1990 Ford Tempo GL 2.3 HSC from North America


An amazing car that I love: Would buy again anytime!


Heater control defaults to defrost when there is a vacuum loss... Problem found and easily fixed.

General Comments:

Super reliable car; Very underestimated.

Easy to fix if broken.

Easy to improve on power. (a K&N cold air intake woke this thing up and it became a sporty compact! I was very surprised, as I never expected any power from this car... It's fun!)

Manual transmission is the way to go as far as power, reliability, and economy.

Interior is great, comfortable, and no rattles; Very quiet at all speeds.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th June, 2005

1990 Ford Tempo L 2.3 Gasoline from North America


Good on gas, but make up for it in repairs


I don't think there is one original part on this car excluding the frame.

General Comments:

This car has been driven to hell and I put 522,065 km on it before the engine blew up and it split in 2.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st March, 2005

1990 Ford Tempo GL 1.9 liter engine from North America


I really like this car. I love the Tempo. This is the 3rd one that I have owned. It is a good car.


A spring or shock has busted on right rear side.

The shocks are weak, it bounces a lot and sways.

It needs a valve cover gasket.

It has rusted along the bottom of the doors.

Transmission does not shift right sometimes.

Has needed water pump replacement.

Tires wear fairly quick.

Has stalled a few times while cold.

Cold- natured car, needs to be ran for several minutes before driving in cold weather.

Automatic seat belts are an annoyance and are loud.

Has needed several muffler replacements.

General Comments:

The car is like a toy to drive and park.

Interior is nice.

Good stereo for a Ford.

Seats are comfortable.

Fun to drive around town.

Has been dependable and a good running car with maintenance.

Perfect size car, convenient 4 door style.

Not a bad looking body style.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th December, 2004

16th Dec 2004, 21:45

1.9 liter engine? Tempos and Topaz's all came with a 2.3 liter engine, except for a handful back in 84-85 that had a 2 liter Mazda diesel engine. Either you're confused on what car you have, or you don't know what's under your hood. The only Ford in 1990 to have a 1.9 liter engine would have been the Escort/Lynx.

3rd Jan 2005, 22:49

One of my friends had a '90 with a 1.9 as well. It does exist. I had a 2.3 in mine, and wished I had the 1.9.

1990 Ford Tempo GL 2.3 from North America


A Basic Car, but keeps GOING and GOING and GOING and..


This car has been excellent!

In my ownership of 8 years and over 300 000 km, I have replaced:

Exhaust x 2 times

Tires x 5 times

Thermostat x 1 time

Radiator x 1 time

Inner Tie Rods x 2 times.

General Comments:

For the size-range of car, this car is the most comfortable I have driven, especially compared to Japanese cars.

The engine and AUTOMATIC transmission have been excellent and continue that way.

Pick-up is not poor, but not great.

Fuel-efficiency is good especially for the car's age.

This car has a bad rap and I can't understand why. It's my second Tempo and all I do is take good care of it such as oil changes every 4000-5000 km, oil spraying before winter, and the usual.

This car has cost me less to upkeep than my 1997 Toyota Camry CE with only 49 000 km.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st September, 2004

27th Oct 2004, 16:40

That's awesome, I just bought a 93 tempo g w/53.000 miles on it. it was a lil ole ladys car to church and to groceries. its in great shape. I bought it hoping to save on gas since I moved from city to country. for the next few years till I retire. so far so good we`ll see terry lee.

1990 Ford Tempo L 2.3 Litre from North America


A Tempo uncared for would be a bad investment, find a good one and you are OK


The car develops new rattles at intervals.

The engine is underpowered, but is helped by the five speed transmission.

This car is unattractive and undesired by all, but if your ego can take it go!

General Comments:

The body is excellent on this car, but that was helped by the low miles and a good regime of rust protection and waxing.

The one piece of good technology is the independent rear suspension.

I have driven various cars with ten to twenty years on them as daily drivers and I find the Tempo to be adequate as an "old used car"

I have driven this car 47000 KM (29000 miles) in a year and a half without any major repairs (had to do rear brakes and front brakes are due).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th August, 2004