1996 Ford Thunderbird Reviews - Page 3 of 14

1996 Ford Thunderbird LX V6 from North America

Model year1996
Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission V6 Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired13000 miles
Most recent distance201550 miles
Previous carChevrolet S-10

Summary:

Reliable, comfortable car

Faults:

Belt tensioner bearing went out at 201,000 miles.

General Comments:

Very reliable car, other than the belt tensioner bearing the only other things were wear and tear items (battery, hoses as preventive, brakes).

Nice comfortable ride, but the drivers seat does not have a lumbar support.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th January, 2009

1996 Ford Thunderbird LX 4.6 Liter from North America

Model year1996
Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 4.6 Liter Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.6 / 10
Distance when acquired9000 miles
Most recent distance67000 miles
Previous carDodge Ram Pickup

Summary:

Great car! Hope it has a loving home!

Faults:

Only problem I ever had was when the plastic intake manifold cracked after warranty. Spilled out the coolant and had to have it towed to the Ford garage.

Ford fixed it for free and paid my towing bill.

No other problems in six years of ownership.

General Comments:

Was the first car I purchased myself and it served me very reliably. Had all the bells and whistles... moon-roof, power seats, etc.. My T-Bird got me some tender feminine attentions after I first bought the car... if you know what I mean!!! Wish it was 1996 and was 21 again!!! Would have kept it, but I only had a 1 car garage at the time.

My mom and dad liked it so much, their bought one of their own. They have never had a problem with it. They just follow the factory maintenence schedule and add gas. After 130,000 miles, it is a little looser than when it was new, but still going strong.

I would have bought another, but Ford, for some reason, discontinued a popular, decent selling car! I will never understand that decision... So I bought a car in the same class, a Monte Carlo SS. Love that car, too!

I hope my T-Bird is owned by someone who loves it. I put my hand on my cars hood and talked to it when I traded it in. I know I teared up a little. I felt like I was abandoning a trusted friend to the unknown...

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th April, 2008

27th May 2010, 14:23

I read a few 97 and 96 T-Bird reviews and I am amazed how many owners truly love or loved their Thunderbirds. Not everyone went as far as you did, though. ;-)

Within two years or so my boys will be off to college. We won't need a minivan anymore. I put the 96 or 97 Thunderbird on my short list. It seems to have most of the things that I am looking for, including enthusiast's appeal.

1996 Ford Thunderbird LX V8 from North America

Model year1996
Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1995
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission V8 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired3 miles
Most recent distance171000 miles
Previous carVolvo 850

Faults:

Original issue with slip differential rear required service at 5,000 miles because of vibration.

Until 76,000 no major repairs until front struts and radiator needed replacement.

118,000 miles required front ball joints to be replaced.

171,000 UV Shaft repair needed.

Everything on the car has been a grand slam.

General Comments:

The car offers a solid feel while the cabin noise is minimal.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th January, 2008

1996 Ford Thunderbird 4.6 V8 from North America

Model year1996
Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 4.6 V8 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired110000 miles
Most recent distance220000 miles
Previous carFord Thunderbird

Summary:

Comfy, and Sporty, but not to hard to drive

Faults:

Heater core leaked, stop leak 3 times worked finally. Replaced brakes, Transmission bolts loose and fluid leaked, but bolts tightened and leaks no more. Front left starting to make noise, may need to replace struts. Ignition switch getting worn.

General Comments:

Considering the mileage this car has, it's in good shape. No tears in interior (cloth) Sun faded a little, but it's to be expected since it sits in it during the day in the desert of Washington State.

Car is driven at least 53 miles one way to work. Probably around 30 on weekends.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th December, 2006

1996 Ford Thunderbird LX 3.8L from North America

Model year1996
Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 3.8L Automatic
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance90000 miles

Summary:

Unreal

Faults:

The pulley/tensioner went at 86,000 miles and the alternator went at 84,000. That is it!

General Comments:

A great car that I purchased for $15,413.00 at York Ford in Saugus, MA. These car still rides and looks fantastic. Why did Ford stop producing this style and car? It is their best car they made and I intend on keeping it until it falls completely apart.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th October, 2006

1996 Ford Thunderbird LX 3.8 Liter V6 from North America

Model year1996
Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 3.8 Liter V6 Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.2 / 10
Distance when acquired500 miles
Most recent distance76000 miles
Previous carChrysler 300

Summary:

Wish I had a Chevy

Faults:

The headlights are one of the biggest problems I've had with this car. I can run my brights all the time and anyone that I meet on the road doesn't even know I have my headlights on. The transmission is in bad shape, slips anytime you punch it going over 40 mph. Had the A/C worked on numerous times. Freon was leaking from it's reservoir. Any time you are drive with the windows down and your going over 30 mph the windows won't seal at the top, you have to slow down to about 20. I hate the cup holders. Who ever thought of that I'm sorry that was bad.

General Comments:

The handling on this car is great. It sticks to road at high speeds well. One of the smoothest rides I've driven. Minimal room for who ever has to sit in the back.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 2nd October, 2006

11th Nov 2006, 11:54

I think you just got bad luck, I have a 1995 4.6 sohc blah blah blah auto (bought it new for 18000 back in 95) so I know everything has been done to it, and I've had the upkeep on it taken care of and the car is a dream even though it only has 60k miles. I haven't had a problem with anything.

Average review marks: 7.8 / 10, based on 47 reviews