1999 Ford Windstar LX 3.8L from North America


Provided my large family with lots of room, comfort, and power


Sliding door locks intermittently 80,000 miles.

Headlight covers opaqued 80,000 miles.

Wheel bearing replaced 80,000 miles.

Rust lower door skins 90,000 miles.

Transmission rebuilt 120,000 miles.

Cruise control went out 120,000 miles.

Cruise control deactivation switch leaking 120,000 miles.

Windshield wiper motor went out 120,000 miles.

Interior light go on/off 120,000 miles.

Door chime won't shut off 120,000 miles.

Both Power window motors went out 120,000 miles.

General Comments:

Seems 120,000 miles is it for this Windstar.

Except for this last month I'd say I've been very happy with this van.

The Windstars 3.8L leaves my 3.2L DOHC Rodeo in the dust.

Large interior that's comfortable and roomy.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th August, 2005

1999 Ford Windstar SE 3.8L V6 from North America


Wished I knew all this before I purchased it


Engine Light would come on and had minor emmission control problems fixed several times.

In extreme cold the ignition switch would freeze.

At 68,500 miles the transmission went out.

General Comments:

Can't believe that the transmission went out at 68,500. I thought it might be because of a previous wreck. The insurance company had an adjuster go out and look at the vehicle and when I heard back from them, they told me that, "it was a manufacturer problem that Ford has corrected on newer models." I thought surely not they would not make me pay for the problem, then I find out that I am not the only one. When the transmission went I was in the middle of an intersection and it was raining heavily. Ford will be getting a letter about this one.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 2nd August, 2005

28th Nov 2006, 20:29

Transmission went out at 28,000 miles, but over on time, thus no warranty. Gate valve on heater and air broken, impossible for a normal human being to repair. Master cylinder level switch out, takes out cruise control. And the list goes on.

No wonder Ford is going belly up, I'll never have another one!!!

1999 Ford Windstar LX from North America


No electricity the night I picked it up (no radio, interior lights, etc.).

Engine light problem for MANY months; in and out for service.

Air bag light on for MANY months; in and out for service.

Rack and pinion literally fell apart with the touch of a finger.

Tires dry rotted (sold to me that way).

General Comments:

This vehicle is a lemon and the dealer is not satisfying his customer. DO NOT BUY A FORD.

F - Fix

O - Or

R - Repair

D - Daily

If you buy this particular Ford vehicle, GET THE Warranty!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 10th June, 2005

10th Jun 2005, 09:20

Yeah a lot of those Windstars were lemons, but the new Ford Freestar is a bit better. If you truly think that it is a lemon, then use the Lemon Law to get your vehicle replaced for free. That's what my friend did. Good luck!

12th Jun 2005, 19:17

The dry-rotted tires should have been a sign that it was a lemon. That means it probably sat broken for months or years with an expensive repair the previous owner couldn't afford to fix (transmission or headgaskets for example- very common on these). Just consider yourself fortunate that it happened to the last guy and not you!

1999 Ford Windstar sel from North America


I really dislike it


When I purchased the car in cash for 10,000.

It was smooth till about a month later and first it was a computer issue.

Then It was transmission issues.

I had a rebuilt Transmission at 94000 miles.

At 100,000 miles it stopped driving again and I have no warranty anymore. I am so upset right now.

General Comments:

It is not a reliable vehicle. It looks and seats great.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 7th June, 2005

7th Jun 2005, 21:46

I work in a Ford dealership. I am just curious what kind of "computer problem" you had with your Windstar. There can be up to 17 different computers or Electronic Control Units in your model. Ford Windstars are not typically known for transmission problems. Can you elaborate on that? I have seem many Windstars go to 200,000 miles and I am sad to hear of your problems. Also, where were you having the work done? I know dealers are more expensive, but TYPICALLY (not always) the techs are better trained and repeat repairs are virtually non-existent. I hope things turn around for you!

7th Jun 2005, 23:36

Nice review!

My parents had purchased 2 Windstars, one a 95, and the other, a 2000. Both are sub-par in performance and reliability, yet the latter is slightly better in reliability.

Since the Windstar was initially released, it has slowly increased in reliability. I suppose we can only hope that the latest version, the Freestar, has all the bugs ironed out, that it's predecessors suffered from.

10th Aug 2005, 21:33

My 1999 Ford Windstar was very nice and enjoyable when I purchased it, but lately I've been having serious issues with the electrical system. I can only hope Ford will have a recall for this issue.