2004 Ford Transit T260 2.0 TDI from Finland

Summary:

Reliable and comfortable

Faults:

There is really nothing wrong with the van except some undercarriage rust which I am about to repair.

The plastic around the front windshield was brittle and fell off so I had it replaced.

All the systems are shipshape except the rear defroster, but that's an easy fix.

General Comments:

The van handles exceptionally well and at times I forget I am driving a van at all.

It is steady, smooth, and although it doesn't necessarily feel solid like some American vans I've owned, it feels well-built.

It has been extremely reliable although I've had it for about a year now, time will tell.

The engine and drive-train are in flawless condition and it ticks like a clock.

All the power components (brakes, door locks) work perfectly as well, and the only concern I've had to deal with is the occasional oil change and diesel fuel filter change.

I can understand why these are so popular. I will however add that it seems that this van was loved and well-cared for. If you get one of these that's been beat up, it could turn into a bit of a nightmare.

The vehicle is also a bit noisy in the cabin, but it has extra insulation so it's not a major headache.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th February, 2021

12th Feb 2021, 14:00

They are very popular vans. Hard to find one in good condition though, most were used as work vans and are very rough. Wood-lining the interior also helps make sure the dents don't get too bad. Still a works van will have had heavy use. You can get private ones with windows and rear seats, mini bus features from the factory, but these are expensive to buy.

11th Aug 2022, 11:33

Along with the Renault Trafic, vans from this time period make excellent motor home conversions.

2004 Ford Transit 125 t350 2.0 turbo from UK and Ireland

Summary:

Nightmare

Faults:

At 800 miles clutch new clutch fitted local garage tried for 8 days to fix fault with engine tick-over in the end field engineer called out reprogrammed computer fault fixed!

5500 miles faulty fuel gauge new dash cluster fitted.

Tick-over problem returns

Computer reprogrammed.

Tick-over WORSE

Told new software due out soon!

At same time gears stiff to engage was told they were OK

Next day tell them about gears still stiff they agree clutch needs replaced AGAIN! (5500 miles)

Same day back to dealer new oil pressure switch fitted

New clutch fitted (6) yes six miles later back to garage with same problem

They tell my they will fit another clutch to which I disagree and contact Ford.

Ford tell them to replace Flywheel

Clutch problem solved (for now)

Engine tick-over still bad Ford field engineer has to look at van again as local garage given up.

In the process of rejecting van have had more than enough PROBLEMS.

Will keep you posted.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 31st March, 2005

18th Aug 2010, 14:10

I think that the garage was at fault, not the van...

20th Apr 2021, 11:50

What do the numbers T260, T125, T280 T130 etc., mean?

20th Apr 2021, 21:22

I could be wrong but I think the numbers represent the engine power (ps) and gross vehicle weight (GVW) for example 135 T350= 137ps 3.5t GVW. (Approximated)

2004 Ford Transit 90 T330 2.5 diesel turbo from Denmark

Summary:

Useless

Faults:

As soon as we drove the van home from the dealer after delivery, 3 months after ordering, we realized that the noise level inside the van was tremendous, ears ringing as we arrived home, a 20 mile journey.

The dealer agreed that it was to noisy and had the van for about 4 weeks trying to find the cause, but had to give up, and called in an expert from Ford Denmark, who decided after inspecting various parts of the engine, that the noise level was normal. Both dealer and Ford Denmark has now left us out in the cold and are not willing to spend more money and time trying to help us, driving the van is a punishment. We are always very reluctant to use it, what should have been a joy has now become nightmare.

General Comments:

Fuse missing in aux. heater electrical circuit. (Manufacturers quality control failed.)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 12th March, 2005

24th Apr 2021, 10:05

There are various discussions on online forums about the quality of modern small utility vehicles. It seems the market is under high pressure to produce cheaper cars; it definitely shows in the quality. I would recommend searching online forums for more details.