1999 Ford Taurus Wagon 3.0L from North America


Keep a $$ reserve for maintenance


Rotors turned when bought at 30K.

New brake rotors at 60k.

New struts at 60k.

New Driver front axle at 60K.

Power steering Rack leaked at 73K. Cost $750.

Wheel Bearings replaced at 70K $600.

Tie rods replaced at 73k.

Alternator and belt at 67K.

General Comments:

The car requires me to let it warm up a few minutes. or it will lurch as if rpm's are modulating for about 10 seconds.

The gas mileage is good. About 24 in mixed driving.

The front seat is comfortable for a 6'2" tall person.

I wish the car was more reliable because it is hard to find a vehicle that gets decent mpg, can carry 8 people if needed (2kids in back) and has good room for a trip to Home Depot if needed.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 2nd April, 2004

16th Apr 2004, 09:49

Just to add to my review. Coolant reservoir cracked at 75K. $250 to replace and flush coolant system.

26th Jan 2005, 21:36

Adding to this again at 90,000 miles

Another 1221.00 bill for

Timing cover gasket leaking, so went ahead and had waterpump replaced while off.

Oil Pan gasket replaced

Rear Brakes new to include rotors

Trans Fluid flushed

Brake fluid new

Transaxle seal replaced


19th Jul 2006, 06:07

I have a Ford Taurus wagon, it has been a very good car. I have been driving it for 3 years now and I have had no problems. Love my Taurus.

Patricia in Georgia.

1999 Ford Taurus LX from North America


The car starts to fall apart after 40,000 no matter how well you take care of it


The rotors have to be repaired for the third time at 62,000 miles.

The fuel pump has gone out.

A sensor in the transmission has gone out.

The door open sensor is broken.

The speedometer was going crazy and had to be repaired.

General Comments:

I started out really liking this car, but with all the trips to the repair shop I have changed my mind.

I have to repair the rotors for the third time. They are fine for a few months and then they start wobbling again.

When the fuel pump went out, I was just 1,000 miles below the 60,000 mile warranty was over, so they had to fix it for $50. The manager at the dealership basically made it sound like it was my fault. The repair would have been around $700. I have the car regularly serviced and change the oil every 3,000 miles.

I have already had to purchase new tires.

The door open sensor is constantly going off and I do not want to spend the money to fix it. I am waiting for something more serious to happen and I am sure it will.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 29th March, 2004

14th Jan 2011, 11:27

I have a 1999 Ford Taurus SE. It has 175,000 miles on it. I bought it salvage in 2004. I've put a about $3500 in repairs over the years, but it's still going.

1999 Ford Taurus SE 3.0 OHV from North America


Pretty good car


The steering rack had to be replaced. This was my first problem with the car and I've owned it for nearly a year. Total cost for the repair was around $800.

The driver seat also is wrinkly looking in a couple of spots.

General Comments:

The dome light/door ajar problem can be solved by lubricating all your door hinges with WD-40.

Overall, I really like the looks/handling/performance of the car, but I was very disappointed in the steering rack going bad so soon.

The finish is still in excellent condition even after 5 years in the hot southern sun. Overall everything still works well. The A/C still blows ice cold and the interior has held up well and still looks new for the most part.

I'm sort of undecided about how I feel about the car, since it has a lot of positives, but if I have to incur any further costly repairs I will likely be very upset.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 23rd March, 2004

17th Apr 2004, 17:08

Dear Sir.

I personally am very pleased with this review as it was instrumental beyond the help of my trusty mechanic in solving my annoying dome light/door ajar problem. Thank you very, very much.


Carl E. of NYC.