1995 Geo Metro Reviews - Page 13 of 16

1995 Geo Metro LSI Sedan 1.3 from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.3 Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired8000 miles
Most recent distance102000 miles
Previous carGeo Metro

Summary:

More than you think it is..

Faults:

Front passenger CV joint went bad, my fault though as I waited to long to replace the boot.

General Comments:

Great car, long lasting.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th March, 2001

1995 Geo Metro LSi 1.3 from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.3 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired90000 miles
Most recent distance96000 miles
Previous carNissan Sentra

Summary:

Great car for little money!!

Faults:

Nothing has gone wrong with this car!!! It starts all the time with no questions asked, even in freezing temperatures!!!

General Comments:

I love this car and you should go get one too!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st February, 2001

1995 Geo Metro 1.0 from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1995
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.0 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.3 / 10
Distance when acquired5 miles
Most recent distance99750 miles
Previous carPlymouth Sundance

Summary:

$2 per gal. It pays for itself

Faults:

Absolutely nothing.

General Comments:

Greatest little car built.

I travel 120 miles a day to/from work.

The car goes great in snow.

Has the coldest air conditioning ever!! Yes, air conditioning with 1.0 3 cylinder engine power??

2 speeding tickets at highway speeds attest to this little car's guts.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th January, 2001

26th Jan 2002, 09:50

I would buy an Escort. I've got one with a 1.9 and a 5 speed manual. With the A/C on it can still accelerate like a rocket. It's got a lot more power and room than a Metro, and still gets 30-35MPG.

2nd Mar 2006, 21:16

To get 2 tickets at highway speeds in a Metro your the one with guts.

1995 Geo Metro LSi 1.3 from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1995
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.3 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired102 miles
Most recent distance91000 miles
Previous carNissan Sentra

Summary:

Best car ever made and it's cute!

Faults:

Ive never had one problem with my car and 4 other people in my family own Metros and none of us have ever had anything major go wrong with the cars.

General Comments:

Very reliable, never breaks down, goes and goes.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th January, 2001

1995 Geo Metro 1.0 manual from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1995
Most recent year of ownership1996
Engine and transmission 1.0 manual Manual
Performance marks 0 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 0 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance10000 miles
Previous carHonda Civic

Summary:

A piece of crap!

Faults:

The car is a piece of junk!!!! It has absolutely no power. I had the car break down on me during the winter season and when it rains. It has to be perfect conditions for the car to run halfway decent. The door has fallen and after 10,000 miles it was in need of a tune up already.

General Comments:

These cars SUCK!!!!!! And they are the ugliest cars I have ever seen!!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 11th January, 2001

11th Jan 2001, 20:41

I think you might be stretching the truth considering no one else has those problems.... Ugly? I guess you've never seen the Saturn cars have you?

13th Jan 2001, 20:20

These "little" cars are not designed to be first on race day. They are for economical transportation. Beat them around and they will probably let you down. Treat them like they are saving you money and they will perform. I love mine and everyone I have spoken with that owns one says the same thing. When the gas gets to 3.50 per gallon and everyone is unloading their tanks guess what a Geo will be worth? Better buy a new one now because you won't be able to get one at all soon. There will be such a demand for the gas mileage. Think gas won't get that high? It went from 1.18 2 weeks ago to 1.59 today. It went up 10 cents in one day. All those SUV's and Explorers, Blazers and Tundra's will soon be sitting in front yards with For Sale signs in the windows because no one will be able to put $105.00 worth of gas into the tank that holds 30 gallons and costs $3.50 per gallon. Think about that!!!

1995 Geo Metro LSi 1.3 from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1995
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.3 Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired12 miles
Most recent distance115000 miles
Previous carGeo Metro

Summary:

Tough

Faults:

Nothing that I haven't caused myself.

General Comments:

This car has been through hell and back and still cranks everytime I turn the key. I have driven this car through ditches and everything else through flooded roads and so on.

The car itself right now isn't even worth 100.00 dollars, the body is badly damaged from my many adventures off road but the engine is still in perfect shape. I imagine this car well taken care of would last years on end.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th November, 2000

1995 Geo Metro LSi 1.3 turbo (turbo added) from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.3 turbo (turbo added) Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.5 / 10
Distance when acquired26000 miles
Most recent distance92000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Camaro

Summary:

Bad ass little car!

Faults:

Nothing has gone wrong. I haven't had to replace anything in the car. AWESOME CAR!

General Comments:

I have done some custom work to the car to include adding turbo chargers, the engine holds up great to the additional strain of performance parts. I now drag race the car, and it turns an 11 second quarter. Not bad for a 1.3 liter engine.

The car is a great little car to customize, even though it is hard to find custom parts, but it is worth the time and effort.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd November, 2000

22nd Mar 2001, 17:31

You should add to the article where you got the turbo from because I am about to turbo my 95 geo metro.

3rd Jul 2001, 23:49

Yes, you should say where you got the turbo and add some information about that. I have looked high and low for information about turbocharging my 94 Metro and have been unlucky finding information.

Average review marks: 8.0 / 10, based on 65 reviews