1995 Ford Thunderbird Reviews - Page 4 of 18

1995 Ford Thunderbird LX 4.6L V8 from North America

Model year1995
Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 4.6L V8 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired162482 miles
Most recent distance168780 miles
Previous carFord 1987 BMW 325is

Summary:

Great Buy, Great Value, and totally Kick Ass car!

Faults:

I accidentally drove on my Parking break for about 2 miles and burnt out my drivers side rear break... the back break pad went AWOL and the one on the front of the rotor was still decent. Had those replaced maybe 100 miles or so ago.

Transmission is starting to slip in first gear. Although when I switch to 1st and second manually (using the low gears on the shifter) it shifts just fine.

The drivers side power seat panel was detached from the seat, but still works, I screwed that together.

General Comments:

Overall this car is great. It has awesome power and reliability. The rear wheel drive comes in hand when you want to burn out coming out of a turn. Also is very quick. Not many people know, but our Thunderbirds are quite capable of taking on and beating the 2003 Mustang GT's... and yes, I have done that. I blew two out of the water from a solid stop because our 'Birds have more lower end torque. :-D.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th August, 2005

6th Dec 2005, 08:24

Dream on about beating a 2003 Mustang Gt in a 94 Tbird never going to happen, sorry!

18th Jul 2006, 13:23

I had a 94 LX V8, and it was a nice car. But the 0-60 was around the 8.6 second mark I believe. 205 horses, 265 ft. lbs of torque 3:08 gearing and 3800 pounds. 2003 Mustang GT... more horsepower, more torque, 5 speed tranny, and lighter. You do the math on this one buddy.

18th Jul 2006, 23:10

Well, I had a 93 Cougar (sister car the Tbird), but it had a 5.0 Liter V8, and a heck of a lot more power than the 4.6. I was able to hang with Mustang GT's and 5.0's. I also had a few mods to pull close to 300 horses. It's not impossible.

1995 Ford Thunderbird LX 4.6 from North America

Model year1995
Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 4.6 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired45000 miles
Most recent distance178000 miles
Previous carFord Thunderbird

Summary:

I wish they still made them I would buy another

Faults:

The car has been great. however the tranny started to leak at about 165000 miles and the motor does burn a quart every 1000 miles. the cup holder is pretty bad, but not like the 89 (it didn't even have one).I have looked at 97s and they acually put cup holders in place of the change holder ashtray area.

General Comments:

This car is awesome I truly wish ford would have continued making them I would absolutely buy another. I drive it hard and the miles I put on it were Chicago traffic miles for the most part. All I've done so far is regular maintenance. everything still works and there is no visible rust when cleaned up it still shines. I had an 89 before this and it was also a good car, but this one was even better.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th August, 2005

1995 Ford Thunderbird LX 4.6 liter V8 from North America

Model year1995
Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership1997
Engine and transmission 4.6 liter V8 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired33000 miles
Most recent distance132000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Celebrity

Summary:

No complaints!

Faults:

Mass air intake went out at 100,000.

General Comments:

I haven't had any major problems with my T-Bird. Mainly just normal maintenance.

As the car ages, I have to add a quart of oil about every 1500 miles.

Good power when passing on the highway. I have 132,000 miles now and it is still tight, starts great, and easy to handle.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st August, 2005

20th Aug 2005, 05:47

I also had to add 1 quart of oil every 1200 - 1500 miles. I now use Vavoline Max life 10w40 and burn less oil. Now I need 1 to 1 1/2 quarts every 3000 miles. Hope this helps you with you oil burning problem.

1995 Ford Thunderbird SC 3.8 litre V6 from North America

Model year1995
Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 3.8 litre V6 Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.4 / 10
Distance when acquired170000 kilometres
Most recent distance235000 kilometres
Previous carMazda 323

Summary:

I would definitly buy my T-bird SC again if given the chance.. I love this car

Faults:

My transmission went on this car after owning it just 1 month. (I was even warned about this potential problem, and I still bought the car)

Shocks and struts on all four corners had to be replaced at 190,000 Kilometers.

Alternator replaced once, but who's alternator doesn't breakdown.

Drive belt (serpentine belt) broke at start-up leaving me stranded at my work parking lot.

General Comments:

The reason I bought this car was for its looks and major power (definitely not because of the manufacturer)

This car always recieves a second look when I'm on the road. People just love looking at it.

Power generated by the 3.8 liter V6 engine is unbelievably quick even though this car weighs a lot theres now problem reaching top speed.

The interior is extremely spacious in the front and what I love the most is the ability to fold down the back seats to allow any type of long object into this car. (bike, snowboard, 2x4 lumber, etc.)

Taking this car at high speed around corners is no fun as the car tends to sway way to much for my liking.

This car also comes with an electronic suspension control which I find annoying when set to " firm ride" car feels to bumpy at this level.

Factory sound system is great if you like to enjoy your music...

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 16th March, 2005

18th Mar 2005, 07:29

Did not realize that an SC looks so much different than a regular old '94 T-bird, which would get no more looks than a '94 Taurus, Escort... or Tempo.

Average review marks: 7.9 / 10, based on 65 reviews