1996 Geo Metro Reviews - Page 16 of 17

1996 Geo Metro LSi 1.3 from North America

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.3 Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired13000 miles
Most recent distance97000 miles
Previous carFord Aspire

Summary:

Good car

Faults:

Blown head-gasket.

General Comments:

It was my fault the head gasket blew, a hose came loose and the car started to run hot I thought I could make it home - wrong, before I knew it the hand was in the red and I had blown the head gasket. The best thing about the whole situation is that I took the car back to dealership and they fixed it for free since it was still under warranty. They are the best service dept around, I always get reminder cards when the car needs service, they always treat me well, and the car is always in perfect shape when I get it back.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th April, 2001

1996 Geo Metro LSi 1.3 from North America

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.3 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.6 / 10
Distance when acquired22000 miles
Most recent distance66800 miles
Previous carDodge Daytona

Summary:

Not built to last!

Faults:

Wiper fluid motor went 2 days after I bought it.

A/C constantly breaks/leaks. Controls "slip" so that on/off do not work right.

Transmission started making noises at 50,000 miles.

Bearings died at 66000 miles - this is ridiculous!! I thought these were supposed to last forever! Oil was changed religiously, even used expensive oil & filters.

Dealership never fixed things definitively.

General Comments:

It was decent transportation until now!!

I took excellent care of it, and it still is dying very soon!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 30th March, 2001

20th Jun 2001, 13:52

You must've got a lemon. Mine works great with 206,000 miles on it. I kept immaculate care of it. It should go on forever.

14th Dec 2001, 18:12

Yep, you got a lemon.

27th Sep 2002, 18:10

Sorry about that lemmom you got. mine works perfectly with 100 000 miles on it. better start looking for another one.

28th Sep 2002, 22:39

Yeah, trouble with lemons is, that when they're all too frequently attributed to one model, one does start to wonder. A cheap throw-away car, do yourself a favour... throw it away.

9th May 2003, 12:25

One year and a half ago, I bought a 1996 Geo metro, automatic transmission, 4 doors... I can say it's an excellent car, no troubles at all since I have it.

He keeps its power and stability.

Excellent car.

26th May 2003, 05:49

I have had a 1996 geo metro for six years now. it has 117.000 miles. The longest I drove it was 2,200 miles, worked great. Only basic service the car needed was oil changes, etc. However I did need a water pump put in, and my washer fluid stopped working a short time ago, but hey for $8,000 it wasen't that bad.

13th Jan 2004, 18:00

I have a 1995 manual Geo and have never had a problem with it 95000 miles later.

1996 Geo Metro LSi 1.3 from North America

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.3 Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.4 / 10
Distance when acquired20 miles
Most recent distance151956 miles
Previous carJeep Wrangler

Summary:

Good basic transportation, but probably would not buy again

Faults:

Manual transmission replaced at 55,000 miles.

Emission control system failures at 125,000 miles.

Transmission problems/sounds at 130,000 miles.

Electrical problems with factory radio and heat/AC controls.

General Comments:

Generally reliable car (except for manual transmission).

Reasonable performance for the class.

Much better as a commuting vehicle than for long trips, although I have used it for both.

Excellent gas mileage (still averages 39+ mpg).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 1st February, 2001

1996 Geo Metro LSI Sedan 1.3 from North America

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.3 Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance0 miles

Summary:

Happy little car

Faults:

The check engine light popped on one day a while back, but one quick jaunt to the dealership and it was off in 15 min, just a service reminder I guess, they didn't even charge me to switch it off.

General Comments:

Terrific little car, just doesn't like hills that much. You really have to gun it to get results from the engine but it keeps up with traffic well enough for me, the roads are so congested today that you can't get over 45 mph around here before you have to stop again.

Anyway this car has never failed me and I doubt it ever will, it just runs so great and is so quiet, of course I do keep it maintained as much as possible.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th August, 2000

1996 Geo Metro LSi 1.3 from North America

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.3 Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired2 miles
Most recent distance75558 miles
Previous carGeo Spectrum

Summary:

Get to know Geo, you might be surprised!

Faults:

Seat belt broke on the passenger side, door sealer fell loose.

General Comments:

This car has been a pretty good vehicle for me, no problems yet and it's never let me down. I do go through a lot of front brakes though but of course that could be my own fault.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th August, 2000

23rd Feb 2003, 12:55

I noticed with the metros brakes is that you have to clean and adjust the rear brakes about every couple of oil changes to gain good stopping performance. If you are going threw front brakes it is probably because the rear brakes are not properly adjusted to help the front brakes stop properly. Make sure you have quality pads and shoes installed when you have the brakes worked on. Some shops say they do, but they don't. Some shops buy the $10.00 brake pads from your local parts store and charge you double!! Also make sure the rear brake springs and hardware are not worn out. It is a good idea to have the springs and hardware replaced every time you do the rear brakes. Or you are applying the brake too hard or stopping at the last minute!!!

12th Nov 2005, 15:48

I did a brake job on my 96 Geo Metro. My previous comment is the second response comment under Suzuki Engine???. I still have had no response on the occasional bee buzzing sound comming from the left side inside of the engine compartment, that was brought up in that comment. Anyway, if your brake pads are replaced, but the caliper glide pins are sticky/ dirty/ or corroded, this will result in the rapid pad ware. This was the case with mine.Also make certain to use the correct disc brake lubricant for the guide pins. regular petrolium based lubricants will cause sticking problems.

Average review marks: 7.6 / 10, based on 64 reviews