1995 Geo Metro Reviews - Page 12 of 16

1995 Geo Metro LSi 1.3 L from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1995
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.3 L Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired12 miles
Most recent distance52000 miles
Previous carDodge Omni

Summary:

A reliable little car and enjoyable to drive

Faults:

The air conditioning had to be recharged and A/C gas added after 5 years.

The seal on the oil pan had to be changed after 5 years because of an oil leak.

When the car was new, the water pump was changed under the warranty.

Other than these things only routine maintenance has been required along with expected tire and battery replacement.

As a whole, the car has been very reliable and I enjoy driving it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th May, 2001

25th Jan 2005, 15:17

I agree with the review.

I bought my 1995 GEO Metro Lsi brand new, and it now has 188,000+ KM on it. (I am in Canada by the way). I had purchased the 5 year extended warranty from GM when I bought the car. I used the warranty once only. One bolt on the driver side door hinge fell out.

Other than that, it is now Jan. 2005 and I am still driving the car daily.

I have nothing but good things to say about it.

1995 Geo Metro from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired90000 kilometres
Most recent distance117000 kilometres

Summary:

Worth every penny!

Faults:

Nothing too serious...

The air conditioning stopped working around 100,000km, and I got a tiny hole in my exhaust pipe around the same time, but other than that there have be no problems, other than routine things.

General Comments:

A great little car. Definitely worth every penny. I'd recommend it to anyone and buy another without thinking twice!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd May, 2001

1995 Geo Metro LSI Sedan 1.3 from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1995
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.3 Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired1 miles
Most recent distance145000 miles

Summary:

The engine so smooth and quiet you can't even tell it's running

Faults:

Had to replace the air-conditioning compressor last year.

Drivers side CV joint @ 100K.

General Comments:

Amazing little car. Never fails to start for me even in freezing weather. I have kept the car up just as the owners manual says and it still looks and runs great even with this high mileage. Even the Chevy dealership that I go to says that my car is just about as good as when I bought it from them brand new in 1995.

I have been all over the country in the car on road trips and I've never had any problems keeping up with traffic.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th April, 2001

16th Jan 2002, 17:24

The reason you can't hear the engine is because it doesn't start up in the first place.

19th Oct 2005, 22:41

Ummm, no, the reason he can't hear the engine is because despite fuel economy, geo engineers thought of noise pollution as well!! By the way Geo's were made in Canada!

1995 Geo Metro Sedan from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired12000 miles
Most recent distance132000 miles
Previous carChrysler LeBaron

Summary:

Poor choice!

Faults:

The air conditioner broke after the second year.

The water pump went out after the third year.

The headliner started falling down after the third year.

The crankshaft went out after the third year, and I had to replace the engine due to the fact the dealership does not replace the crankshaft.

General Comments:

This car is an economical car.

This car is economical, but not built to last more than 3 years.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 12th April, 2001

13th Apr 2001, 18:46

This is unheard of with these cars, I work at a Chevrolet dealer and we never get these things back in for repair, also the headliner is a plastic panel it can't fall? You must have gotten a lemon.

15th Apr 2001, 17:34

They probably ran it out of oil or got water in the oil and wiped the bearings!

1995 Geo Metro LSi 1.3L from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.3L Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired93000 miles
Most recent distance96000 miles
Previous carFord '84 Thunderbird

Summary:

Economical, no-frills commuter car

Faults:

Nothing... up to now.

General Comments:

Great economical car for our daughter... who was driving my old Ford '84 Thunderbird. With projected gas prices at around $3.50/Gal this summer here in SoCal, she will appreciate the cost.

She has learned to "manage" this small 1.3L car ;-)

A few questions though:

A. When can I find a service manual (Chilton's offers a 1985-1993 manual... does it cover the 95)?

B. Does all Chevy dealers still service it?

C. Why is it so hard to get a duplicate key made (no one has blanks)?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st March, 2001

7th May 2001, 10:02

New owner, want to learn more about geo metros.

20th Jun 2001, 13:48

Hello.

I can get a lot of spares at Walmart. Have you tried there? And you should be able to get a full manual at the Chevy dealer or at a Suzuki dealer. The Suzuki Swift is the exact same car.

18th Dec 2002, 12:26

I love Geo Metros. I have a 1992 red four door metro and it is the love of my life. It was my first car. I am 21 years old and I cannot compliment GEos enough. I find them to be excellent cars. They last longer than other compact cars that cost a whole lot more. I wish we could get the whole world o love geos the way I do.

22nd Apr 2003, 08:47

My metro is a 96 and it's a nice little car, but it's a manual and I always have trouble taking off in first gear.

Average review marks: 8.0 / 10, based on 65 reviews