15th Nov 2004, 03:47

I own a 1999 Ford Taurus, I'm having trouble with the heater, does any one know how to repair it. I've flushed the system, changed the pump and even blocked the by pass line to the heating core and still nothing. The heating core does flow freely. I'm stuck.

3rd Dec 2004, 10:25

I have a Ford Taurus 1998, it has treated me well. I have had it for 5 years now. I have had normal maintenance since I owned the car other than the following items:

Heater, my heater stop working after 4 years of owning it. I did everything to fix it, the only thing that worked was my heating core (inside the dash) had to be replaced.

Done light, it was on all the time, this happened about 2 years after I owned it. This was a simple fix. The only thing I had to do is put some WD-40 on the latch of the truck, the car was thinking the door was ajar. It's worked fine since.

This car has treated me well, I have 175,000+ miles on it, and plan on using it for at least 2 or 3 more years.

6th Dec 2004, 12:12

I am very interested in these comments. It is funny because I am having a shop work on my heat right now. I had a power flush done 2 days ago. Today, I a went to purchase a new heating core and come to find out they said it was the pump. Waiting now to see if this is the problem. One thing that I have is constant sludge and rust in the coolant system. I took it in 3 times in 6 months to have it flushed and each time they responded by saying they couldn't believe the sludge and how bad it was. My dome light stays on too. I will try the WD40 and see if that works. Replaced brakes once and that was it. I have a '98 with 64k miles.

14th Dec 2004, 11:56

We have a 1999 Taurus and are having the same problems, only I am having to change out the radiator also. The rack and pinion was changed out 4 months ago along with the power steering pump. It's back in the shop today to change out the pump again. Thank God for NAPA's warranty. Also have no heat.

I won't be purchasing any Ford products in the future.

13th Mar 2005, 08:38

I am also an owner of a 99 Ford Taurus SE. My Heat went out recently only to find myself putting water in the car every other day to get heat. The worst thing I have been thru is I have had to get my Whole brake system changed 3 times since 2003. This is terrible. The problem seems to always start from the right side of my front brake. Only half of the brake pad gets used, Therefore it eats my rotor up. I know that the car dealership has been very good about replacing the whole brake system over and over, but what if me and my children were in an accident? There are WAY too many complaints on braking problems in this particular model. If anyone knows of anything ford may be doing to fix these problems, please add a comment. Thank you.

19th Mar 2005, 17:56

Hi. I'm the owner of a 1999 Ford Taurus. The car has been great until this year. The heater fan has stopped working. Unfortunately, this is NOT good as I live in a horribly cold climate. Any ideas as to what the problem may be???

Any help would be truly appreciated.



25th Aug 2005, 22:33

I own a 1999 Ford Taurus SE 4dr. Bought it Sept.11 (yes, THAT Sept.11) It was a pre-owned car.

I love the car, but I have had to change the brakes about every 3-5 months and the rotor once. They do wear down fast, I thought maybe I had a lead foot.

The a/c LASTS about 6 months, I need to add freon each summer. It warms well though. The headlamps look crappy, I want to replace those and it will be a fine car, I plan to use it till the wheels fall off.


Odessa, Texas.

29th Nov 2005, 00:25

Replacing the rack and pinion should not cost anywhere near 1200 dollars. 500 is more like it, if you have a shop do the work. I replaced mine myself, took about 3 hours, the part was 170 dollars with a 100 dollar core charge which was refunded. I flushed the heater core on mine several times, finally got the heat working. It just takes time and patience... lots of it. Beats pulling the entire dashboard to replace the heater core though. I wonder if the orange antifreeze has caused some of the heater problems in the cars? After the last flushing, I switched my 1999 Taurus over to the green antifreeze. So far, its still nice and clear, where the orange was like mud.

24th Oct 2006, 15:07

I have a 1999 Ford Taurus and am experiencing some of the same problems. My heat does not work. My horn does not work and every so often, my door light warning will not go off. It comes on saying a door is ajar, but all the doors are shut. Also the car jumps when you put in a gear, or stop and then release of the brakes. It wants to keep jumping or bucking when you are stopped at a traffic light.

21st Jun 2007, 16:20


Fix Or Repair Daily.

My 2002 Ford Taurus is leaking antifreeze. There is a lot of rust in the jug. I was not aware that I was not supposed to use orange coolant. Do I have to replace anything or will I be able to drain and start over?Please help. Lost and don't know where to start.

29th Aug 2007, 04:17

99 ford Taurus is the worst engineered car. The 3.0L v6 DOHC engine crammed in the engine bay makes it impossible to fix anything in that car. I am a certified mechanic by trade and today I replaced a rack and pinion and a power steering pump in on and I never want to work on one again. Those cars suck in my opinion.

24th Sep 2007, 13:47

Yesterday we purchased a used ford Taurus for an excellent deal! I was so excited I brought my husband to pick it up and I couldn't stop thinking what a great looking car!

I drove behind him on the highway and 5 minutes down he was turning off to the side of the highway, the engine had seized, he had just checked the oil prior to driving it. And now I come to this site and see all the terrible reviews I wish we would have checked prior to purchasing this heap!

12th Oct 2007, 00:39

My 99 tarus was leaking at the heater core.

Went to Kragen and bought some of that good leak stop stuff and it sealed the leak.

1 year later; still works great.

6th Dec 2007, 01:58

I have a 1997 ford taurus I have had it flushed several times and the heater won't work. I have had the water pump replaced still no heat. I have been told heating core, but it also has a clicking in the dash that started about 6 months ago. I got the car in 2006 any any any ideas I got told about 511 dollars 4 heating core.