1999 Ford Windstar LX 3.8 V6 from North America


99 Windstar with 143,000.

R/F sub frame snapped due to rust from the A/C drain tube located above the sub frame. Poor design from Ford.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 20th July, 2010

1999 Ford Windstar SE from North America


Will not buy any sort of family car from Ford


Head gasket blew at 95,000. Radiator fluid flooded a cylinder. Possible hole in piston.

Around 60,000 the van wouldn't start in cold weather, or would die when put into gear.

Gave no warning when a major malfunction occurred.

General Comments:

Comfortable, but very unreliable.

Any repair is costly.

Will not miss it when I get rid of it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 19th July, 2010

20th Jul 2010, 08:42

I used to own a 2003 Ford Windstar. I had a similar experience to your own. My Windstar was also dead at 95,000 miles (most of my domestic vehicles were dead around this mileage), but only because the transmission was completely fried. I did have multiple engine issues however, and it cost me over $6,000 to keep it running over the course of 3 years. One of the worst vehicles I've ever owned.

After sending it to the scrap yard, I bought a Honda CR-V, which has been great and hasn't cost me a penny outside of basic maintenance thus far.

1999 Ford Windstar 3.0 from North America


This is a dangerous problem, and there is no forewarning of failure


The right side mounting bracket for the lower control arm broke away from the sub-frame, causing complete steering and power train failure. Fortunately I was moving at a slow speed and was able to stop the vehicle without crashing. I had the van towed to my driveway.

Upon inspection, I expected to find perhaps a broken tie rod or some other mechanical problem; instead I discovered a structural failure of the weld where the bracket attaches to the sub-frame. When the lower control arm was pulled away from the frame, it yanked the right axle shaft completely out of the transmission. Short of replacing the entire sub-frame, I can't envision how to fix this and make this vehicle safe to drive.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 16th June, 2010

18th Jun 2010, 08:49

You bought this vehicle with 98,000 miles on it, so how could you possibly know what it has gone through? Sounds like it had some kind of front end impact, was fixed and resold. Things can surface from accidents years down the road. I hardly think this is a design defect, as much as a poorly fixed frame.

1999 Ford Windstar from North America




Wow! I can't believe what I am seeing! I have owned two Ford Windstars, a 1998 and a 1999. I have replaced the transmissions in BOTH, and within a year they are both going bad again (one is totally shot!) the front end in the 1999 is banging and clanging around, and the electric wiring in both are messed up.

The heat kicks on high when ever it feels like it, the interior lights won't shut off, the horn quit working, etc... Apparently these are common problems with these vehicles.

I don't think I'll ever buy one of these again! At least I know it isn't just me or my driving!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 14th January, 2010

14th Jan 2010, 19:00

I had a 2001 and a 2003 Windstar myself. Both needed transmission repairs before 80,000 miles. The 2003 was sold when my sub-frame rotted out. Last Ford product I'd ever buy. It's Honda for me now. Too bad, because Ford was one domestic brand that I trusted in. I'd still consider a Chrysler, (shockingly, unlike most people, I've never had any trouble out of a Chrysler vehicle, so I trust them.)

14th Jan 2010, 23:04

I own and operate a 2003 Windstar. We bought the auto new, and it has provided very good service. It looks and drives like new. This is probably the best all around automobile we have ever owned. The only repair we have had was a defective heater control. The oil has been changed every 3500 miles. We would like to buy a new one, but Ford has deleted the mini van from their line up. We will probably drive this automobile until it wears completely out. We like it.

Earl Pearce

Bristol, Tn.