2000 Ford Windstar Reviews - Page 17 of 17

2000 Ford Windstar LX 3.8L V-6 from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 3.8L V-6 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired800 miles
Most recent distance29451 miles
Previous carChevrolet Astro

Summary:

A very speedy, but unreliable workhorse

Faults:

The rear lift gate was replaced because of bent hinges.

A loud vibration was heard from the power steering and the pump, gears, and all the hoses were replaced at 9,000 miles.

The passenger side sliding door does not line up with the rest of the car.

Little rattles and noises in the roof headliner.

General Comments:

This monster on wheels is seriously quick; with a 0-60 time of about 7 seconds.

Excellent handling and braking.

Very comfortable on long trips.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th December, 2001

13th Feb 2004, 21:57

0-60 in how many seconds? Really?

7th Dec 2006, 01:52

0-60 mph, sec 9.7.

Still quick for something that heavy.

2000 Ford Windstar 3.8L V6 from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 3.8L V6 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.6 / 10
Distance when acquired6 miles
Most recent distance600 miles
Previous carHonda Civic

Summary:

A great family van

Faults:

No problems. Rides smooth and has lots of power. Plenty of room for the kids. With the 5 star crash rating I can feel safe driving with my family in the car. The black looks slick on this model. Gas mileage and tank size are the only drawbacks in this economy.

General Comments:

I looked at the Dodge Caravan, Plymouth Voyager, Honda Odyssey and Toyota Sienna before leaning towards this vehicle. I'm glad I chose the Ford and I don't regret buying any other models. The 2.9% Ford Motor Credit financing and $1000 rebate does not hurt either.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th July, 2000

24th May 2001, 13:43

I recently rode all the way from Dallas, Texas with my sister and family to Los Angeles, California in their 1996 Ford Wind star Van. It was one of the most comfortable rides I have ever had. My sister has never reported any problems with their Van. They have a good maintenance program and have always taken good care of their vehicles which accounts for a lot when it comes to performance.

2000 Ford Windstar SEL 3.8L from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 3.8L Automatic
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance3000 miles
Previous carFord Windstar

Summary:

No more Fords

Faults:

The veichle came in with numerous body defects, screws and bolts missing. It was in the body shop twice for cosmetic repairs. At 200 miles several rattles appeared and it has been in the shop four times for repairs on the same noise which is a pop or rattle from the base of the windshield.

The vehicle suffers from other build related problems. It has much more road noise and gets several mpg less than the 96 Windstar it replaces.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 18th June, 2000

24th Jan 2001, 20:21

I agree. I purchased a 2000 Windstar in August 2000. It has also been to the body shop for door alignments and rattles. It still makes a lot of noise.

Gas mileage is far less than advertised. It is an expensive car to drive. The transmission to engine ratio is a little low. While it has a 3.8 V6 it typically sounds like it is struggling in the 30 - 40 mph range with less than 2000 rpm.

Personally, I would have preferred an import like Honda.

Average review marks: 5.6 / 10, based on 53 reviews