1992 Ford Tempo Reviews - Page 5 of 11

1992 Ford Tempo GL from North America

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership1993
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired10000 miles
Most recent distance190000 miles

Summary:

A Reliable Bargain

Faults:

The drivers seat is broken and falls backward when a lot of pressure is put on it.

The air conditioner died on me at about 140,000 miles.

Recently the gears have started to stick

3 months ago the driver's seat belt motor died.

General Comments:

We bought this car almost brand new in 1993. I acquired this car two years ago when my husband bought himself a 1997 Pontiac grand am. The drivers seat is broken, I don't have any problems with it, only my husband does. The air conditioner went out last year. This is a great little car. I admit there seems to be little things wrong with it all the time, but for the money this car is worth it. We have had this car now 11 years and the Pontiac 2 years. Compared to the Pontiac this is the best car ever made. I see some people complaining that their tempo's are falling apart at 130,000 miles. I mean come on 130,000? The Pontiac's start dying at 40,000. I use this car for a short commute every day and it is very reliable. I completely recommend ford and would definitely buy another.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th November, 2003

21st Feb 2005, 20:16

I agree I had a 1994 grand am gt and at less than 30,000 miles the the head gasket blew, then my water pump. Grand ams you go through brakes about as often as oil changes. Not to mention the window regulators broke then trapped me because they broke the inside door mechanism. I bought myself a 1992 ford tempo recently it has 142,000 miles and it runs better than the Pontiac at 30,000 miles. I really don't care how beautiful or ugly the tempo is... fact is it gets me from point a to point b. I hear a lot of complaints about some people believing the car falls apart. It might just be the owner not taking care of it.. It is a machine and it needs to be repaired on time.. smiles. Kudos for tempos. They need to start making them again or the 3.0 V6's they are 100% better than the 3.1 V6's.

1992 Ford Tempo GL 2.3 from North America

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.3 Automatic
Performance marks 2 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.8 / 10
Distance when acquired85076 miles
Most recent distance97505 miles
Previous carNissan Stanza

Summary:

A worthless pile of junk with as much power as an electric razor

Faults:

The head gasket leaked

The power steering died

Automatic transmission needed to be rebuilt or replaced

Automatic seat belts didn't always work

Starter needed to be replaced

Alternator needed to be replaced

Rear view mirror fell off

Rear defroster didn't work

Reverse lights didn't work.

General Comments:

This was a horrible car, a drivers nightmare. The engine was noisy, smoky and leaky. The transmission was slow. This was awful for a ten year old car. I'd never recommend this car to any one.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 12th August, 2003

28th Jan 2005, 22:37

I had A Tempo too and it lasted for maybe 3 weeks. Most of the time it was in my driveway broke down. The Engine finally blew recently and I am glad. It was the worst car ever. Everyone should be warned...Don't get one!

17th Apr 2005, 22:41

Tempos are good cars as long as you take care of them mine has 260,154 kms on it and it hasn't had anything major done to it. My friend owns one with 192,162kms on it and same no major problems.

5th Apr 2007, 09:16

Any car will die if you beat it. I bought mine with 150k on it and am pushing 400k.

22nd Jun 2010, 21:13

I love my 1992 Tempo, just needs to be babied a bit more now that it's 18 years old.

1992 Ford Tempo GL from North America

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership1992
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance201000 kilometres
Previous carFord Tempo

Summary:

Good reliable bargain

Faults:

Generally the car has not had any problem except normal maintenance issue such as brakes every 40,000 to 50,000km and a Clutch at 175,000km.

General Comments:

Good reliable car that is very cost effect.

Total cost for repairs in last 2 years is zero not bad for a 10 year old car.

Comfort is OK for city and short drives, but could better for longer distances.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th July, 2003

Average review marks: 6.8 / 10, based on 45 reviews