1995 Ford Thunderbird Reviews - Page 17 of 18

1995 Ford Thunderbird LX 4.6L V8 from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 4.6L V8 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired85000 miles
Most recent distance86000 miles
Previous carMazda MX6

Faults:

Nothing yet... only 1,000 miles.

General Comments:

When I first drove this thing home from the dealer I was amazed at the performance. It corners well and will really get up and go for a heavy car. I love it when I dust those V6 mustangs and they can't believe what just happened. Ford could have done a lot more with this car, did they not squeeze 260 HP out of the same engine on the Mustang GT??? Have to stay light on the pedal on wet pavement or the back end goes out of control.

Great car for someone who wants performance with all those cool little buttons on the inside like climate control and power sunroof.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th September, 2000

1995 Ford Thunderbird LX 4.6 V8 from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 4.6 V8 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired88000 miles
Most recent distance95000 miles

Summary:

A very fast, pretty cheap car

Faults:

Sometimes have to apply the brakes hard. When I do that, it does tend to shudder. My T-Bird is in good shape after that.

General Comments:

I have taken off the mufflers on my T-Bird, and put on big exhaust tips. Added some horsepower, but tends to shift later. This bird flies faster now!

220 Horses.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th September, 2000

24th Feb 2001, 11:02

Hell yes, exact same thing I did to mine, you might also want to see about redoing the vacuum system to keep more pressure on the engine. I'm getting about 6.5 0-60 with just those two changes.

1st Nov 2001, 19:43

A great place for T-bird questions is www.tccoa.com, it's the Thunderbird Club, the members of the club have answers for practically any question you possibly could have with your Thunderbird.

If you own a supercharged Thunderbirdm or better known as the Thunderbird SC, you should visit their web site www.sccoa.com. The guys in the clubs are very informative and nice. They even have T-bird meets so you can check out other cars.

1995 Ford Thunderbird LX 4.6 from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 4.6 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired68000 miles
Most recent distance77000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Cavalier

Summary:

Chick magnet

Faults:

Nothing except normal wear and tear with time.

General Comments:

This is one great car. It generally gets described as the old man sports car, but this car can really haul. I have had no problem beating any opponent off the line that I have come up against. It is also a chick magnet.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 22nd September, 2000

1995 Ford Thunderbird LX 4.6L V8 205 hp? from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 4.6L V8 205 hp? Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.6 / 10
Distance when acquired102392 miles
Most recent distance106804 miles

Summary:

What a superb, powerful, and classy car

Faults:

I really haven't had anything go wrong with this car.

Braking at high speeds causes a shimmy in the steering column and the car in general. This is because Ford decided to use brake rotors from the Taurus on the T-Bird. As the bird is 500-600 lbs heavier than the Taurus, the rotors are easily bent and need to be replaced often. Give your dealer the 3rd degree on it and they will eventually admit this and just might offer to fix it for free from now on.

Hope that helps anyone who has the same minor brake problem I do. Besides this small setback the car has had no problems whatsoever.

General Comments:

I absolutely love this car. I'm 17 and feel very lucky to get a near perfect '95 T-Bird with a V8 no less. This car is a blast to drive ALL of the time. The torquey V8 is amazingly quiet at low rpm, but just push the pedal a bit and not only does the engine start to roar, but everyone (with the exception of an occasional Camaro or Mustang) becomes just a speck in your rearview mirror.

Interestingly enough I have never floored the accelerator, mostly because I've never had to. I drag raced many a Mustang (not the GT) before and won. They pull away... until my baby hits 3 grand on the tach. Then I can push the pedal down aways and ride 1st gear all the way to a blazing 53 mph. After that it's off to the races as 2nd gear has ample torque all the way through its powerband. I also love the rear wheel drive. It feels great to have the very occasional hard slide around a wide corner and then straighten her out and take off.

The comfort of the car is great. Seats are soft and low, like they should be. The dash is well organized and everything is very accessible to the driver as the dash is decidedly oriented towards the driver. Wind noise is minimal until you hit 110 mph... or so I hear. :)

My ONLY complaint would be to have more horsepower and torque. Since under my hood is the Ford modular V8, I know they would have had no problems bumping it up to 250 or 260 horses and well over 300 ft lbs of torque. I understand this would have caused the Bird to outrun the Mustangs of the day, and they want to keep the Mustang as the Ford "speed machine". but it sure would be nice to have a (somewhat) unassuming 2-door coupe that could go nose to nose with a Camaro Z28. And let's face it, with a hood THAT big, they could have fitted just about anything under there.

On a final note, girls just love these cars. It's great. All hail the T-Bird!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th September, 2000

9th Sep 2004, 07:04

I'm very sorry that your Tbird turned out to be such a bad car. I bought my 94 Tbird brand new. I made sure I got a V8 and have not regretted it until 2002, when I bought my Explorer. I must admit brakes are pretty bad on this car, and the ride is not as smooth as I would hope. Overall, however, this Tbird made my first new car experience as a 24 year old at the time an extremely pleasant one.

18th Nov 2009, 12:09

1995 T-bird LX V-8

What a great car -- good on gas, pulls my boat effortlessly, rides fantastic, looks awesome and great acceleration. Truly an under appreciated car of the time. I put BF Goodrich 245/ 60's on mine and it looks way better than the stock tire size -- along with better handling and ride. Ford V-8's rule!!

Average review marks: 7.9 / 10, based on 65 reviews