1999 Ford Windstar Reviews - Page 16 of 25

1999 Ford Windstar LX from North America

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.8 / 10
Distance when acquired51000 miles
Most recent distance151000 miles
Previous carFord Windstar

Summary:

Lemon

Faults:

I Have had Transmission problems, rackopinion problems, Steering box problems, Door lock problems. oxygen sensor problems. every time I have one thing fixed something else goes wrong. The Seats are very uncomfortable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 22nd December, 2004

11th Apr 2005, 08:24

I read these complaints and thought maybe I forgot I wrote them. I have the same identical problems on my 98 Windstar. It's well maintained and looks great, but I have rack and pinion problems, O2 sensors problems, and my transmission just failed at 62,0000 miles with no warning.

1999 Ford Windstar from North America

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission Manual
Distance when acquired95700 miles

Summary:

Too small to be called a minivan

General Comments:

We just bought a used 1999 Ford Windstar Minivan tonight.

Please talk my husband OUT OF IT! I hate it. It is too darn small compared to our 1995 Dodge Grand Caravan. We have a few kids. What was he thinking? I see we are going to have problems with it anyway!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 8th December, 2004

10th Dec 2004, 12:30

This review sucks. It says nothing about this van at all. Tell me what (if anything) has been fixed on it? How it drives? Does it rattle? Etc.

1999 Ford Windstar LX 3.8 from North America

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.8 Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired91000 miles
Most recent distance92931 miles
Previous carNissan Pathfinder

Summary:

A good car (Van) but poorly built with hidden problems

Faults:

The check engine light stays on.

The door ajar light sporadically comes on and then goes away.

I have no heat in the front of the van.

The brakes give off a horrible smell when pressed hard.

General Comments:

This van is great on seating and the space is wonderful for me. I am a child care provider.

However, the problems I am facing now and the cost for replacing the heat core is ridiculous.

The service centers at the dealership I went needs to have trained technicians who are not working on a trial and error basis.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 5th November, 2004

1999 Ford Windstar 3.0 V 6 from North America

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.0 V 6 Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.0 / 10
Distance when acquired27 kilometres
Most recent distance149000 kilometres
Previous carNissan Stanza

Summary:

I bought a lemon.

Faults:

After 3,000 miles my right rotor was replaced.

At 50,000 miles I replaced the fuel pump.

At 50,000 miles I had leak in my transmission gasket.

Af 98,000 miles, I replaced the alternator.

At 100,000 I replaced the head gaskets and the heads.

At 149,000 I replaced two O2 sensors.

At 149,000 the wheel leaks and which had to be replaced twice.

The plastic covers of the seat belts are broken.

I have performed regular maintenance on this car since its purchase and it seems that in addition to the recalls, it continues to be a headache.

General Comments:

I like the space and the seating configuration. For my disable son its easy for him to get in and out.

It rides rough. I am keeping the van until I can afford to buy another. When I do so, it will not be a Windstar nor any Ford.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 14th October, 2004

1999 Ford Windstar LX 3.8 from North America

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.8 Automatic
Distance when acquired29000 miles
Most recent distance67000 miles
Previous carOldsmobile Cutlass

Summary:

Very poor quality

Faults:

Transmission 2 times in 1.5 years $$

Intake manifold gasket leak.

General Comments:

Transmission went bad in June 2003. Again the I/O light was blinking on the Hwy. 10/4/2004 and the transmission started smoking in 20 minutes. It will cost me another $2500 to fix it. The van is in the shop. Currently I have 67000 miles on it. What a joke this Ford Windstar is.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 5th October, 2004

23rd Jul 2005, 18:26

CLASS ACTION LAWSUIT against FORD.. make the world a safer place to drive in..

1999 Ford Windstar SE 3.8 from North America

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.8 Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.0 / 10
Distance when acquired35000 miles
Most recent distance84000 miles
Previous carMercury Villager

Summary:

Although this vehicle has many great amenities, due to poor reliability I would not recommend buying

Faults:

The primer is delaminating all over the vehicle resulting in the paint peeling off in large pieces.

The first time the check engine light came on, the shop determined that it had a cracked intake manifold. This cost several hundred dollars to replace.

Our next issue was an unusual grinding sound when turning at speeds over 10 MPH. This time the shop replaced the ball joints.

The next issue was a squealing sound under the hood accompanied by the check engine light again. After 1 day with this condition, the van stalled in a parking lot, and we had it towed to the shop. On this visit, they replaced the power steering pump, the cam position sensor (the cause of the light), the belt and the idler arm pulley. Repair cost approximately $650.00.

10 days later we were back in the shop with a squealing noise again, this time they replaced the water pump.

It is now about 25 days since the last visit, and the squealing is back.

We have also experienced the same issues that others have posted here regarding the door ajar/interior lights remaining on.

General Comments:

Although I was very happy with my Mercury Villager, and was thrilled with all of the options that came on my Windstar, I have decided that I will not purchase another vehicle from this manufacturer. Although I have found several web postings from other owners with the same paint issues, my local Ford dealership states that with no recall, I will have to cover the cost. Since my roof was starting to rust, that is just what I did - knowing full well that the problem will return time and again all over the vehicle.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 1st October, 2004

13th Dec 2005, 19:07

My 1999 Ford Windstar SE has 112,000 miles. The minivan has the same paint problems as all other owners have described. I thought about installing some signage showing and describing what a good AMERICAN product Ford Motor puts out. No wonder, the major auto manufacturer are closing plants, laying off and blaming the foreign manufacturer like Toyota, Honda and others. I have owned the others and never, never have had a paint problem like this Ford Van has experience. I am presently getting bids for re-painting and it runs from $1,300 to $3,000 dollars. WONDERING IF IT WOULD BE WORTH IT...Tulsa, OK.

Average review marks: 4.5 / 10, based on 92 reviews