1997 Geo Tracker Reviews - Page 2 of 4

1997 Geo Tracker from North America

Model year1997
Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired68000 kilometres
Most recent distance140000 kilometres

Summary:

I would recommend it as a great dependable, economical 4 wheel drive vehicle

Faults:

I have noticed lately that I am having difficulty shifting from Park to any gear. It doesn't happen all the time, but when it does it is impossible to get it to move. I have replaced the break light switch on advisement from the dealership and this did not rectify the problem.

General Comments:

Over all this has been an awesome car with no problems.

Nice riding vehicle.

Good gas mileage.

Excellent 4 wheel drive capabilities.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 20th August, 2005

1997 Geo Tracker lsi 2door cov 1.6 from North America

Model year1997
Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired73000 miles
Most recent distance96000 miles
Previous carMazda Protege

Summary:

It's a fun little car

Faults:

The rear wheel bearing and wheel seal. That caused the rear brakes to fail.

General Comments:

I love the car. Its fun to drive cheap to run. And in the summer the top down is real cool.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st April, 2005

1997 Geo Tracker from North America

Model year1997
Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.0 / 10
Distance when acquired110000 miles
Most recent distance131000 miles
Previous carMercury Sable

Summary:

Nightmare

Faults:

@125000 miles had to replace crank shaft Cost: $1300.00 Very annoying.

It now smokes if you drive it for a long period of time.

Had to have fuel injectors replaced @123000 miles $300.00.

Had to have oil leaks fixed $250.00.

Does not have much power. I guess that's why it has a small 4 cylinder.

General Comments:

Tracker doesn't handle good. drives horrible in windy weather. Feels like your going to tip over.

Recently had a rollover accident. Flipped it onto driver side in icy weather. Wasn't even driving fast.

Be careful of the nightmare of A Geo Tracker! I won't buy another one!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 31st March, 2005

1st Apr 2005, 01:49

"Does not have much power. I guess that's why it has a small 4 cylinder."

Your cars keep crashing. I guess that's why you suck at driving.

Makes a lot of sense, doesn't it? According to your logic, it should. Don't get the car if you can't appreciate it for what it is. If you get a Tracker thinking it's a cheap Hummer, you are stupid. If you get a Tracker expecting a fun off road toy, and reliable transportation, good choice. They do need maintenance, however. Less than most cars, but they still need it. Whatever your experience with that car, it's your fault. Cars do not vary nearly as much as the owner. I have never had a single problem with any Suzuki (Geo). Learn about cars, and how to take care of them, get some common sense about how to drive different types, and "magically", your cars will start working better.

27th Feb 2010, 22:12

My Geo Tracker was junk too... Had the same problem with the crank shaft and smoking... Very horrible vehicle.

1997 Geo Tracker 2 door soft top 1.6L from North America

Model year1997
Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.6L Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired107653 miles
Most recent distance107983 miles
Previous carToyota Pickup

Summary:

I found a well made and well taken care of vehicle

Faults:

The only problem I've had is the fuse for the turn/backup indicators. I replaced the fuse and that was that.

General Comments:

I just got it, and I've love it already.

It's really good on gas.

It's perfect for city driving, and does relatively well on the highway for such a light weight vehicle.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th March, 2005

20th Jul 2005, 17:55

Its me again, several miles later. I still love my Tracker. I now have discovered a rain water leak somewhere in the vehicle, but I will take care of it. Still runs great. Handling good be better in the rain (I have accedentally done donuts while turning in the rain), but I just need to not get on the gas so soon. I will keep everyone posted on any problems I have with it (I'm not expecting anything major)

1997 Geo Tracker 2 door soft top 1.6L I4 from North America

Model year1997
Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.6L I4 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 3 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired95500 miles
Most recent distance95800 miles
Previous carDodge Stratus

Summary:

Loved it, and I will get another eventually.

Faults:

Before I bought it, I had the dealer fix a few things on it for me -

The Dome light

The rear door (stuck, just needed lube)

The hazard light switch (blown fuse)

The V-belt (replaced - it was squeaky)

That was all that went wrong that I knew of.

General Comments:

I had prior experience with a tracker. It was my favorite car I ever had. Later I bought an 02 Stratus, and got bored with it quickly (it was also giving me trouble), so I traded in the Stratus for a 97 Geo Tracker 4x4 soft top.

I only had it for 300 miles. I never had to fill the gas tank, either. It was uncomfortable, but tolerable. Loud, but not deafening. Zippy, more than capable of keeping up in traffic (it was a stick, the autos are painfully slow). It could handle expressway speeds, but took a bit to get up there. It had NO passing power in 5th gear, and just enough to pass in 4th. It shifted easily enough, and the gears worked well. The clutch and gas were very responsive, but the brake required a normal amount of pressure though.

If you aren't stupid with it, it won't tip on you, and if you are still worried about tipping, get wheel spacers. I was going to.

One thing, though. If you ever want to get one, replace the manual hubs with auto locking hubs. I had manual locking hubs, and that is why I no longer have the car.

I was driving in Michigan, on a decent road, so it was in 2 wheel drive. I came upon an icy road, but didn't have time to stop and get out and lock the hubs for 4x4. I should've made time! I hit a spot of ice and went flying off the road at about 40 mph. I nailed a tree. This is the main reason I'm writing the review, is that I was very impressed with how well it took the crash. the front end was destroyed, the airbags deployed (I'm sure they saved my life). But the cabin was in perfect shape, didn't crumple a bit beyond the firewall. I scratched up my left hand and broke my neck. But I'm still alive, and able to walk and all that. I just have to wear a neck brace for a while.

I'd tested the 4 wheel drive before, and the Tracker does excellent in 4x4. I know I would still be driving it today had I been in 4x4 on that road. Oh, well. Woulda, shoulda, coulda. This being my second tracker, I can say I would get one again. But it's pretty much a Suzuki. I want something a little smaller, quieter, and more comfy for my next car, so I'm getting a Suzuki X-90. I think I will probably only buy Suzuki's for a while, as they are so reliable! But I would definitely recommend a Tracker to anyone who wants the 4x4 of a Jeep, the mileage of a metro, the fun of an ATV, with the price tag of a toy.

Another thing, though... I would strongly adivse you avoid ever getting a 2WD Tracker. There is just no point to it, and they are very unsafe in bad weather in 2WD. I have every bit of faith in them in 4X4 in any weather, though.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th February, 2005

20th Apr 2005, 11:16

Just a word of caution, Driving on ice at 40 mph isn't safe in 2 or 4 wheel drive. On ice you'll slide no matter how many wheels you have.

17th Aug 2005, 12:14

Thank you for your comments. I live on Miami Beach and I'm considering buying a 97 tracker and my boyfriend has me scared about it tipping. I don't know much about cars - auto vs manual hubs... but I'm a cautious driver, and want something fun.

Average review marks: 7.8 / 10, based on 22 reviews