1991 Geo Tracker Reviews - Page 3 of 6

1991 Geo Tracker from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired201000 kilometres
Most recent distance210000 kilometres
Previous carChevrolet Tracker

Faults:

Cylinder Head Gasket needed replacement upon purchase.

Back door lock malfunctioned.

Front brakes needed replacing.

General Comments:

This is one tough little truck. It's perfectly suited to my needs which include short jaunts in and around town. Yes..it's noisy and gives a pretty harsh ride, but for the money it's a steal!! Not to mention it's unerring reliability even at 13 years old!!

The one problem I seem to have is that I don't think that 4WD engages (at least not as I had expected). In winter, I don't sense that any power is transferred to the front wheels and it's pretty easy to spin this truck as the rear wheels slip quite easily.

Can anyone comment on this?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th July, 2004

2nd Nov 2004, 18:55

Make sure the hubs are locked up.

30th Mar 2005, 21:05

Lock your hubs before you put it in 4 wheel drive.

12th Jun 2005, 20:22

If you have the OEM manual hubs, they may be worn out. I replaced mine with Super-Winch hubs which are much less expensive and far more reliable than OEM because they have a positive lock gear rather than being spring loaded.

20th Aug 2006, 11:37

I just purchased a 1990 Tracker because of a head gasket leak. When I went to remove the head bolts I found they were not very tight. Maybe only 10 ft/lbs. The result was combustion getting into the water jacket and blowing the water out of the radiator. I replaced the head gasket, but I didn't find any thing wrong with the old gasket so may have been able to just tighten the head bolts and been fine. If anyone else has head problems they may want to check the head bolt torque before replacing the had gasket.

1991 Geo Tracker LSi 1.6L from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.6L Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.5 / 10
Distance when acquired94000 miles
Most recent distance135000 miles

Summary:

Good first car

Faults:

There is an oil leak. It can leak about a half a quart a week.

The windshield came craked across the center.

The back latch doesn't shut and it leaks in water.

I also live in Wisconsin, so there is a "little" rust.

General Comments:

The tracker has been a really reliable car for me.

I can take it mudding and have it my daily driver, I wouldn't have it any other way.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 28th February, 2004

1st Jun 2006, 18:55

Excellent "buggy", fun, inexpensive, and a stable platform when getting "OFF-ROAD". Will go almost anywhere you point it. Mine has 235's on 8" rims and will easily climb 60 degree grassy inclines. Great commuter too.

1991 Geo Tracker 1.6L from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.6L Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.8 / 10
Distance when acquired70000 miles
Most recent distance77000 miles

Faults:

The transmission went out at 73000 miles. The engine followed at 77000. The horn never worked and the windshield washer fluid tube rotted through. The front axle was missing a spring for the 4 wheel drive, so it didn't work. I found that out after I got stuck in the mud. The rear plastic window was so cloudy that it had to be replaced.

General Comments:

It is fun to drive when it works. It always starts when cold, but starts hard when warmed up. I had the transmission and engine replaced in the hope that it will last a while. Many reviews say that it is dependable, but this one has had major problems.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 9th February, 2004

1991 Geo Tracker 2wd 1.6 from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired146000 miles
Most recent distance148000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Silverado

Summary:

I Love My Tracker

Faults:

Heater control switch only blows on high.

General Comments:

I never really pictured myself driving a Tracker because its so small. But I love this little Geo. I live in the country and we get a lot of flooding. The Geo goes through mud and water like a hot knife through butter. I was amazed. I encourage everyone to try out a Geo Tracker.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th February, 2003

29th Jul 2004, 00:48

Your heater control switch is connected to a resistor pack, which is a number of coils of resistor wire mounted in a little plastic holder on top of the heater box.

A couple of the coils have burned out, so the low speeds won't work any more. I got my replacement from the local wrecker for $2. Before installing it, I spread the coils further apart so they wouldn't burn out like the last one.

It's a cheap, easy fix.

2nd May 2007, 06:34

I have a 1990 Tracker 2dr Hardtop with the GM built 3 speed auto. Here in Arizona it has proved it’s off road ability many times. As a member of ZOA (Zuks of Arizona) we have found that many members who are building or have built rock crawlers have opted for the 3 speed auto. It just eases up over obstacles rather then having to ride the clutch. I find that in driving it around the city it’s hampered by the auto. The later model autos were a 4 speed Overdrive they are much better in the city, but nowhere as good off road. I have replaced the standard 4.73’s in the differentials with 5.13’s from the manual versions. This means I’m turning around 4000 rpm at about 65 which to me is a little high on the freeways, but gives it a lot more spunk on the streets at lower speeds. It also makes it much better at climbing steep hills.

Average review marks: 7.0 / 10, based on 23 reviews