1995 Geo Metro Reviews - Page 3 of 16

1995 Geo Metro 1 liter 3 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture1995
Engine and transmission 1 liter 3 cylinder Don't Know
Previous carGeo Metro

Faults:

My car kept quitting unexpectedly. It was electrical, but the mechanic couldn't fix the problem as it was intermittent.

I took apart and cleaned all the connections in the engine bay with carb cleaner. It cured the problem. (I don't know exactly which connector it was but suspect the big green; I think there are about 12 in all). That was 3 years ago and not had any problems since.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 7th December, 2008

1995 Geo Metro Base 1.0L 3-cylinder from North America

Model year1995
Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 1.0L 3-cylinder Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance131000 miles

Summary:

Best car I've ever owned of more than 20 vehicles over decades

Faults:

Air conditioner needed recharging at 65,000 miles.

Driver's door inside handle failed 125,000 miles.

General Comments:

Excellent value and fuel economy. Still gets over 40 mpg and it's 13 model years old with over 130,000 miles. Tools along at 65-70 on the highway with no problems at all. Occasionally you can feel the wind, but no more than in my minivan.

After rebate when I bought this car, it was under $7,500. What a deal. If they still made these, I would definitely buy another. Sad commentary on the world of automobiles that this Canadian-built vehicle (with a Suzuki engine) is no longer available.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th February, 2008

1995 Geo Metro sedan 1.2 Liter from North America

Model year1995
Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 1.2 Liter Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.6 / 10
Distance when acquired30000 miles
Most recent distance48000 miles
Previous carGeo Metro

Summary:

Rocket on wheels

Faults:

When I first got the car, the muffler was bad on it replaced it for $50. Took it in for a check up, dealership told me that the distributer seal was out. cost me $75. But other than that its been the best car I've owned, basic tune ups with oil changes and brakes. But now the clutch is making a grinding sound when shifting into 3rd gear.

General Comments:

This car is the best car even though it has a 1.2 liter it still has the get up and go as a 6 cylinder.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st January, 2007

1st Feb 2007, 13:11

Its either 1 liter or 1.3 litre, the base came with the 1.0 and the LSI with the 1.3, all really really slow engines...

1995 Geo Metro 4 Dr Sedan 1.3 from North America

Model year1995
Year of manufacture1995
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 1.3 Automatic
Performance marks 2 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance120000 kilometres

Summary:

Great Car if you are on budget

Faults:

Replaced exhaust the entire pipe.

Air Fan.

Truck cable broken.

General Comments:

Low cost of ownership. Good for city driving. Not recommanded for freeway commute.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th January, 2007

1995 Geo Metro from North America

Model year1995
Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
10.0 / 10
Most recent distance195000 miles
Previous carChrysler LeBaron

Summary:

Great car

Faults:

Transmission leak.

General Comments:

My Geo Metro (1995) is a great car. The car is fun to drive, and very well made.

I have only had one problem with the car, and that was a minor trans leak.

It does rev its engine by itself, but I have found it only does it when it's cold.

The car is roomy and comfortable too.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th December, 2006

1995 Geo Metro Base 1.0 from North America

Model year1995
Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 1.0 Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.5 / 10
Distance when acquired113000 miles
Most recent distance115000 miles
Previous carGeo Prizm

Summary:

Bitter Lemon

Faults:

Smokes intermittently - inexplicably will start puffing a huge cloud of smoke on the same part of the freeway on the way home... but stops after a few minutes & I can't get it to smoke any other time - when starting, idling, high-revving, etc., runs great. There was a little oil in the air cleaner, so I don't know if the PCV valve is out or what.

Speedo/odometer/trip meter quit about 2 days after I bought the car. Have checked all the fuses, & the speedo cable didn't squeak before it quit - it just suddenly died.

Starter clicks 10-15 times before the car will start. Previous owner stated that several starters were installed, most recently in 6/06, but problem persists. Starter and solenoid are on one assembly.

Temp gauge fluctuates wildly... will be at near 0 most of the time, then jump to half or more. Both radiator hoses get hot & the car doesn't overheat.

Check Engine light on - Code 42: I replaced the pickup coil, distributor cap, rotor, plugs & wires, & reset the computer. Light went off.

AC compressor out.

Hood doesn't close right.

Cigar lighter not working; fuse intact.

Stereo shuts off at moderate volume.

Loses power appreciably on hills; I've had to go all the way down to 3rd gear on occasion. This could be par for the course for a small engine & not a defect.

General Comments:

I drive about 110 miles a day & wanted a super-economical ride to get me there. I did my research and checked out this site & found almost all favorable reviews, so I went for it. I love my Geo; it's fun to drive, cute, & surprisingly roomy... I just can't believe how much is wrong with it. It has 115k on it, but supposedly 40k was towed behind a motor home, so it shouldn't be this worn out already.

I do most of my own repairs & I'm open to ideas... if anyone has had similar problems or knows any solutions to these issues, please e-mail me at joeydreamz@yahoo.com or post a comment on this site. Any help would be appreciated.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd September, 2006

24th Sep 2006, 18:34

Another person wanting new car perfection from a ten year old car with over 100,000 miles. If you want a new car get one don't buy a worn out car and expect perfection.

26th Sep 2006, 16:50

"Another" comment from someone trying to sound smart, which is par for the course on nearly every blog...further replies like yours will be ignored. I buy nothing but used cars, and haven't had this many problems (initially) with any. The point of this site is to share info, not feed delusional superiority complexes. Do people just browse around looking for User Reviews to rip on? If anyone has anything useful that would help me, please post a reply. Thanks.

Average review marks: 8.0 / 10, based on 65 reviews