1995 Geo Metro Reviews - Page 9 of 16

1995 Geo Metro 1.0 from North America

Model year1995
Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.0 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.5 / 10
Distance when acquired131000 miles
Most recent distance152000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Corvair

Summary:

It took me 2years to find another and I won't sell this one

Faults:

There is nothing that has gone wrong with this vehicle.

General Comments:

I own a service station and bought my first Metro from a customer.

On that vehicle we installed Nitrous Oxide as an experiment.

That car ran perfect and went 235,00 miles with no problem, I then sold it and it is still running.

Even with 145 horsepower boost from the NOS, it still ran great.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th December, 2004

13th Dec 2004, 06:33

It took you two years to find a Metro for sale?

You must not have been trying very hard!

1995 Geo Metro LS? from North America

Model year1995
Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission Automatic
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired13000 miles
Most recent distance119000 miles
Previous carDodge Caravan

Summary:

My Geo Metro is a GREAT ECONOMY CAR needing few repairs

Faults:

Outside of normal wear and tear and regular maintenance, I have had only one problem with the car.

I have experienced sudden acceleration on two occasions ; to the point that I had to jam on my brakes. The first time I had my mechanic check it out, but he found nothing wrong.

Yesterday as I was backing out of my driveway, it happened again. It accelerated rapidly, I jammed on the brake; the engine continued to race; I put the car in park and shut it off. (I was petrified I was going to go out of control and hit somebody crossing the driveway.)

I again had my mechanic check it. He told me he checked the memory chip (I think that's what he called it) and no malfunctions had been recorded. He also checked the rest of the car and found nothing wrong. He then went to the computer to see if any other similar problems had occurred. Again, it came back clean.

I'm really afraid to drive the car without figuring out what's wrong.

I am absolutely thrilled with the car otherwise. The mileage I get is fantastic; especially on the highway. I travel from northern NJ to Maryland to visit my son and daughter-in-law, and have gotten as much as 40 miles to the gallon.

I'm a big guy, and yet there's plenty of room for me to sit in the driver's seat comfortably.

The power-assist steering could use More Power Assist.

If someone has experienced the same problem as me, I would love to hear what causes it, and how it was resolved.

Thanks Much!

Bryan.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th October, 2004

15th Nov 2004, 08:38

Hey there. Get your mechanic to check the wiring harness.

21st Jan 2005, 23:05

Get the transmission looked over too.

18th Aug 2005, 11:19

Maybe the throttle position sensor?

6th Sep 2005, 01:37

I had the same problem with my GEO Metro. The throttle cable needed to be replaced. Fixing this fixed the problem.

16th Dec 2006, 16:52

Chevy had a recall on it it is a short in the wireing I had the same problem.

1995 Geo Metro LSi 1.3L 4 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.3L 4 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired75350 miles
Most recent distance88560 miles

Summary:

DA midget mobile

Faults:

Well I am having problems with a squeaky belt and keeping the tires properly aligned. I am also getting only like 28 MPG. I also need a service manual. Where can I find one?

Other than this, I must say she was a good investment. I have gone mud-running with her, used her as a tow truck. Used my custom 500 watt sound system (which shakes the hell out of the car, I have to adjust my mirrors every day) to keep the party going, pulled more reverse donuts than the local donut shop, and hit a phone pull. And she still runs strong. So I think they're invincible.

General Comments:

I call my car the "midget mobile" for a reason. She's a 95 Geo Metro 2dr with the 4 cyl. I'm 6'2, 260 pounds, and I make her look smaller. But I can still load her up with 3 friends, and we go cruise the strip.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th June, 2004

1995 Geo Metro 1.0 3 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.0 3 cylinder Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.8 / 10
Distance when acquired47329 miles
Most recent distance175834 miles

Summary:

The Best Car Ever Made!!!

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

This has been the greatest car I have ever had and I can't believe they do not make them anymore. It gets fantastic gas mileage (50 mpg!) and is practically maintenance-free. It's easy to get around in this car and it is very reliable. The interior is comfortable, surprisingly spacious and the controls are simple and easy to read. The clutch pedal is extremely easy to push; a baby could press it down. Do I recommend this car? YES!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th August, 2003

17th Dec 2003, 12:10

I have a 1995 Geo Metro 4 door Sedan and I have had little trouble with it. Except for replacing both the CV joints and dropping the oil pan to get the oil drain plug out because it stripped out. But other than that it's an overall good car for old people not young.

Average review marks: 8.0 / 10, based on 65 reviews