1995 Ford Thunderbird LX 3.8 from North America


Many Problems, but the cars performance is a dream!


Blown heads

Broken Radiator

Blown A/C Blowers

Blown Temp Controls

Broken Throttle Cord.

General Comments:

I bought the car for $2,500 use from a horrible salesman. The car ran good for the first month, but then all the problems started happening. The head blew, the radiator went, the A/C Blowers stopped blowing, the temp controls went, and the throttle cord just broke. This car has run me $2500 this past month. I am getting rid of it and gonna get a mustang.

The car is fast for a V6, but too much trouble. Maybe its just this car. Other than all the problems, this car is a dream...

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st November, 2002

20th Nov 2012, 10:31

The 3.8 V6 engine in the 90's T-Bird is known to have problems with the heads... The 4.6 V8 may need a new manifold if the original plastic one is there, but the 4.6 V8 is more long-term reliable than the V6.

1995 Ford Thunderbird LX 4.6 Liter from North America


The Thunder-bird is a fast and comfortable car, and is very reliable to get me to my destination


Nothing has gone wrong with this car besides general problems.

I had to change my brake pads.

My transmission gasket ripped and leaked oil, but was changed with little money.

General Comments:

This is a great car, for the money that I payed.

It has outstanding engine performance for a stock 3800 lb. car.

The interior is very comfortable, and it doesn't make the driver and passengers feel cramped.

It handles very smoothly, especially on curves.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd September, 2002

1995 Ford Thunderbird LX 4.6 V8 from North America


We Love This Car!


Nothing major has happened to the car, just routine problems.

Once we were out riding around and all of a sudden the car started vibrating. Turned out we needed a tune up and everything was fine. Even then we were able to drive the 20 miles home with no problems.

General Comments:

I have no idea who designed the cup-holders in this car, but they are worthless.

I know a lot of people complain about the governor being on the car, but I don't mind. I have no reason to go faster than the car allows.

This is our second Thunderbird. the first was a 1989 and we absolutely fell in love with them. So when it was time to get another car, we looked for nothing but T-Bird's.

This was catch, everything on this car looked brand new, ran like new and only cost us $7995.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th August, 2002

1995 Ford Thunderbird LX 4.6 V8 from North America


A semi-performance bargain


Brakes seem to be very owrn and car will not stop.

Clunking sound when the wheel is turned.

General Comments:

The car is geared great for normal, around town driving. Although when you need to step on it, power doesn't come on full blast until at least 3000 RPM, where almost no one needs it. I have the same engine in another car that I own and the power band is smooth and comes on right away. Where the power right away in the T-Bird is ample down low, it becomes great above that 3000 mark.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th July, 2002

20th Aug 2005, 06:05

T-Birds have a major problem with their brakes and have to be changed regularly. The real problem is with the rotors warping which causes the brakes to "shudder". Have the rotors turned and Checked regularly. Use mid grade brake pads. Too soft will cause break dust and too hard will warp the rotors.

The clunk you hear when turning could be one of two things:

1. brakes binding on the rotors 2. ball-joints popping and need replaced.

20th Aug 2005, 06:13

The problem with slow take-off is the stall converter. The cars computer system controls this and can be modified by getting a performance chip, a new stall converter and/or a shift-kit since the car shifts slow anyway.

19th May 2013, 06:55

I had the noise problem of slight clunking and squeaking from the front of my 95 T-Bird LX 4.6. Not long after the noise started, the lower ball joint on the driver's side of the car broke loose. Not a pleasant experience, as the lower retainer that holds the spindle that holds the wheel falls to the ground. The tire probably will not come completely off but it sure feels like it does. Very scary at speed. Keep an eye on those ball joints, and keep the entire front suspension lubed.