1995 Ford Thunderbird Reviews - Page 14 of 18

1995 Ford Thunderbird LX 4.6L V8 from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 4.6L V8 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired83000 miles
Most recent distance84000 miles
Previous carFord Crown Victoria

Summary:

Great American classic coupe

Faults:

Fuel gauge went out at 83,000. Downside is the sensor is integrated into the internal fuel pump. All must be replaced to repair.

General Comments:

We initially wanted a Cougar XR7, but were unable to find one with a V8 that was in good condition. We found a 95 T-Bird with a 4.6L V8. Fabulous automobile, and have found we like it much better than the Cougar.

Fantastic performance from an auto that handles the road well. This is our first T-Bird, and we hope to have it many years as they will become another member of the fading breed of American Classics.

Although, some designer had his/her head in the clouds when they designed the useless cupholder that is located beneath the console lid at your elbow.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th October, 2001

20th Aug 2005, 05:33

T-Birds do have a major brake problem and the cup holders are pretty much worthless. The transmission shifts extremely slow and when shifting manually, they shift even slower almost as if it's slipping. The dealerships stated it was normal do to the computer's settings.

1995 Ford Thunderbird LX V-8 4.6 liter from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 4.6 liter Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired42000 miles
Most recent distance56000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Lumina

Summary:

Lot of power for its price!

Faults:

The only problem I have had is with the brakes. They would produce a lot of brake dust. But I took it to Muffler Brothers and they did a good job fixing it.

General Comments:

This car is a young man's dream. It drives really well and it can haul butt when you really get on it.

This car has been a great buy for me. It gives me the power of a Mustang and the comfort of a Lincoln. This is a really great car. I love it and so will you!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th September, 2001

1995 Ford Thunderbird LX V8 4.6 V8 from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 4.6 V8 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired115000 miles
Most recent distance131000 miles

Summary:

The perfect first car

Faults:

The plastic on the driver's seat cracked at 120000 miles.

Ignition cylinder spun all the way around at 100000, preventing shutting off of the engine.

Other than that, the car's been perfect for 6 years.

General Comments:

This is my first car which I inherited from my dad when he got his Corvette.

I love the power of the V8, and at 17, it's easy to get into trouble very quickly with 260 tweaked ponies under your right foot!!

My only complaints so far have been that this car guzzles gas like crazy. You can actually watch the gauge move toward empty at high speed on the highway. Also, the stock radio/cassette has a slight tendency to garble tapes and the overall sound quality leaves something to be desired.

All in all, for a first car, this can't be beat. While all my friends are driving junky little imports that break or cost thousands to fix, I simply tool along in the last American rear wheel drive luxury coupe that was available to almost anyone. Even used, they make a great bargain.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th June, 2001

6th Sep 2001, 11:31

Hey how are you doing, I also have a Thunderbird v8 95'. How do you know that the Thunderbird has 260 hp. Is there any way you can prove it because I have been trying to find out how many hp it has, and I have no way of finding out because they only list it for the 3.8 V6. Did you do any modifications to your car or did you leave it as is?

27th Oct 2001, 22:35

I also have this car and the STOCK hp is 210, although the torque is in the high 200s I think.

1st Nov 2001, 21:05

Please note that I said... "tweaked". I had a little work done to it right before I got it. Chips and a few other things. I still love the car, and in 3 months have put almost 10,000 miles on it already. Despite such high performance, it still gets about 15mpg.

1995 Ford Thunderbird LX 4.6 V8 from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 4.6 V8 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.6 / 10
Distance when acquired69482 miles
Most recent distance79000 miles
Previous carFord Mustang

Summary:

I absolutely LOVE my T-bird!

Faults:

Besides the normal wear and tear (which are easily repairable), nothing has gone wrong with my T-bird.

General Comments:

Incredible vehicle! I'm 17 and absolutely love the comfort, sleekness of the body and power of the V8!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th June, 2001

Average review marks: 7.9 / 10, based on 65 reviews