1994 Ford Taurus GL 3.2 from North America


The Taurus is like a beautiful women, looks great but high maintenance!


I have had my water pump replaced 4 times. The last two times the part was covered by replacement warranty but labor was not.

I have had problems with the lights going out and the car losing power. Three times into the dealer to get it fixed. Finally did, then about 6 or 7 months later Ford did a recall on the part that was replaced, I have still not received reimbursement for the money I shelled out.

Serpentine belt has been replaced twice and there have been numerous small things. All in all I would say I have spent around $6000.00 keeping this car going. I think I'll buy a Honda next.

General Comments:

Ford sucks!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 8th May, 2000

1st Dec 2000, 21:59

If you think a Ford Taurus is a pain try owning a Tracer! Words alone cannot express the absolute hell I went through when I bought mine brand spanking new in 1990. That car was in the shop every other week with something always going out.

The best thing that ever happened was when I got run off the road and totaled the thing into a tree. All in all, Ford truly sucks.

1994 Ford Taurus SHO 3.2L 24V DOHC V6 Supercharged from North America


The car has needed a new water pump and belt, oxygen sensors, cam position sensor, computer chip, fog lamp, recalled for engine mounts.

General Comments:

The car is quick, agile, fun to drive, and very attractive looking. It has had occasional mechanical problems, but the car's performance makes up for the dislike of mechanic bills. It easily puts away Beamers and gives the Mustang a run for its money, and it seats the whole family.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th September, 1999

13th Dec 2000, 11:31

Just curious about the "supercharged" statement since these cars weren't supercharged. Did you add it aftermarket? How much? Whose supercharger? Was the performance increase worth it?

9th Jan 2001, 20:42

I have a 94 Emerald color SHO. I got it in June of 2000 and have had it since. Since then I have had to replace 2 front tires, a brand new alternator, and a $2300 60,000 mile tranny.

The car when bought had 114,200... now has 116,330. I wouldn't trade this car for anything. It has the Yamaha 225hp 24V DOHC engine. And I take very good care of it. It has all the options, plus another amp in the back for the sub woofers (if I get them).

It is in its first winter, handles great. But now the alignment is drifting to the right. So, there is something else I need fixed when spring comes. I still say not bad for a first car. Especially when I beat my uncle's 96 Vette (V8 MIND YOU).

7th Aug 2004, 18:00

Hey, I just got a '95 SHO and I was going down the street, then all the sudden the service engine soon light came on and it died. I tried to start it back up, nothing. A few minutes later it started right back up. Same thing?

4th Sep 2004, 22:36

To the guy with the no start, but crank fine problem had the same thing drove me nuts it's the fuel pump I guarantee it.changed mine and then drove 3.000 on vacation

9th Mar 2007, 12:42

I was just wondering where I can get performance parts for my 94 SHO. I've been looking, but haven't had any luck.

25th Aug 2007, 20:29

I bought a 94 Taurus SHO new. I still have it. It has 74000 miles on it. It's been a great car. No trouble whatsoever.

1994 Ford Taurus GL 3.8 from North America


Transmission had to be rebuilt at 42,000 miles. Had to clean out the fuel injector chamber at about 20,000 miles, stereo tape player replacement.

General Comments:

Great car, but I am just waiting for the transmission to go again. I do not have confidence in it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 18th October, 1998

1994 Ford Taurus SHO 3.2 litre from North America


Starter failed.

Who takes their car to a dealer for service?

General Comments:

The best high performance sedan made in the U.S.A., and possibly, the world! Luxury too!

Mine has every available option. Dual airbags, leather, CD, moonroof, and high end stereo.

Too bad Ford has lost their direction with the '96 plus models. BMW was running scared for a few years!

Great acceleration from a Yamaha designed and built 24 valve V-6, accompanied by surprising handling from Ford Motor Co. I have heard of rotors warping, but in 20K miles my brakes have been nothing short of perfect. For those not "in the know", watch out for the sleeper Taurus'!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd January, 1998