1991 Ford Thunderbird Reviews - Page 3 of 3

1991 Ford Thunderbird Supercoupe Supercharged 3.8L V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission Supercharged 3.8L V6 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired90000 miles
Most recent distance93000 miles
Previous carDodge Avenger

Summary:

This is THE time to buy one of these--inexpensive, but excellent performer!

Faults:

The car recently needed the left side motor mount replaced.

The car also needed a headlight switch ($10) when the lights started to dim and flicker.

General Comments:

The car pulls like no tomorrow. Acceleration is excellent, especially at speed.

It is the perfect combination of performance/muscle car with a very comfortable daily/interstate driver.

An extremely satisfying car to drive on all levels, and this is the best time to buy this car. The cost is very low for a high return. 11 years old and has held together VERY solidly. No rattles and very solid daily driver.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th October, 2002

25th Nov 2003, 21:06

Be careful. I had a 92 T-bird SC, and it was one hell of a wild ride, but be warned about the repair bills. My clutch wore out, and was quoted $1000 by three repair shops. Just to do a tune up on the thing was $300-$500. This is due to the fact that the only way to get to the plugs is either by removing the supercharger, or by dropping the chassis braces under the engine. And don't even ask the price if the automatic ride control goes out. I loved that car, but the repair bills were killing me.

13th Dec 2003, 17:26

That is not correct about changing the spark plugs. The supercharger does not need to be removed nor does the chassis braces. Who ever told you that obviously did not know much about the car or the job at hand. The spark plugs on one side of the engine come out from the top and the other side are removed from under the car. It took me a good 3 hours when I first did the spark plug change and now I can do them all in 45 minutes. Only thing I remove is the air box. Knowing how to do the job is the key here.

27th Oct 2004, 15:11

Yeah you can change the spark plugs without removing the supercharger or removing anything underneath. It takes some time and your knuckles and arms might get scuffed and sore, but you can definitely change them. It took me about four hours the first time, and I'm 16 years old.

1991 Ford Thunderbird 3.8 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 3.8 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.8 / 10
Distance when acquired82000 miles
Most recent distance84000 miles
Previous carChrysler Laser

Faults:

The only thing I've had a problem with is that the rivets in the front bumper won't stay and then the bumper sags.

General Comments:

I love this car! It handles great and has a lot of power and speed for a V6. The seats are comfortable and still look great.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th July, 2001

1991 Ford Thunderbird Sport 5.0 HO from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 5.0 HO Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired89000 kilometres
Most recent distance239000 kilometres
Previous carFord Ford

Summary:

I can't wait till I'm 16! I love the 5.0 V-8. Beats the 4.6 that they put in todays V-8

Faults:

Air conditioning.

Total brake system.

Door ajar light stays on.

Flywheel cover fell off so there's a little oil leak.

General Comments:

The car is my dads and I'm only 14 so I don't get to drive it. I get it when I'm driving and I can't wait. It's a Sport and I've yet to see another one. I wonder how many Ford made? Even at 239,000 kilometers the car's going great.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th January, 2001

3rd Feb 2001, 17:16

5.0 beating the 4.6? Maybe in the supermodifieds, but never stock. I assure you, a 4.6 Thunderbird and a 98-01 4.6 Mustang reduce quarter mile times by a full second from their 302 counterparts, usually more. Not only do they make the same amount of horsepower in a broader powerband, but they by far out torque it (though few cars made these days can out torque it... Corvette included).

The 302 can be built to be an efficient small block, but the much more sophisticated 4.6 SOHC and DOCH are, I believe, far more potent. While they're very expensive to modify, I think that the attempts at doing it are well awarded. Just wanted to clarify.

1991 Ford Thunderbird LX 3.8L V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 3.8L V6 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.3 / 10
Distance when acquired109300 miles
Most recent distance110900 miles

Faults:

The upper control arms on both the driver and passenger side were bad, but once those were replaced nothing else has been a problem.

General Comments:

I love this car, it rides nice, and looks nice as well.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 30th October, 2000

27th Apr 2001, 10:26

I bought an '89 ford T-bird LX (115,000 miles) 6 months ago. 2 weeks after I bought it, the transmission went.

Winter was fairly uneventful, but it began to creak and groan every time I hit a bump or turned the wheel.

It's leaking steering and brake fluid, last week the alternator went, now I find I need new brakes, the racket pinion is going, the rotors need doing, the exhaust system is rusted out and it is generally a piece of crap car.

It *looks* awesome, it is very comfortable and the costs of running it aren't too bad, but who cares about that when you can barely get it on the road without something else going wrong with it?

I swear I am never buying another Ford again, I'm sticking with foreign cars from now on.

1st Apr 2007, 01:58

Once again, blame your previous owner, not the car.

3rd Sep 2007, 21:10

Racket pinion! hahahahaha.

1991 Ford Thunderbird Base 5.0 HO V8 from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 5.0 HO V8 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired114000 miles
Most recent distance129000 miles
Previous carHolden Commodore

Summary:

Good all round car for performance and economy

Faults:

I drove this car for 9 months while in the USA, and did 15,000 miles driving across, up and down the country from South Carolina to California. Had no trouble at all, never broke down. Very economical to drive.

General Comments:

I was so impressed with this car I exported it back to Australia. Have to convert it to right hand drive.

When I go back to the USA I will buy another one.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th October, 2000

1991 Ford Thunderbird LX 5.0 from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 5.0 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.4 / 10
Distance when acquired89000 miles
Most recent distance94000 miles
Previous carFord Tempo

Faults:

The tranny just went out, but I was racing it, so I guess I had I coming ;-)

General Comments:

I love the car. She runs like a dream. Once I removed the air intake silencer, installed a ram air kit and removed all of the sound deadener, she would beat a stock Mustang GT in the 1/4 mile. I don't think I would want any other car!!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd July, 2000

Average review marks: 7.5 / 10, based on 15 reviews