1993 Ford Tempo Reviews - Page 9 of 10

1993 Ford Tempo GL 2.3 from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.3 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired113000 miles
Most recent distance177000 miles
Previous carFord LTD

Summary:

High miler still going strong

Faults:

Not a lot of things that went wrong with the car it just recently needed a tune up of 130 bucks for parts and doing it myself..

General Comments:

This car runs like hell.. and I would still trust it for another 100,000 miles.. very reliable car and fun..

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th April, 2003

1993 Ford Tempo from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired30000 miles
Most recent distance37400 miles

Summary:

Great car overall

Faults:

Not too many things have gone wrong with the car. I inherited it from my grandmother in the spring of 2002 and have been driving it ever since.

The only problem has been the fuel injector pipe.

General Comments:

And I'm too tall for the car, but that's not it's fault... I just have to deal.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 28th November, 2002

1993 Ford Tempo GL 2.3L 4 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1994
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.3L 4 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired18000 miles
Most recent distance104000 miles
Previous carOldsmobile Cutlass

Summary:

It's a very good car for the price

Faults:

Before the original warranty ran out (36000 miles), the rear power windows quit working and a pulley bearing on the engine went out creating a terrible clacking sound.

The rear power door locks quit working again. Eventually, all power door looks quit working and solenoids had to be replaced.

All four power window motors jammed. They have to be removed repeatedly and freed-up in order to work.

Climate control panel quit working.

At 99,000 miles the starter had to be replaced.

At 104,000 miles, the oil pump went out.

General Comments:

The car has adequate power for its engine size.

It's roomy enough for family of four. However, four adults is a little cramped.

The car handles very well, as most front wheel drive vehicles do.

Other than the ridiculous interior electrical problems, the car has been very reliable as transportaion, yet very unpleasant for comfortable traveling.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th May, 2002

1993 Ford Tempo GL 2.3L 140 c.i.d. from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.3L 140 c.i.d. Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired127408 miles
Most recent distance159966 miles
Previous carOldsmobile Delta 88

Summary:

Great Car for the Money

Faults:

I had to replace the brakes at about 110,000 miles (basic)

The exhaust needs replacing right now, but I can't complain about it since I tend to take the car off road and over curbs and parking blocks.

Had the tie-rods, ball joints, and wheel hubs replaced at about 140,000.

General Comments:

First let me say I love Tempos, they are one of the most underrated cars.

It may lack some pick up, but gets excellent gas mileage 29 city / 35 highway.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th February, 2002

1993 Ford Tempo GL 2.3 Liter from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.3 Liter Automatic
Performance marks 2 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.0 / 10
Distance when acquired88000 miles
Most recent distance112000 miles
Previous carPontiac Bonneville

Summary:

This car is a waste of money

Faults:

Radiator blew a day after I bought it.

One month later I had to replace the exhaust system.

Another month later the transmission went out.

Maybe two months later a rod in the engine blew so I had to replace the engine.

Not too long after that a hose came unhooked from then engine, got that fixed. Same problem happened a month later and they found out it was because the back mount on the transmission was broke so I had to get that fixed.

General Comments:

I hated that car. I spent about $6-7,000 in repairs in less than one year on that car and I only paid $3,500 for it. Thank God I finally totalled it and got myself a Pontiac Grand Am.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 16th October, 2001

27th Oct 2001, 12:14

Sound like it was more trouble than it was worth! No offence.

30th Jun 2002, 07:12

I bought my Tempo, used, from my grandmother. Yes, we had to have the engine, ball joints, starter, and a few other pricey things replaced...fortunately, this was all done b/f I bought the car. My only complaint with this car (it has 87,000 miles on it right now, and I've driven it for almost a year), is the ridiculous automatic seat-belts. They make a horrible grinding noise, and it will cost me a fortune to get them repaired! However, overall, this car has been a huge blessing to me, compared to my previous 1979 Ford Fairmont... that car was something to whine about! I'm happy with my Tempo!

22nd Nov 2004, 10:47

I have to agree. In the last year I have spent a few thousand dollars on my car, and I only paid $3000 (Canadian) for it.

This time I took it in for a oil change and it cost me $1000! The tie rod needed replacing, the oil pan had a leak, the crank seal needed replacing, and the harmonic balancer was broken.

Definitely not worth the time or money to buy this car!

10th Jul 2008, 03:08

Our family has had several of these cars, and they have all been unusually reliable. Of course, any car will become a lemon if it is not maintained. If a radiator goes, well that can happen on a Mercedes, Honda, or Bentley... you either fix what is wrong, or move on.

The Tempo has some design flaws like any car, but the basics on these models are quite dependable, provided basic service is done. Without that, any 15 year old car will suffer.

So, a good older car is more a reflection on the previous owner than on the car itself.

Average review marks: 7.1 / 10, based on 32 reviews