1993 Ford Tempo Reviews - Page 10 of 10

1993 Ford Tempo GL 3.0 L V-6 from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1994
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 3.0 L V-6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired130 kilometres
Most recent distance98000 kilometres
Previous carOldsmobile Cutlass

Summary:

The best car in its class in 1994

Faults:

The muffler had to be replaced about a year ago due to rust.

Nothing else out of the ordinary.

General Comments:

This car is seriously underestimated both in terms of performance and reliability.

My father and I have driven this car quite carefully and maybe that is why it has lasted so well and for so long, but this car looks and drives almost as new as when we first got it.

The performance is quite stunning especially from 0 to 60 km/h (not MPH). Above that, the car doesn't pull quite as convincingly due to its lethargic 3-speed auto.

The ratios are too spaced out, which makes the engine work too hard to get up to certain speeds.

Luckily a V-6 engine was designed to handle that kind of pressure, but still, I would have liked to experience the full potential of this engine. As a result the 3-speed auto is my only major gripe with this car.

The 3.0 litre V-6 is a basic but reliable and strong engine, especially in a car as light as the Tempo.

If Ford gave this engine more power (about 160 instead of 135) and more torque (170 instead of 150) and coupled it to a 4-speed auto, I think this car would have sold very well for a few more years.

But even so, it is a wonderful vehicle that we bought brand-new for a great price. And the lack of popularity of this vehicle doesn't bother me that much. It's a so called "hidden treasure."

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 1st October, 2001

2nd Jun 2004, 10:15

Sonny chimp, the 3.0L Ford engine is the BEST engine ever built. It is nitorious for going 300,000 miles, much like the Toyota 22R.

17th Feb 2005, 22:01

Does anyone know why Ford did this with Tempo automatic trans.? (no overdrive) The '91 to present Escorts did. Thanks Ford.

29th Nov 2008, 03:54

Easy there. Ford made the Tempo to a specification. The idea was to build a really economical car to buy and own.

A three speed auto is much cheaper to make than an overdrive, and much more reliable as well.

AOD4 trannies from all manufacturers have had plenty of issues with the overdrives breaking in stop and go traffic, and they are expensive to repair. Also, they never shift very well, typically "hunting" for third from overdrive on hills, under load, and at intermediate cruising speeds.

The Tempo 3 speed auto will save the owner money in the long haul, since the slight loss in gas mileage is offset through a lower initial purchase cost, and passing on the usual 60-120 thousand mile $2500 rebuild.

Ford=reliable and cheap.

1993 Ford Tempo LS 2.2 from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1993
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.2 Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired400 kilometres
Most recent distance230000 kilometres
Previous carFord Escort

Summary:

Very pleased with it

Faults:

Hand-brake.

The clutch was replaced after 100,000 km.

The Starter.

The horn was fixed 3 times, and it still doesn't work.

General Comments:

It's a great buy, worth every penny.

Considering the mileage on it, it's a great buy. I haven't had major problems with it, considering my two kids drive it all the time, did I mention they learned to drive manual on it! Believe it or not: it survived!

This car stood the test of time and distance.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th July, 2001

1993 Ford Tempo GL 2.3l from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.3l Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired106000 miles
Most recent distance111564 miles

Summary:

A great car

Faults:

Brakes needed to be cleaned.

Replaced flange.

General Comments:

I have gone through snow mounds with this car and done a lot of great things with it. I have never had any serious problems with this car. I find it to be extremely reliable. The previous owner crashed the car a ton of times, and it still runs great!

The only problem I find with it, is the acceleration is lacking. Also, for hills it is best to put 89 rated gas into the car rather than the regular 87. Other then that, I enjoy the car!

It is also great for room. It has a lot of trunk space and front leg room, which is good for tall people. The back does not have that much space.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th January, 2001

21st Jun 2006, 13:10

I love ford tempos, but I'm sure if you keep it in good shape it will be a good car for many years to come.

1993 Ford Tempo GL 2.3 I4 from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1993
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.3 I4 Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance92000 miles

Summary:

Takes a beating and asks for more

Faults:

Leaky radiator - fixed and no other problems.

General Comments:

This car has been an incredible bargain. Its purchase price was $8500 and it hasn't skipped a beat in the last 7 years. I have definitely gotten my money's worth out of it and then some. It feels like it could go another 92,000 miles.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th August, 2000

2nd Oct 2001, 12:29

You people are on drugs. My Tempo was a never-ending problem.

13th Mar 2003, 18:42

'93 Ford Tempo GL Leaky bottom header on radiator since new. Dealer unable to fix. Valve that controls A/C now in-op. Will only blow air from floor and windshield defrost vents now, although discharge air is cold so A/C still works. Mileage to date 86,459.

19th Dec 2003, 12:10

I am convinced that the key here is the manual transmission. The automatics were very troublesome throughout the car's entire system for that year. If you read through the complaints most of them, if not all, are the Tempos with automatic transmissions. It's probably one of the few cars that have nearly equal value in the blue book with both manual and automatic transmissions for that year.

25th May 2007, 17:15

I've got 281,490 miles and the only problem I am having is the brakes.

Average review marks: 7.1 / 10, based on 32 reviews