1991 Ford Tempo Reviews - Page 4 of 10

1991 Ford Tempo L 2.3 from North America

Model year1991
Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 2.3 Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired78000 kilometres
Most recent distance78500 kilometres
Previous carFord Tempo

Summary:

Decent car for $$$

Faults:

Ball joint, and the front left and rear shocks are finished.

General Comments:

Excellent car, well designed. Mostly good engine - 4 inj mfi 2.3, get good gas mileage.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st May, 2006

1991 Ford Tempo L 2.3 from North America

Model year1991
Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.3 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired89000 kilometres
Most recent distance134000 kilometres

Summary:

A true hit or miss classic, in this case, a hit!

Faults:

Starter gave up at 132,000 km.

Starter connector was replaced at 132,000 km.

Platinum Spark Plugs and Spark Plug Wires changed at 117,000 km.

General Comments:

The car is very reliable taking me with ease and comfort from the Great Lakes to the West coast and back on my vacation, and it's still ticking.

Power is good for a 4 cylinder.

Very easy and ergonomic to maintain.

Any problems that came along were solved easily.

So far, it's among the best vehicles I've owned, and thanks to some handy tips from this site, I can fix the little stalling problem.

Also, there's a trick with the spark plugs. It can't handle platinum spark plugs for too long, as it manages to blow components in the ignition system. Further, if you are using Auto-lite spark plugs, they are best gapped at 42. All other brands should be gapped to the manufacturer specified 52-56.

One problem that might be a design flaw. When changing the oil, a little bit always drips from the filter as it's coming off. This run-off always drips onto the connection to the starter. Over time, this oil collects and gets gummy. In the end, it disrupts the connection, and becomes a 'starter killer'. I've had to change the connection because it was just too dirty and there was no tool I had that would clean it properly.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th October, 2005

1991 Ford Tempo L 2.3L SOHC from North America

Model year1991
Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.3L SOHC Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired40000 miles
Most recent distance74000 miles
Previous carFord Tempo

Summary:

Practical

Faults:

Replaced the starter 60,000 miles.

Replaced battery 55,000 miles.

Replaced all lights around the car shortly after I bought it.

Replaced tires and brakes 50,000 miles.

General Comments:

I bought my Tempo in pretty good shape with 40,000 miles.

The repairs I had to do were pretty easy and in-expensive.

However, after adding after market parts I realized that the car was not meant to be modified easily.

But I did many anyway, and I really like my car's performance and looks.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th September, 2005

1991 Ford Tempo L from North America

Model year1991
Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership1993
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 3 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.0 / 10
Distance when acquired6000 kilometres
Most recent distance111000 kilometres
Previous carPontiac Sunbird

Summary:

Was good in her day, but that day has passed

Faults:

Have replaced the transmission twice.

Shocks went at 100 000 km.

Seats started to wear badly in 1999.

Many other issues with this car.

General Comments:

This car is a gutless wonder. It has no power compared to my 1996 Sunfire. This car has cost more in repairs then it is worth. Would not recommend a Tempo to anyone.

However, the car was a good one until around 1997-8 when problems started to show.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th August, 2005

1991 Ford Tempo GL from North America

Model year1991
Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired52000 miles
Most recent distance60000 miles

Summary:

What would I do without it?

Faults:

My brakes wore out completely at 60,000 miles and I have most recently noticed a screeching noise at random times while running the car.

I am on my second muffler.

A year ago she began dying at stoplights. This hasn't happened for quite a while so I think maybe it was just a fluke.

General Comments:

I love my Tempo and don't know what I would do without it. I have named her Tillie and she is a great little car for the around town driving I do each day. I love her small size, as I can park practically anywhere. I do wish she had some cup holders and that her cigarette lighter were in a different place because I can't plug my cell phone charger into it because of the strange angle. But overall, I love my car and hope she lasts as long as I have seen that others have.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 9th January, 2005

1991 Ford Tempo L 2.4 Il4 from North America

Model year1991
Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.4 Il4 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Distance when acquired92456 miles
Most recent distance93097 miles

Summary:

Perfect first car

Faults:

Underbody is totally rotting out.

Shock towers and frame seperating due to severe rust. Causing the rear wheel to 'toe" out..

Engine leaks some oil and transmission fluid causing smoke.

Breaks are shot, even the emergency.

General Comments:

I bought this car on impulse quickly after passing my road test, from a meek nice guy in his 40s. He showed me all the reciepts on the maintenance hes done, I was impressed. I bought the car for $650.It has some visible rust and the body seems like its been in an accident.

The first thing I noticed was a pull to the left which most people thought needed an alignment. After looking at the car from a distance I noticed the right rear tire bends out. Well the guys at monro told me my car belongs in a junkyard and that it can't be touched because of the rust underneath. He allowed me to look under the car while it was on a lift and I just gasped. The underbody looks as if its sat in a lake for 2yrs. He told me not to have any passengers or lug anything heavy...Hmm.

The car's engine is quite peppy and quickly shifts and before you know it you are going too fast. When taken on expressways the car likes to "bottom out" at 55 it takes a bit of time to get enough torque to go faster. But I hate the feeling. Despite the pulling the car handles well. All in all this was a learning experience for me *have the car looked at before you buy* but I am satisfied with this as a first car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th November, 2004

6th Nov 2004, 17:24

Maybe it's so speedy because most of the body has rusted away, making it much lighter!

Average review marks: 6.4 / 10, based on 41 reviews