1995 Ford Thunderbird LX 4.6 from North America


The 1995 Thunderbird LX is my favorite of all the cars I have owned


Brakes needed replacing early.

Had a pin hole leak in the intake manifold hose attachment at 70,000 miles. Had a machinist fix it rather than replacing the whole manifold.

Replaced tires, battery, and radiator hoses.

General Comments:

This is the best car I have owned. No other car has been as comfortable to drive or as fast. I will definitely miss the V-8 engine when they are all gone.

I was going to get a new car, but have decided to keep the Thunderbird and take extra care of it.

If Ford was smart, they would bring back an affordable two door coupe with a V-8 engine. The Mustang, for example, is not comfortable enough to suit me, and the new Thunderbird is too high priced.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 4th May, 2001

1995 Ford Thunderbird LX V8 from North America


A repairman's dream machine


All interior electronics stopped functioning 3 months into owning it. Transmission went out the same time.

6 months later, 1999: Ignition switch replaced - locked down in the off position - had to have it dragged screeching across the parking lot onto the flatbed for repair.

Interior electronics stopped functioning.

2001: Ignition switch stuck to cranked position - have sent it back for repair.

Interior electronics stopped functioning - have sent back for repair.

Turn signals work sometimes and sometimes not (dealer can find no explanation).

Transmission appears to be going bad again.

General Comments:

This car was the greenest lemon I have ever seen!

A pocketbook's worst nightmare.

Ford - Found On Road Dead - at least this Ford is more dead than alive.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 6th April, 2001

1st Nov 2001, 19:31

I have owned my 1995 Thunderbird for a year now and the only complaint I have with the car is the headlight covers are changing colors.

In the car there isn't the best transmission, but you have to make sure you annually change the fluid.

I bought the car off the owner and he had no problems at all. He kept up with all the tune ups and changed all the fluids as it says in the owner's manual.

I don't think it's the car, not to be rude, but I think you are mistreating the car and that is why it is giving you problems.

1st Feb 2003, 15:32

I have a 1995 Ford T-bird, and I love it. Every tree has a bad lemon.

17th Feb 2003, 04:04

I have owned my '95 4.6 V8 for five years now. I have replaced the brakes at least 5 times. The bolt that holds the caliper the the car fell off while I was driving. When you get to 40 and 50 miles an hour the car shakes and does not want to shift. I have replaced thermostats', O2 sensors, Vacuum tubes and now my transmission is leaking.

18th Jun 2009, 21:15

I was giving a 1995 Ford Thunderbird LX... The problem I have is that my speedometer chooses when it wants to work... I am not sure if I need a new cable cord or something else... Please Help... Cass...

6th Sep 2010, 04:51

Upon R&R of my air con, the outfit doing the work has totally destroyed the cowling that fits over the steering column and covers the speedometer, emergency flasher lights switch, the headlamp dimmer switch and of/on switch for the headlamps. I have been trying to locate the 'dash' part but am unsuccessful.

After the air-con job, the speedometer does not work. Can I remove it easily and have it diagnosed somewhere in the states, as the mechanics here on Guam don't know too much, and I have seen what they can do to my beautiful T-bird.

There are only 30,714 actual miles on the car.

1995 Ford Thunderbird LX 4.6 from North America


An absolute jewel


Transmission (rebuilt twice: at 17,000 and at 37,000).

Upper control arm ball joints.

Front stabilizer bar bushings.

Spark plug wiring harness.

General Comments:

Headlight lens are deteriorating causing a drastic loss in visibility during nighttime driving.

This problem has been reported to the National Highway Transportation Safety Administration.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd April, 2001