2001 Ford Taurus Reviews - Page 9 of 16

2001 Ford Taurus SES 3.0 V6 from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 3.0 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired35000 miles
Most recent distance76000 miles
Previous carPontiac Grand Prix

Summary:

Fast and roomy

Faults:

None.

General Comments:

Well me being 16 and all I invested my money into my car. I put a cold air intake, twin turbo,2 1/2 inch bora dual exhaust, 20 inch chrome wheels and a CD player and a system. That thing is really fast now.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st October, 2005

2001 Ford Taurus SE 3.0 Vulcan from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 3.0 Vulcan Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.8 / 10
Distance when acquired48000 miles
Most recent distance51000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Lumina

Summary:

Will never buy a Ford

Faults:

Starter died at 51,000 miles

Steering vibrates above 60 mph

City MPG is terrible

Steering is very hard, squeaks on turns

High road noise.

General Comments:

My wife drives 1997 Toyota Camry with 89K and we have not spent a penny on repairs. My Taurus got just 51K and starter died (I just couldn't start after stopping) stranding me 30 miles away from home. Cost 120 dollars on parts and 80 dollars labor for mobile mechanic.

How can I trust this car to take me on long trips?

All of my friends advised me not to go for Ford vehicle unless it is a truck. Well, I learned my lesson now..

Why can't they just make as reliable as Japanese cars?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 18th May, 2005

11th Sep 2005, 21:18

You just got a lemon, I have a 2001 Taurus SES and not a thing has went wrong with it and I have had it since it was new.

23rd Sep 2005, 19:09

Starter died at 51,000 miles- That'll happen sometimes. Not a major expense to fix.

Steering vibrates above 60 mph- You probably have a cupped tire or multiple cupped tires.

City MPG is terrible- when was the last time the care was completely serviced?

Steering is very hard, squeaks on turns- that's the power steering pump telling you one of two things. 1- I'm thirsty and need some fluid... 2- I'm starting to fail and when I do... You'll get charged 200 bucks.

High road noise.- What does that mean?

2001 Ford Taurus SE 3.0L Vulcan V6 from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 3.0L Vulcan V6 Automatic
Performance marks 2 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.6 / 10
Distance when acquired33000 miles
Most recent distance48000 miles
Previous carFord Ranger

Summary:

The car is bland, boring, soccer mom type fare

Faults:

Passenger side rear window weatherstripping has been loose since day one.

Rain shield under the front trunk lip is loose.

Shakes badly when braking in the 50-60mph range.

Slight pull to the right.

General Comments:

I would not have bought this car if it was not for my dad insisting to buy it for me.

It handles sluggishly. Quick direction changes are not always possible. There is a ton of body lean, and the stock tires have no grip at all. Steering feels dead and disconnected.

The engine is gutless. Perhaps the 200hp model is better, but that doesn't help here. It is slow off the line. Decent in the 4000-6000 rpm range.

It is big. The trunk is big too. The 6 disk trunk mount CD player is always in the way of loading large objects, though.

Front buckets are uncomfortable on long trips in the lower back area.

Car is just no fun to drive.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th May, 2005

2001 Ford Taurus SES 3.0L from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 3.0L Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired29000 miles
Most recent distance105000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Impala

Summary:

Trouble-free ride with no major issues

Faults:

Front rotors warped after any single hard braking event. Ceramic pads have cured this.

Front end suspension noisy over any bump. New stabilizer links cured this @ $37/ea.

Heat shielding around catalytic converter rattled when door closed. Reshaping cured this.

General Comments:

A trouble-free ride with no major issues.

This car is comfortable transportation and a great family sedan.

Wind noise is higher than I'd like, and cabin temperature fluctuates greatly when outside temp is cold. Requires heat on constantly to maintain comfort.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd May, 2005

2001 Ford Taurus SE 3.0 from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 3.0 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired8 miles
Most recent distance110000 miles
Previous carBuick Century

Summary:

Taurus was Great for us. Cheap Cost

Faults:

Only the passanger side power door lock button.

Front wheel had an air leak, not tire. New wheel when new. Warranty. Metal part, not rubber.

Engine has started to ping a bit, started around 80,000-miles. Not bad and no lights are on.

General Comments:

We are very satisfied with our Taurus. It was cheap to buy new, insure, taxes, and a comfort to own as far as only having a $15000 car to worry about dings and dents in parking lots, but this $15,000 car is very comfortable, reliable, and roomy.

Some of our friends and family have had some issues with a few Taurus, but they were older ones like 1996 and bought used.

We kind of had to buy a new Honda Accord last month, out son is a salesman at the Honda place and he needed to sell 2-more cars last month to get his bonus ($11,000) and trip (Valued at $7000), otherwise we would have saved a ton of money and got another Taurus.

The trade in on our like new 2001 Taurus with 110,000 miles was only $3200. We decided to keep the car and sell it ourselves, but have had no traffic what so ever. Only 1 call from a dealer who wanted the car for nothing.

The Taurus does seem to have virtually no resale vale, but we only gave $15,000 for the car, including sales tax, and we have drove it 110,000-miles.

I'd highly recommend a newer Taurus to anyone who wants a comfortable, reliable, affordable-good looking car, that is safe as well.

Ours was serviced like clock work and never failed. Having the car serviced is very cheap also.

Our 2001 Taurus has a far more comfortable interior as compared to our 05 Accord. The Accord does handle and drive much better though, but I am comparing a car with 4,000-miles to one with 110,000-miles.

The Taurus for sure has more interior and trunk room. I prefer the dash lights and controls on the Accord. The Taurus is very quiet at road speed as to where the Accord has more noise. The Accord's idle can't be heard, but the Taurus produces a lot of noise at idle and the Taurus transmits some roughness from the engine while stopped and in drive, as the Accord feels as it the car isn't even on when the car is stopped and still in Drive, but the Taurus's Engine mounts are older and rubber hardens, I can't remember if the Taurus felt kind of ruff when it was newer.

I'd sure buy another Taurus. We had to spend about $9000 more on an Accord to get the same trim level with leather, as what we could have had with a Taurus.

Leather, trip computer, lumbar, compass, keypad entry-keyless entry Taurus $17,000 with all the rebates and cash back and 0%.

Same stuff on an Accord minus all the stuff that you can't get on an accord like key pad entry, $26,000 with no rebates and 3.99% apr.

O-what we do for our Children.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th April, 2005

11th Apr 2005, 11:06

I sure hope he gave you part of his bonus!! haha. sounds like you've had great luck with the Taurus. I'm thinking of getting a new one after college. very reasonably priced. maybe they'll have a new style out again soon!

15th Apr 2005, 13:13

Mid to late summer 2005 ford will stop building the Taurus.

Average review marks: 7.1 / 10, based on 50 reviews