29th Aug 2006, 14:14

I also have a 97 Windstar. My problems started with oil light on at stops. 300 later with a new high pressure oil pump, I still get the oil light at stops. I also get the check engine light. It starts to flash after 10 minutes on the road. Just about the time it hits normal operating temp. I have found that if I shift into neutral and restart the van, it stops running rough. I will put tape over the check engine light.

I also have the bumping noise on my ABS. I had my brother in law disable the ABS with the fuse in the engine compartment. The light stays on, but the brakes work fine. I will use the piece of tape fix with that also. I am not spending any more money to fix this darn thing. I am going to just drive it until it blows up, then donate it for the tax benefits. I really like the van. I am scared to get another one.

Thanks, Mike.

28th Dec 2006, 07:38


The check engine light is most likely an O2 sensor. Go to an Auto Zone store (or other main stream auto store) and they will check the code and clear it for free. If the problem is an O2 sensor you won't hurt anything by driving it that way, it may hurt your fuel mileage some, but will not damage the van.

As for the noise in the front end, it would be best to have that checked by a trusted alignment shop. Ask them to give you an estimate and let you know what is wrong. Chances are that the noise is from the upper strut bearings and is annoying, but not dangerous. My 97 has had front end noise since 2000 and is still going strong. I did have to replace some tie rod ends, but those do wear out over time and miles.

If you have not done it yet, change you transmission fluid and filter.

Good luck!

3rd Jan 2007, 00:42

We picked up what we thought was a good deal in a van... You know the story... We bought a '98 Windstar from a transmission shop. The previous owners fried the tranny and couldn't afford the new transmission, so the shop owner bought it from them and rebuilt the tranny. It had 121,000 miles on it. From the onset, the 'door ajar syndrome' reared its' ugly head. I thought I was going insane.. Sometimes it did it, and sometimes it didn't. First thing in the morning, I'm pulling out the WD-40 and trying out that trick.

I had to redo the front brakes, including rotors. When I had it apart, I noticed a bar that reaches from one side of the van to the other. In the olden days, we called it a sway bar. I don't know if it's still called that or not. In any event, I noticed that the bolts holding it in had backed themselves out, and were almost at the point where they were ready to fall out. I re-tightened them, and now they're loose again. I'll add some aircraft loctite and see if that don't hold 'em in place. The power steering pump's also shot, so that's a repair that I have to make before we can get it on the road again.

We took it to Georgia over the Christmas holiday. (We live in East Tennessee) On the way down, a current of air got underneath our cartop carrier, and the cartop carrier INCLUDING THE ROOF RACK literally blew off in the middle of the interstate. I mean, the bolts holding the roof rack on were literally pulled from the holes in the roof!

I feel like I'm in the Tom Hanks movie "Money Pit" whenever I'm driving that van. I join the others who've said "No more Fords for me". As God as my witness, I'll never buy another one. As soon as I make the necessary repairs, I'm going to dump it off on someone else and get an Astro van. Ford should be ashamed of themselves for what they've done to the consumers. They're the Yugo's of modern day automobiles.

My condolences to my fellow Windstar owners.

18th Jan 2007, 14:34

I purchased a '97 Ford Windstar last year thinking that a used car from a Ford dealership that passed a "gazillion point inspection" would be safe and reliable. From reading the comments posted earlier, I've determined that not only are the Ford people refusing to admit that there is a problem, but that they are allowing their dealers to continue to profit from the unsuspecting public's trust. I'm actually ashamed now, that I purchased that van and with the door chime, dome light, and speedometer problems I'm having, I wish I'd gone foreign. I'm wondering, though, why there hasn't been some kind of suit. Can this be done?

26th Jan 2007, 10:42

Our 97 Ford Windstar actually isn't too bad.. surprise surprise!! The only issue we have with it is the speedometer. It used to jump about 8-10 mph faster than we were actually going and then return to actual speed, but now its just stuck there and we have to hope that the 8-10 mph fast reading is accurate at all speeds. I wish I knew how to fix this problem. This van must not have been built on Monday because it has 145,000 miles and the speedo is the only current issue. All in all it has been a good rig. Does anybody know how to fix the speedo problem.

13th Feb 2007, 22:06

I have a 1996 Windstar with a Airbag Code # B1942 LH Primary Crash Sensor Feed, Return Circuit Open. I have replaced the sensor, but I still get the same code, and will not let me clear the code. Does anybody have any suggestions that won't cost me an arm and a leg?

I also have a sweet smell in the cab in the morning on warm up, is this a heater core problem?


15th Feb 2007, 14:43

I have a 1998 wind-star and have had the door open deal and I just took all the inside door bulbs out. I don't have any inside lights, but who cares!

I replaced the speed sensor on the transmission, but that didn't help anything it is still not reading right.

Has anyone been able to figure out about the power door locks not working on the drivers and passenger doors, but the side door and rear door works. it's not a relay if the other two work.

16th Feb 2007, 08:14

There is a reason Ford is going to lose its postion to Toyota and Daimler Chrysler and all of these complaints about their vehicles area good example of why.

16th Feb 2007, 22:26

An answer to the 1996 Ford question... trade it in on a Chevy like we did. Ford does NOT care about your safety, we know first hand. The more you replace/fix on a Ford, the more you will find out is wrong with it. The censors go bad on the air bags and are expensive to fix, mine flashed so long that I put a piece of electrical tape over it so I didn't have to see it. The same with my ABS light, on every time the brakes were applied. Took it to a repair shop and all they say is " Oh, Fords are known for that". Read my post about our 1996 E-150. I know what I am talking about. Fords are nothing, but LEMONS and we will NEVER own another one. I will go by horse and buggy before I get another Ford.