1995 Ford Thunderbird Reviews - Page 7 of 18

1995 Ford Thunderbird LX 4.6 OHC V8 from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 4.6 OHC V8 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired110000 miles
Most recent distance111000 miles
Previous carFord Thunderbird

Summary:

A high performance bargin with comfort

Faults:

There is a miss on acceleration which lasts a short time.

General Comments:

I have owned a 1993 Thunderbird and now a 1995 Thunderbird. This car has a minor acceleration problem, however it is extremely quick. The car is a blast to drive and of the seven passengers I have had in the car 6 have made an offer. The options are great and the ride is smooth. The gas mileage is a great surprise as I am getting 20 mph in town and close to 30 mph on the highway at speed. Hats off to Ford for producing the car, and shame on Ford for discontinuing the model. I test drove a new (2003) Thunderbird and kept the 1995.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th September, 2003

15th Jun 2004, 13:23

Hey, I own a 95 Bird also and I think it is awesome. ya the acceleration is a little weird, but when it kicks in it's a quick little car. i dont know about you, but my car topps out at 117mph. but you might have the V8 I only have the 3.8L V6...later.

13th Aug 2004, 07:06

Yeah I think the 1995 Ford Thunderbird is a great car and don't plan on getting a new one!

1995 Ford Thunderbird LX 4.6 V8 OHC from Mexico

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 4.6 V8 OHC Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired80000 kilometres
Most recent distance110000 kilometres
Previous carDodge Spirit

Summary:

Excellent American coupe

Faults:

The CD player stops to play in Nov. of 2002, but I think it's normal.

The rear right light (not the stop, the cover with LEDs) stop to light a month after I bought the car.

The gearbox break out once. it had been done by a joke made by a stupid friend (change D to 1 at 65 mph).

General Comments:

This car is really fantastic. The motor performance is excellent and acceletation too, although the car is heavy (1770 kg). It has the power (near) like a mustang, and the comfort near as a grand marquis. Maybe i'll have this car until the motor breaks or it can run anymore.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd July, 2003

1995 Ford Thunderbird LX V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission V6 Automatic
Performance marks 0 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 0 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.3 / 10
Distance when acquired95000 miles
Most recent distance114000 miles
Previous carPontiac Sunfire

Summary:

Good looking car with a lot of problems

Faults:

Had to replace brakes, but that is normal.

Needs new transmission.

Had to replace catalytic converter (500 bucks, don't know why it was so high)

Had to do some serious rewiring because of a fire behind the dash (still having problems)

General Comments:

This car is a great looking car from the outside, but has some major problems.

The interior is very comfortable, the only beef I have is why are the cupholders in a spot that you can't reach them?

For the most part, I have heard good things about thunderbirds, but maybe I just got a lemon because I have spent almost three thousand dollars in repairs and it still won't run right. I guess that's why they say fix or repair daily...

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 25th June, 2003

1995 Ford Thunderbird LX 4.6 from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1995
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 4.6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired5600 miles
Most recent distance113500 miles
Previous carPontiac Grand Am

Summary:

This is a great car for power, speed and size

Faults:

I have gone through three windshields.

I have had to replace one multi switch.

Front seats showed wear about at about 75,000 miles.

Headlights covers have yellowed and cracked slightly.

Brakes tend to shudder from time to time.

General Comments:

This car has been a very solid and dependable vehicle. It has good power and passing ability. It also gets decent gas mileage and is very agile handling.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th May, 2003

1995 Ford Thunderbird LX V8 4.6OHC from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission V8 4.6OHC Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired60000 miles
Most recent distance125000 miles
Previous carFord Ranger

Summary:

A great, safe vehicle that will take care of you on the road

Faults:

Seat coloration has started to fade.

Replaced belt at 90,000 miles.

Window will stick occasionally.

General Comments:

It is a fine machine.

It handles well on curvy roads and hills.

There is absolutely nowhere to put a drink in this car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th April, 2003

1995 Ford Thunderbird LX 4.6L V8 from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 4.6L V8 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired91000 miles
Most recent distance93000 miles
Previous carChrysler Sebring Convertible

Faults:

So far, nothing has gone wrong. Only had it a month though and 2,000 miles.

General Comments:

I love the combination of comfort with power! I did replace the head unit with a Pioneer CD player. Seats are very supportive and comfortable over long drives (already driven it 1200 miles in two days).

Fastest stock vehicle I've ever owned!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st April, 2003

27th Feb 2005, 21:58

Update on status:

I've now owned the car just about 2 years. It has over 111,000 miles on it now (21,000+ with me).

Couple of minor problems:

1: Paint. The paint was wearing lightly when purchased, but spending 2 years in Texas has caused it to burn off badly. After 10 years, I guess it's time for a new paint job. :)

2: The Mass Air Flow sensor was replaced around 100k miles. This is normal with the 4.6L engine.

As for the rest of the car? Only done basic maintenance (tires/brake pads/fluid changes).

It's been great and hopefully will continue to be great!

My daily driver! With other choices being 2001 Chrysler Sebring Convertible Limited, and 1989 Dodge Daytona.

Average review marks: 7.9 / 10, based on 65 reviews