1990 Geo Tracker Reviews - Page 3 of 4

1990 Geo Tracker LSi 1.6 from North America

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership1993
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired43000 miles
Most recent distance199334 miles
Previous carMitsubishi Colt

Summary:

Will run forever!

Faults:

Plastic windows in convertible top went to pot.

Replaced fuel pump at 100,000+ miles.

Replaced alternator at 100,000+ miles.

Replaced starter at 180,000+ miles.

Seats worn.

General Comments:

Not a powerhouse, but goes everywhere, in mud, ice, snow, or on the highway.

In the 10 years and almost 160,000 miles that I have owned this car I've spent about $300 on repairs.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th April, 2004

19th Feb 2008, 02:46

$300 or more like $3000. Your tranny has not been replaced?

1990 Geo Tracker 4 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership1990
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 4 cylinder Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Distance when acquired300 kilometres
Most recent distance222000 kilometres

Summary:

A good reliable car

Faults:

The soft top clips have broken.

The lighting switch on the side doesn't click to the appropriate settings.

General Comments:

Inside of the vehicle it sometimes fogs up quickly if you forget to turn on the fan.

The soft top is a pain in the ass to take off and put on, you need to take a course to do it, literally.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 16th November, 2003

1990 Geo Tracker 4X4 1.6 from North America

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.6 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired26100 miles
Most recent distance28000 miles

Summary:

A bargain for once in my life!

Faults:

The idle speed had to be lowered from the previous owners setting.

The tailgate has a tendency to not stay completely latched.

General Comments:

The front leg room is much better than I expected. The seats are not real comfortable, but for short trips they are OK.

I bought all the tune up parts, oil, filters, and oil additive for less than $50.00 and had it all done in less than one hour. The easiest vehicle to change the oil and filter I have ever experienced.

This car was owned by the legendary old lady, then driven by a grandson for about 2 years. The 26,000 miles are real. (We live in a small town and saw the car frequently). With a purchase price of just over $1000 I can only hope we get the 150,000 mile usage others have gotten. This could be a good deal, in fact it already is.

Even with the wimpy engine the acceleration is very good. It revs high at highway speeds, but it is designed to do so.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 10th July, 2003

1990 Geo Tracker JX 1.6 Liter 8v from North America

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.6 Liter 8v Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired100000 miles
Most recent distance132000 miles
Previous carGeo Protoge

Summary:

Fun, reliable, and cheap!

Faults:

Both window cranks on my 2 door have broken as a result of 4 wheeling. I looked at the crank assembly and it is a cheesey cable and pully system. I could not figure out how to fix it and didn't know if it was worth fixing. It would probably break again.

I also had to replace a thermostat, that's it.

General Comments:

I love my Tracker! I have put larger tires and lift to it. The factory front drive and steering system isn't really designed for this, but, it has held together. This thing is pretty impressive off road. I can climb at 55% with 31" tires.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th June, 2003

1990 Geo Tracker LSI Hardtop 1.6 from North America

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Distance when acquired97000 miles
Most recent distance104000 miles
Previous carHonda Civic

Summary:

Ultimate Personal SUV for the money

Faults:

Not much has gone wrong, did find minor rust, but is repairable. I got the distributor wet and had to wait for it dry before.

General Comments:

This little truck is a awesome because it's very utilitarian. It can go anywhere most larger SUV can. Outfitted with the proper tires (BFgoodrich All-Terrain TA Ko's) it's a very capable 4X4. LSI Hardtops are the rarest and best for long term ownership. You can put all the amenities that most new SUV's have, in a Tracker. I find that it's much quieter and sturdier than the softtop models. Really good on MPG's. I Give it a 9 out of 10.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th June, 2003

1990 Geo Tracker 4X4 1.6 from North America

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired147000 miles
Most recent distance173000 miles
Previous carGeo Spectrum

Summary:

Best car so far!

Faults:

Had to replace the alternator due to normal wear and tear.

Had to replace the timing belt due to normal wear and tear.

General Comments:

This is an extremely versatile car. It can tow a lot of weight, is great across mountains and you don't feel like you are driving a huge SUV. The only complaint would be comfort of the seats and the fact that they are very easy to break into, you can't keep anything valuable in them.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 3rd August, 2002

11th Feb 2003, 20:36

I've got a 1990 Tracker, 2 door hard top with 170,000 miles. I bought for $3,400 with 100,000 miles on it in 1996 and it's the best vehicle I've ever owned. I live up north and the winters are hard on the exhaust system, I've had a new muffler put on almost every year, thanks Natl Muffler for the life time warranty!

13th Jul 2005, 22:04

I bought a used 1990 Tracker 4x4 with 17,000 miles on it and I kept it for eight years. The previous owner had put 15" over sized all-terrain custom wheels and tires on the car, so my gas mileage wasn't all that great.

I really loved that car. I could flip the top open in 4 seconds at a traffic light and have the sun come in. I could reach the passenger door lock and the rear window zipper from the driver's seat. Long inter-state drives were hell on my behind, but around town, with the windows open, I got wonderful airflow. It was the perfect recreation vehicle!

Bummer that the horsepower was so low---put 4 people in the car and forget about driving up hills! But I managed to pack a 1/2 ton of items in it, books, plants, a bed, bikes on the front and back, etc., and it works hard. Would drive through blizzard roads effortlessly. I was clearing the parking lot at my apartment when other trucks sat cold!

Replaced the back window twice, the top once, bought a bikini top and a tonneau cover---excellent!! Young guys would constantly ask me if my Tracker was for sale!

Sadly, the last year I owned it, everything broke at once. The clutch cable, the coolant hoses, the CV joints, the shocks, started to guzzle oil... repair bills really started to mount up.

Dumbest thing I did was trade it in when I bought a new car. I should have kept it---I still miss that car, it was so much fun!

Average review marks: 7.7 / 10, based on 16 reviews