1995 Geo Metro Reviews - Page 15 of 16

1995 Geo Metro LSi 1.3L 4 cyl from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.3L 4 cyl Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired69641 miles
Most recent distance79986 miles
Previous carBuick Regal

Summary:

Utilitarian has never been so much fun!

Faults:

I just replaced the rear struts. I will be giving it its very first tune up next week. Everything on this car is original.

Driver's side window is a little loose, but otherwise this car is perfect!

General Comments:

I bought my "little green jellybean" just before gas prices sky-rocketed in Dec.1999. I love driving it and I think the acceleration is great for a car so small! The back seat is so big that my German Shepherd and Golden Retriever ride back there comfortably. I've never had a car that's so reliable and fun to drive.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th August, 2000

24th Dec 2000, 16:59

Can you tell me where the fuse box is for a 1995 Geo Metro LSI for the fuse for the radio, lighter & washer fluid?

Thank you, Sue

jitter_44314@yahoo.com

7th Jan 2001, 06:17

ROFL! I LOVED your "Little Green Jelly Bean" comment, I'm about to buy a 1995 2 door, Red Geo Metro. My friend/ex unofficial boyfriend (IF that makes any sense) drives a 1997 2 door Metro, and we joked about having a pair of roller skates, and driving parallel down a street with matching Roller Skate bumper stickers. LOL. I tell everyone that when I buy my "Ash Tray On Wheels" they better watch out cause my car will beat theirs up. LOL, okay, not very mature, but we all get a good kick out of it. Anyways, no point to this really, I just liked your Jelly Bean theory! :)

1995 Geo Metro Sedan 1.3 liters from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.3 liters Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired80000 miles
Most recent distance106000 miles
Previous cartoyota corolla

Summary:

A reliable cost effective must

Faults:

Not a lot.

It uses a little oil.

It had an electrical problem with one of the headlights, but it was only $20.00 to have fixed.

The catalytic converter is just now developing a rust hole in the top, and there are no converters available for the 1995 yet, which is kind of a pain.

Nothing too major yet, just basic maintenance for a car with 100,000 miles.

General Comments:

I love my car, it has low payments, very price effective. It gets great gas mileage, and has never left me stranded. It has some get up and go, because it is a manual. I have no real complaints. I would suggest it to anyone.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th August, 2000

25th Aug 2001, 16:56

I hope you see this review before getting a new converter. The 1995 Metros have something called a resonator, which is an additional muffler that is about in the middle of the exhaust system. The converter is in the front of the car. My resonator rusted also, and I took it off and replaced it with a standard piece of tail pipe, it cost about $20.00. I too thought it was the converter, but I was happy to see that it wasn't.

3rd Apr 2003, 18:08

We just replaced the resonator on our 1995 Geo Metro. The problem arose just before we hit 100K miles. Our trusty mechanic fixed it with a section of pipe as well. The cost for labor (no charge for the parts) was about $55 or $60.

8th Jun 2003, 20:41

My 1995 Geo has been nothing but problems ever since I have bought it. It has a little over 100K and I have had to put in a whole new exhaust system, new bearings, new brake calipers, new struts and shocks and I have had to replace both the front and rear brakes plus I have been plagued by electrical problems. However the car is awesome on gas and oil and the insurance on it is very affordable.

5th Sep 2005, 16:47

I just bought a 1995 Geo Metro from a citizen for $200. Other than the headlight problem mentioned it works fine. I got a great deal for the money, plus it’s easy to learn on. I gave it a tune-up for a little over $20.

1995 Geo Metro 1.0 from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.0 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired32000 miles
Most recent distance79998 miles
Previous carGeo Spectrum

Summary:

Good bargain

Faults:

A/C hose developed a leak.

Rear defrost wire came loose preventing usage.

General Comments:

I had the A/C fixed and the rear defrost is still broken but I can fix that myself, it's just there isn't much use for that here. Nothing mechanical yet.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th August, 2000

Average review marks: 8.0 / 10, based on 65 reviews