1992 Ford Tempo Reviews - Page 8 of 11

1992 Ford Tempo GLS 3.0 from North America

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.0 Semi-Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired66458 miles
Most recent distance66832 miles
Previous carOldsmobile 98

Summary:

This car is a mover!

Faults:

I replaced the radiator and the upper and lower radiator hoses.

I also plan on doing a complete brake job.

General Comments:

When I purchased this car I didn't realize it was made just one year. This model is very rare to find. I am the third owner of this car. This vehicle is in showroom condition. When Ford built this GLS series, they gave it the Vulcan 3.0 engine and heavy duty suspension system sports package. My vehicle is fully loaded. This car only cost me $2750. What a steal!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th January, 2003

30th Nov 2003, 14:06

This car was made a really rare car and I would like some more info on it if that is possible. My friend has one and it's a 5 speed. It is also black and I haven't seen a lot of black tempo's.

8th Sep 2004, 15:21

The Tempo GLS is very rare. The Tempo itself however, is not. There's actually a Tempo registry somewhere on the net. I can't find it though. I'll let you know if I do though. It's a great place to get info. You could always just perform a search for "1992 Ford Tempo GLS". That should get you somewhere.

15th Jan 2005, 22:03

I am the proud owner of a GLS and for the most part I have had only the normal tires, brakes, alignments and so forth until this winter. I woke up near Christmas to my neighbor at my door telling me I had left my lights on overnight. I knew this was not the case as I know I had pushed in the light switch the night before. Sure enough tho when I looked my daylights were on and when I tried to turn off my headlights I had no response. Since then all my electrical has gone haywire. My radio can only receive am stations and goes out when you open the doors, my signal lights work sometimes. My husband pulled the fuse on my interior and daytime lights so at least my battery is no longer being drained, but my car has become totally possessed in the electrical department. Does anyone else have this problem?? Please help.

1992 Ford Tempo GL 2.3L from North America

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.3L Automatic
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.0 / 10
Distance when acquired216000 kilometres
Most recent distance223000 kilometres

Summary:

Great cheap car

Faults:

Radiator leaks when it is really cold out.

Typical repairs, brakes and tires.

General Comments:

The seats are not very comfortable, but it has a nice interior for the price category that this car is in.

The transmission is really bad, it could really use a 4 speed for both performance and fuel economy.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd December, 2002

23rd Dec 2003, 08:09

The seats from the 'sport version' of the GT are a direct bolt in replacement. They have the lumbar supports and a moveable head rest. Salvage yard prices are relatively cheap as well. I paid $25 a pair. I forget WHICH FORD model I got them out of... not another TEMPO, but at least they share the same bolt pattern. My 1990 has 135,000 miles on it. Starts every day and RUNS.

1992 Ford Tempo GL 2.3 from North America

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.3 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired114000 miles
Most recent distance118600 miles

Summary:

A Great Car for college students

Faults:

When I bought it the seat belt track on the driver side was broken, also the muffler was rusted out.

General Comments:

I love this car. I got as a graduation present, and I has been nothing but a great car for me. It gets great gas mileage. I was hit from behind by a van doing 40 MPH and the car held together and there was enough car around me so I wasn't hurt too bad. The bumper was replaced and the trunk casing needed to be pounded out. Other than those small things nothing else has gone wrong with it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th December, 2002

1992 Ford Tempo LX 2.3 from North America

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.3 Automatic
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.4 / 10
Distance when acquired80000 kilometres
Most recent distance160000 kilometres

Summary:

A car from Hell

Faults:

Trasmission went at 90,000 miles.

Fuel pump went at 92,000 miles.

Shocks went last month.

Alternater went right after buying the car.

Water pump went bad in the middle of last winter.

Whole new exhaust went from the caty back.

Rackin pinion went 6months ago.

General Comments:

This car has been a living hell from the day I bought it of of my mom, evey thing went bad on it all at once, the car must have been built on a Friday.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 30th November, 2002

Average review marks: 6.8 / 10, based on 45 reviews