1990 Ford Tempo Reviews - Page 8 of 8

1990 Ford Tempo GL 1.3 L HSC 4Cl X from North America

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.3 L HSC 4Cl X Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.2 / 10
Distance when acquired103997 miles
Most recent distance104208 miles

Summary:

Cheap, but not so cheap

Faults:

The alternator caught on fire.

Floorboards on the passenger side rusted.

Tire on the driver's side blew due to bad alignment.

General Comments:

The A/C doesn't work due to a pinhole I haven't found yet.

Runs good otherwise and gets decent gas mileage.

Brakes do need work in the back.

I paid $1,300 dollars for it and have already put about $200 in it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 14th October, 2001

1990 Ford Tempo 4 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 4 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Distance when acquired80000 miles
Most recent distance95000 miles

Summary:

A great car but has too many problems

Faults:

The air conditioner doesn't work anymore.

The muffler has fell off twice while I was driving.

The alternator socket blown.

General Comments:

This car has great handling and brakes.

The back seat is extremely uncomfortable.

The inside of the car is too small. I feel crowded against the steering wheel.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 1st July, 2001

19th Jun 2003, 21:26

If you feel crowded against the steering wheel, I would definitely advise checking into the LX-model front seats. Look at the junkyards you can pull your own parts from, or if you're not into doing your own repairs (it's only 4 bolts and some very minor wiring) check with your mechanic to see if he could find you some.

I just happened to find a junker Tempo for $100 which was an LX model, and among the many useful parts I've gotten from it the seats have been my favorite. I needed them anyway because my driver's seat had broken. The new (actually older, but we'll not get into semantics ;) driver's seat is power-adjustable, and the front and back can be raised independently. Best of all (for tall people like me) it goes back a couple of inches farther than the original seat and has a higher headrest. Both front seats have power lumbar support, too. Between going back farther and being able to raise the front of the seat and lower the back, it's a much, much more comfortable car now!

-Mo.

1990 Ford Tempo GL 2.3 four cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership1993
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.3 four cylinder Semi-Automatic
Performance marks 2 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 3 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.6 / 10
Distance when acquired40000 miles
Most recent distance124000 miles

Summary:

Nothing but a hassle

Faults:

This piece of crap leaks oil.

The transmission is now messed up and doesn't switch gears on time.

Both of the CV joints in the front have tore up.

Currently, the car is making some kind of roaring noise in the rear.

Have to add a quart of oil to the damn thing every two days.

Screwed up radio wiring.

Muffler has fallen off while driving.

General Comments:

I will never buy another Ford Tempo GL.

Buyers beware, these cars are cheap but you end up paying a lot to fix all the crap that tears up on it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 13th June, 2001

18th Dec 2004, 15:22

My 1990 Tempo has 189000 miles on and runs great!!! JIMMY D.

17th Apr 2005, 22:29

Mine has 260,154 km and still running good :D.

1990 Ford Tempo GL 4 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership1992
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 4 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired16000 miles
Most recent distance175000 miles
Previous carHonda Civic

Summary:

This car will run 300,000 miles. No problem

Faults:

Air conditioning problems... pinhole somewhere in the lines that I never fixed.

This car has been run dry on oil and beaten to death, has 175000+ miles and is still going strong. The only rust spot is on the hood and is mild.

LOVE THIS CAR! I think I can get 3 or 400000 miles out of it.

General Comments:

Best car I have ever owned. My husband drag races and modifies cars and is a diehard Chevy fan - but he says you can't beat the Tempo.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th June, 2001

25th Jan 2004, 23:45

Lol... I can assure you it will not last to 400 000 miles.

23rd Mar 2005, 11:33

400,000 miles! That would be very impressive!

I hope you car makes it. Keep on driving.

24th Nov 2005, 16:10

I agree or at least I used to. A friend of mine has one. They bought it in Ontario when it had only 7 000 km. He lives in Alberta now and the rust has attacking it. No Honda would have survived the rust. What good are high miles if there are holes everywhere. Japanese need to fix this and then I will buy one for sure. The Tempo has over 420 000 kms and I mean nothing has been done to it mechanically. Automatic trans. shifts smooth, air is still cold, cruise still works flawlessly, power windows and locks. The engine is so quiet like my V8 and I know it is American and should vibrate and be noisy. Only dino oil has been used which I don't even use. Iv'e driven it and am in awe.

Keep On Going.

1990 Ford Tempo GL from North America

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.5 / 10
Distance when acquired80000 miles
Most recent distance106000 miles

Summary:

A disaster waiting to happen

Faults:

Everything is wrong with this car.

The A/C kept breaking.

Needed a new axle twice.

Had to get the brakes serviced every 2 months. When I pressed the brakes, the car always swayed to the right.

This car has BAD alignment.

General Comments:

The car may be cheap but you will spend a lot of money in repairs. Ford's are the worst cars to buy. I will NEVER buy a FORD again!!!!!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 14th December, 2000

31st Mar 2001, 20:43

Due to the structure of the Ford Tempo, all of the weight sits on top of the front wheels which results in more than usual maintainence on this car such as drive axles and ball joints etc. You shouldn't have to change them more than 1 time over a period of two-three years, however it all depends on your driving habits. As far as problems I.e. pulling to one side, alignment or checking the rear brake cables is always a good idea. The A/C in all Fords are constantly losing charge and is a manufacturing defect no a car model defect. Tempos are one of the best snow cars and are hard to beat. If you are having consistent problems with repairs it could be something else is causing the problem, and you may need to change your driving habits or find another mechanic. Because I have driven a Tempo for over 5 years and the last three I've had have had 150,000 miles, 210,000 and the one I have now 98,000 I know what I am talking about. The tempo may not be the car for you, and every make, model of car has a bad apple but you don't have to cut down the tree.

Andy.

Average review marks: 6.5 / 10, based on 37 reviews