1993 Ford Telstar Reviews

1993 Ford Telstar 2.0L 4 cylinder from Australia and New Zealand

Model year1993
Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2013
Most recent year of ownership2013
Engine and transmission 2.0L 4 cylinder Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.5 / 10
Distance when acquired250000 kilometres
Most recent distance280000 kilometres

Summary:

Nice try, but it has not aged well at all

Faults:

The car developed over heating problems.

Replaced the thermostat and radiator, but the problem persisted.

Replaced the water pump, which helped only a little. Overheating problem still persists (a very time consuming and tricky repair to replace the water pump; was quoted $1,000 AUD to repair, so had to do it myself. Not recommended unless you're very good with tools and have very dexterous hands).

Idle speed would jump up and down at random, and idle too fast, which reduced engine braking.

Now it will start and run only when cold, but accept no more than a fraction of throttle before it stalls. It's totally undrivable in this condition. Refuses to start at all when it's hot.

I'm reluctant to spend any more money on this car.

General Comments:

When working as the manufacturer intended, it is an OK car.

Comfortable and roomy.

Typical 90's Japanese front wheel drive handling, i.e. poor for an enthusiast, acceptable for a commuter.

The cooling system problems, and now the fact it won't run, have meant that I regret buying this particular model. Also engine bay access is terrible to put it mildly, and even basic maintenance is much more difficult than it is on say the Camry I used to own. This will be reflected in the price you will be quoted to repair the problems, that you will inevitably run into with this model and age vehicle.

Dear reader, you have been warned.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 13th August, 2013

13th Aug 2013, 14:21

If it's consistently overheating, you may have a blown head gasket.

25th May 2014, 04:49

Sounds like your car probably got thrashed before you bought it. Mine's done 270 thousand k's, and is still running sick.

1993 Ford Telstar 2.5 petrol from South Africa

Model year1993
Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1993
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission 2.5 petrol Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.6 / 10
Distance when acquired19000 kilometres
Most recent distance163000 kilometres

Summary:

Excellent, and very underrated

Faults:

CV joints at 80000.

Dashboard storage compartment's closer springs are broken.

General Comments:

Excellent low maintenance luxury car with good performance and excellent road holding. Less fuel efficient, but still compares good with other similar cars.

Very reliable. Owned it for 17 years, and still in excellent condition and going strong. Done 163000 km.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th June, 2010

14th Jan 2011, 07:25

Hi all.

I've been driving a Ford Telstar 2.0 GLE for 4 years now. Before I bought it, I didn't even wanted a Ford for free!!

But now, I won't change it for anything!! As I'm working for a Ford agent now, I pimped it quite a bit for next to nothing.

I fitted Tickford Falcon 17" mags (only set in SA), redid the whole front & rear suspension, fitted all mountings, black leather seats, new roof lining, door panels, fitted electric windows, double din DVD/nav system, etc, all out of the Ford warehouse. It looks wicked, I love it. And it's light on juice!! I get +-900km on a tank at 140km/h!! Want a car? Buy a Telstar!!!!

1993 Ford Telstar TX5 2.0 from Australia and New Zealand

Model year1993
Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.0 Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.5 / 10
Distance when acquired200000 kilometres
Most recent distance260000 kilometres
Previous carFord Falcon

Summary:

Comfortable when it works

Faults:

I bought this car second hand with a fairly high mileage, so of course it is going to have problems.

Car vibrated/shook at idle - replaced 3 of the engine suspension supports reduced the problem significantly approx. $300 (AUD) each, this is just for parts.

Boot hydraulics would not hold up the hatch tailgate; needed to re-gas, approx. $60 (AUD) each, just parts.

Water pump broke, $1000 (AUD) to replace, including labour.

Radiator started leaking, cost $600 (AUD) for a non-genuine one, again just the part.

Needed to replace parking light (my fault) $320 (AUD)

General Comments:

The interesting thing is that Mazda 626 parts (same car) are cheaper than Ford parts; it's as if Ford buys from Mazda and then resells to the consumer.

Overall, a comfortable car, good for city driving. It is not a fast car by any standards, but will suffice in day to day driving.

Fuel wise, I got 10.5-11L/100km in the city and about 8L/100km on the freeway.

The car is fairly roomy for a medium sized car of that generation, and is very well equipped.

Parts however are extremely expensive, and that's the main problem with this car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 25th November, 2007

3rd Apr 2011, 14:45

Wow. I'm glad I don't live in your area. I got my radiator for $270 NZ dollars.

20th Mar 2013, 21:39

I do not know where you are buying your parts, but STOP! I bought a radiator for $109 with free delivery. Water pump cost me (new) $60. Hatch struts $29. Parking light, front, $30. Seriously ripped off! Ebay is your friend, just be careful of the scammers.

25th Nov 2013, 19:15

I know this is very late, but does your mechanic/salesperson carry a gun?

Radiator less than $100.

Water pump $45.

Engine mounts are around $70 each.

And fuel use seems a bit heavy. My 1993 Telstar gets <7L per 100Ks highway.

Average review marks: 6.2 / 10, based on 9 reviews