1992 Ford Tempo Reviews - Page 11 of 11

1992 Ford Tempo GL 2.3 liter 4 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.3 liter 4 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired182000 miles
Most recent distance208000 miles
Previous carDodge Caravan

Summary:

A reliable bargain

Faults:

The exhaust had to be replaced about a month after I bought the car.

The air conditioning only works when it wants to, which isn't very often.

The rugs on the front seats have worn pretty badly.

The power locks only work on the driver's side of the car.

General Comments:

The seats are very comfortable, and though it's small it's a great car for road trips. Five people fit comfortably and I've never had complaints about foot room, even in the back seats.

The factory speakers sound great now that I bought a new stereo.

This car is faster than it looks! I've won quite a few drags and almost everyone underestimates her!

I've never broken down in this car, and I would take it anywhere without fear of getting stuck at the side of the road.

The mileage is great, especially compared to the 1986 Dodge Caravan I had previously!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st November, 2001

1992 Ford Tempo GLS 3.0L V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership1999
Engine and transmission 3.0L V6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired118000 kilometres
Most recent distance140000 kilometres
Previous carFord Mustang

Summary:

Good deal for the price

Faults:

Right rear shock gave out completely at 125,000 km.

General Comments:

I purchased my 92 Tempo GLS a few years back. I've owned many cars, but this one definitely was the most reliable. It had gobs of power for a economical sedan. It also looked good. It never once let me down, and I really wish it was never totalled. I miss it a lot.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th August, 2001

1992 Ford Tempo GL from North America

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired142696 kilometres
Most recent distance177995 kilometres

Summary:

Comfortable, affordable, reliable

Faults:

I had to replace the master cylinder because the brakes went at 162,553km.

At 170,682km I had to buy a new battery as well as a new starter.

Around the same time, I replaced the solenoid but I don't think it was really needed.

I just recently had the motor fixed at 175,034km because it was almost completely rusted out.

I'm also still having problems with the back right passenger side door, it won't unlock. You can't get into it from the outside or open it from the inside.

General Comments:

The seats in the car are very comfortable; however, the print on the bottom of the seats are starting to wear out.

It's very roomy, with lots of leg room, back seat included.

It handles well with no shaking at high speeds.

I also fell very safe within this vehicle and it's very reliable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th June, 2001

1992 Ford Tempo GL 3.0L V-6 from North America

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 3.0L V-6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired106000 miles
Most recent distance108000 miles

Summary:

It'll get the job done, and pretty well too

Faults:

The gas pedal seems to give a lot after really stepping on it.

The alignment goes pretty quickly.

It also eats gas.

General Comments:

Honestly, 24 hours and 13 minutes after getting it I managed to drive it into a tree. However, it was pretty easy to fix, and these cars are pretty common, so the "new" parts only cost me $200, including a new bumper, header, radiator, and grille.

I've even won a few drags with it, so it gives you a good bang for your buck.

I've really hammered on it for the past few months, and she's still going, so go get one and have some fun :)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th June, 2001

1992 Ford Tempo GLS 3.0 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership1994
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 3.0 V6 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired45000 miles
Most recent distance137000 miles
Previous carAMC Eagle SX/4

Summary:

High performance

Faults:

Clutch.

General Comments:

Oh my god, a very fast car!! People honestly need to stop putting down Tempo's and Topaz's as granny cars. This car whoops Mustangs for a living.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th May, 2001

9th Dec 2002, 02:41

TEMPO/TOPAZ RULE!!

I own two.

1988 Tempo GRT 2 door 187,000+ Miles, has been totaled twice, and put back together for less than $150 each time.

1993 Tempo GLO 2 door 91,000+ Miles, just bought a few months ago, working on it. Summer car only!!

I also have a '69 Charger... but that's another story LOL.

http://www.tempotopaz.com is a great site for T/T owners!

SJM.

NEOTCS-Akron, OH

V8FordTempo@aol.com

1992 Ford Tempo GL 2.3 liter 4 cyl from North America

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.3 liter 4 cyl Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired56000 miles
Most recent distance92000 miles
Previous carFord F150

Faults:

Stalled 1 or 2 times one day in December but it only happened that one day....I don't know.

Gears need tuning.

General Comments:

Good car..... Mad that they don't make many after market parts for it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th October, 2000

1992 Ford Tempo GL 3.0 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 3.0 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired160000 miles
Most recent distance177000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Sprint

Summary:

Very underrated

Faults:

No mechanical troubles. I had a small leak in the A/C fixed, and some of the power locks do not work.

General Comments:

Extremely capable on the highway. Fast - not in a dragstrip sort of way, but in a "get around trucks before being hit head on" kind of way.

Everything is nice and tight.

I'm not a fan of auto transmissions, especially not three-speeds, but this one is well-matched to the engine.

My only complaints are about the seats - the headrests are too far back, and I could use better lumbar support. My 1984 Mazda 626 or my 1981 Renault LeCar are still champs in seating comfort. Still, the excellent performance makes this an easy car to ride in for 12-hour trips.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th August, 2000

1992 Ford Tempo GL 4 Cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership1995
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 4 Cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired70000 miles
Most recent distance98000 miles

Summary:

Poor bargain

Faults:

Transmission 2x, alternator 1x, power steering 1x.

General Comments:

Transmission should not go out on a car that's 6 years old and has 80,000 miles.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 24th July, 2000

17th May 2001, 21:26

Since you bought a '92 in 1995, your car could be a victim of bad maintenance. Any thing could have happened to this car in the few years it was on the road. Some people treat cars like their tanks and when they have driven it to the ground, they trade it in. This is where the dealership comes in. If it's in bad condition, some dealers will restore it so it just looks good and tell you it's in good condition when in reality, it's not mechanically sound it just looks good. It could also be a lemon. Don't think that all Tempos are lemons just because of yours, every line of cars has a few lemons while the majority of them are as reliable as a tank.

23rd Apr 2003, 03:43

Right now I have to agree with the original comment made. Though I did not have a transmission problem, my Tempo is giving me nothing but problems. I found out that the head cracked on the number one chamber, despite my ritualistic upkeep of the car. I found that cracked heads is a common problem among Tempos through the various mechanics I have been talking too. Though I have had the head redone, now the car won't run right, despite the fact the job had been done correctly. More than likely, I've been told, is that when the head cracked, it took the engine with it. Needless to say, my next car will be a Chevy.

Average review marks: 6.8 / 10, based on 45 reviews