1997 Geo Prizm Reviews - Page 4 of 6

1997 Geo Prizm from North America

Model year1997
Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission Automatic
Previous carGeo Prizm

Summary:

Very realiable car

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

This car is very reliable. me being a young adult and in college, I enjoy racing. I treat this car like crap and it hasn't broke down on me.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 18th April, 2005

1997 Geo Prizm LSI 4 cylinder from North America

Model year1997
Year of manufacture1997
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 4 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired75000 miles
Most recent distance75000 miles
Previous carGMC Pickup

Summary:

Great

Faults:

The dome light is burnt out, the driver side window is hard to roll up other than nothing major is wrong just some light maintenance work.

General Comments:

This car is great. I would buy another one in an instant.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th January, 2005

1997 Geo Prizm LSi from North America

Model year1997
Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.4 / 10
Distance when acquired2000 miles
Most recent distance108000 miles
Previous carGeo Prizm

Summary:

It's a workhorse in a small package

Faults:

Nothing major has gone wrong with this car. Basic wear and tear is it! I have replaced the tires twice in almost 110K miles, windshield, and a front headlight from a collision which in my opinion should have caused MUCH more damage than it actually caused. All in all a very well put together car, starts every time in cold South Dakota weather and the AC runs like a champ each summer.

Rear drivers side power lock has become tight and won't budge from pushing unlock button.

General Comments:

What a great car. No matter what life has thrown this cars way it has just kept on plowing through it, which in South Dakota winters can be a serious pile of the cold stuff.

Compared to other cars its size the ride/handling is very good (we also own a Saturn). It takes corners well and the brakes always stop me with plenty of room to spare.

Like other readers, "I just keep waiting for something to go wrong with this car" but nothing has and in my opinion nothing is on the horizon.

It's been a splendid car to be able to drive, still looks good inside and out.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 20th December, 2004

1997 Geo Prizm EX 1.6 from North America

Model year1997
Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance148000 miles

Summary:

The best car I've ever had. I love it.

Faults:

Piston connecting rod broke at 148,000 miles.

General Comments:

I spent months deciding on what car to buy. Thanks to Consumer Reports. The Geo Prism is a spectacular car. Reliable, comfortable, smooth, quite, solid. It's plain, but with some nicer wheels and some new paint, and Satellite Radio, it's be sweeter than before. Having a engine and a new clutch put in. The old clutch is fine, but worn down about 50% and the labor to replace it is free.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd December, 2004

1997 Geo Prizm LSi 1.6L from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.6L Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired13000 miles
Most recent distance97000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Celebrity

Summary:

I would buy another one in an instant!!

Faults:

I have only had to replace the alternator and battery.

General Comments:

I love my Prizm! It has never failed to start in cold weather (recently it was -21F with -40 windchill and it started on the first turn of the key).

This car has been so good to me! I keep waiting for something to happen with it, but it never does!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd February, 2004

16th Nov 2006, 21:21

84,000 miles on the same tires? You didn't replace the timing belt at 60,000 miles?

1997 Geo Prizm 1.6 from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 2 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired60000 miles
Most recent distance100000 miles
Previous carPontiac Firebird

Summary:

A great car for college, or city living, but not much fun to drive even with a stick shift

Faults:

Nothing really.

The driver's side window is hard to roll up.

New Tires at about 80,000 miles, but that's to be expected of any car.

General Comments:

Negative aspects- Don't believe any of the other reviews that say the power in this car is good. It is anemic at best. Around town it's good enough, but getting onto the highway can be dangerous with this little power. Even using each gear for all it's worth won't help much.

Handling isn't good, but it isn't bad. For normal everyday driving it's good enough.

The interior is cheaply put together, but then again what would you expect? It doesn't even have a tachometer.

My prizm wasn't equipped with cruise, so long trips caused a certain amount of madness, and stiff knees.

Positive aspects- This car has been bulletproof, I haven't had to replace anything in almost 40,000 miles. My parents owned the car before me and also never replaced anything.

Fuel mileage in this car is incredible. I've got about 38 miles per gallon city and 40 highway.

Car fits very well into tight spaces. Also has a great turning radius, which combined with low gas, maintenance, and insurance costs makes it great for driving in cities.

The ride is actually quite soft, much better than I would have guessed.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th July, 2003

17th Nov 2004, 07:19

Sounds like got a stripped model with no options, I have a LSi with the 1.8 engine with the 4-speed auto transmission and my car has lots of power and a tachometer and it handles great, so don't try and down the Prizm when your parents gave you the bare bones model, don't blame the Prizm because your parents are cheap... and by the way the interior in my car is terrific even the leather seats-

Average review marks: 8.5 / 10, based on 27 reviews