2003 Ford Windstar Reviews - Page 5 of 6

2003 Ford Windstar SE from North America

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission Automatic
Distance when acquired2 miles
Most recent distance29300 miles

Faults:

Power steering assembly went bad, repaired under warranty. Appears to be a problem well known with Ford service technicians.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 8th December, 2005

2003 Ford Windstar SE 3.6L from North America

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 3.6L Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.6 / 10
Distance when acquired11 miles
Most recent distance36000 miles
Previous carFord Taurus

Summary:

Overall a good minivan, but overpriced to be sure

Faults:

Nothing (yet I'm sure).

General Comments:

Overall I must say that I like the vehicle. Of the things I like:

Great ride. Very smooth.

Dual sliding side doors.

Handles well.

Zippy responsiveness. I can pass like nobody's business.

Great sound system (for a non-audiophile anyway).

Comfortable seats. Driver's seat has adjustable lumbar support.

Things I don't like about it are:

Rear seat legroom is non-existent for anyone over 4 years old.

Cargo space doesn't exist without removing the rear seat.

Removal of the rear seat is a huge pain (literally and figuratively).

Low gas mileage.

The monthly payment ($420)

The drastic drop in value (went from $36,000 to $14,000 in 2 years).

The dealership I bought it from. I'd heard bad things from many people, but I didn't believe it until I had to deal with them. We won't ever go back to that particular Ford dealer ever again. From now on we'll only go to the neighboring city's dealership.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd March, 2005

2003 Ford Windstar LX 3.8L from North America

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 3.8L Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.8 / 10
Distance when acquired25 miles
Most recent distance33000 miles
Previous carPlymouth Voyager

Summary:

A mechanics dream

Faults:

The most problems we have had is the transmission. When you first take off and put into drive it hesitates up to 5 seconds or longer. Was told by the dealer its normal and having a transmission problem is rare. It clunks hard shifting from 1st to 2nd once in awhile. Was wondering if anyone else had this problem.

General Comments:

Would not take this van on a long trip. Don't trust it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 7th January, 2005

6th Feb 2005, 03:51

Since when is transmission problems on a Windstar "rare"? From what I'm reading on here its very common. The tranny on our '98 is doing just fine, from which I've been told NOT having problems is rare!

10th Apr 2005, 18:06

My 2003 Windstar has 16000 miles on it today. The transmission had to be REPLACED when it had 12000 miles on it! Now the transmission is acting up again and the TRAC control comes on for no reason at all!

2003 Ford Windstar LX 3.8 from North America

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.8 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.6 / 10
Distance when acquired27000 miles
Most recent distance29000 miles
Previous carFord Taurus

Summary:

Hey, it's a Ford

Faults:

Automatic door-locking feature intermittent.

Power window motor noisy.

Remote hood latch adjusted wrong.

Engine "pings" under a load in low gear.

General Comments:

I have not noticed any transmission problems during up-shift or down-shift on this vehicle as other people have reported. (I have owned several Fords, and I know exactly what the problem feels like- my old F-250 and Fairmont did it!). We test drove ALL other minivans, and only the new Ford Freestar and Toyota 2004 minivan compare in comfort and performance. We live in mountainous terrain, and only the Fords and Toyota could not only go uphill, but downhill safely without lugging the engine or overheating the brakes. The Dodge/Plymouth was straight up dangerous on steep grades! The only real significant problem we have had is a re-occuring detonation/pre-ignition problem when under load in first gear. The Ford technicians at our local dealership say that nothing is wrong, which is probably what the OBD computer is telling them, but it still pings. Does anybody have any ideas? I think the timing is running to far advanced, but don't think I can adjust it on this vehicle myself??!

As for performance itself, the car gets about 17 m.p.g., runs fine, but it is not a "performance vehicle" as some people have stated. It doesn't like to take corners fast, and if you can call its acceleration great, then take a ride in our stock 2001 Ford Taurus with the 24 valve V-6! I guess you could call the engine adequate in this minivan, but like all the other minivans we drove, none really felt spirited. We call this vehicle "mom's taxi"~!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th August, 2004

19th Aug 2004, 16:27

Have you tried using a higher octane fuel?

18th Jan 2007, 09:35

To fight the ping you may want to try Lucas Oil Fuel Treatment. It cleans injectors and removes carbon deposits. It made my van run smoother and it's cheap enough. In case your steep inclines are up there in thin air a low resistance air filter (K&N) might help as well. Good luck!

Average review marks: 6.2 / 10, based on 21 reviews