value is also a joke, the word is out.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 7th August, 2000

15th Jul 2014, 11:31

YES! These cars are a joke when it comes to quality. It's not only the engine that eats water pumps, top gaskets and that often fails completely before 150K miles, and a transmission that fails at 80-100K, but the rest of the car is a joke too. An interior that literately falls apart around you, and various electric, mechanical and electronic problems.

Rough running, won't start when it's warm, electric windows that don't work, failing A/C, warning lights on and off all the time, sensor problems, sagging doors, outer trim that falls off, shot wheel bearings, major front end work in the suspension before 100K, rotors that warp after a couple of years, central locking that works when it wants to, headlight problems, original stereo that failed, etc etc; the list is ENDLESS!!!

There cars are a complete disaster when it comes to quality. Had one for a couple of years and finally had to give up; it was more in the repair shop than on the road. Hopefully most of these cars are now off the road and wrecked. Shame on Ford for making these cars in the first place. Spacious and comfortable, but quality wise, a complete joke.