1997 Geo Prizm Reviews - Page 5 of 6

1997 Geo Prizm LSi 1.8 from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.8 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.4 / 10
Distance when acquired82000 miles
Most recent distance82020 miles
Previous carFord Ranger

Summary:

Great car good performance and maneuverability!!!

Faults:

Some thing wrong with the O2 sensors, but the dealer bypassed it.

The interior is pretty cheap looking although comfortable in the front and a little uncomfortable in the back.

The back speakers are bad other than that its fine.

General Comments:

Performance is pretty good, we were doing nearly 80 mph in third gear!!

Very comfortable interior.

Suspension absorbs nearly everything and handles great very maneuverable!!!

When you take her into her red line range she doesn't jolt or anything acts like she is meant to be there!!!

If you have any questions please email me at leafy4eva@yahoo.com don't hesitate at all!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd May, 2003

11th Aug 2005, 09:23

The rear speaker foam rots on these cars after about 7-8 years and it's difficult to find a replacement as they are not a standard 6.5 inch size. I bought some $20 6.5 inch speakers at WalMart and used silicone caulk to glue them into the adapter brackets. Works great now!

14th Oct 2005, 00:24

I own a 97 LSI Geo Prizm. It is truly amazing and the speaker thing, I got some nice 6.5 inch speakers and they were installed with no problem. To comment on your third gear speed, I have had the 5 speed up to 120 m.p.h. with only a little room to spare past red-line of 5th gear. It was a good time, I also had the chance to test the suspension at this speed. Changing lanes swiftly at 120 m.p.h. is smooth and surprisingly easy to control.

1997 Geo Prizm LSi 1.6 from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired35000 miles
Most recent distance12800 miles
Previous carHonda Accord

Summary:

A great car with a bad reputation

Faults:

Nothing has really went wrong with my Prizm.

General Comments:

This car has been through everything, from being buried is a sand dune to being wrecked.

It has never left me stranded anywhere.

I think everyone should have one..

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th January, 2002

26th Mar 2004, 08:50

Yes it is a great car, I own one my self.

15th Mar 2007, 01:02

Bought My Prism 3 weeks ago and I Love It. The only thing I can find that it lacks is fold down arm rests between the front seats and I can deal with that. Runs good, looks sharp, good on gas and has great handling. I wish I could find another one. Mine is a 1997 with only 106 thousand miles.

1997 Geo Prizm LSi 1.8 from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.8 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired18 miles
Most recent distance77600 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Beetle

Summary:

My wife and I LOVE this car!

Faults:

The right rear window seal separated from the door frame at 52,000 miles because of insufficient glue being applied during assembly at the factory.

Repair cost: $2.50 for a tube of rubber cement.

The oxygen (O2) sensors needed to be diagnosed and replaced at 72,000 miles because the "Check Engine" light started coming on. Repair cost: $536.00 ($375.00 for the sensors; $160+ for labor)

General Comments:

This car is very easy to drive, especially with power steering, cruise control, automatic door locks and power windows.

The fuel economy is outstanding: 35 mpg in local driving; 40-42 mpg on trips.

At 77,600 miles, it still has the original brakes and tires and has needed no repairs except for replacement of the O2 sensors.

Routine servicing is easier to perform and is required less often than on my previous vehicles, a 1969 VW and a 1964 Chevrolet Suburban.

However, service and repairs involving the smog controls and central engine computer can be very expensive, as they can best be done only by a Chevrolet or Toyota dealer.

The air conditioning and 6-speaker factory stereo radio/CD sound system work flawlessly.

Factory new parts are readily available at both Chevrolet and Toyota dealers, plus some independent automobile parts stores.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st July, 2001

25th Jul 2001, 01:11

24 July 2001 Additional comment by L. S. Paulsen, Livingston, CA, who submitted the review of 21 July 2001:

In a nutshell, I would best describe my 1997 Prizm as a "Little Lexus". In fact, I wish Toyota had designed the new small Lexus, the IS300, to be a front-wheel drive 4-cylinder model instead of a rear-wheel drive model with an in-line six. Only when climbing mountain grades at freeway speeds do I wish my Prizm had a little bigger engine such as the 2.2 liter engine available in the Camry or the 2.7 liter sold with the Tacoma pickup. A six-cylinder power plant would definitely be "overkill" in a car this size designed for economy and compactness. Also, I wish the standard transmission had an extra low "granny" gear, as I have to be extra careful not to slip the clutch or stall the engine when starting on hills like those in San Francisco. Likewise, an extra low low gear would help avoid wear on the brakes on steep downhill descents.

Average review marks: 8.5 / 10, based on 27 reviews