1997 Geo Tracker Reviews - Page 4 of 4

1997 Geo Tracker LSi 1.6 from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired97000 miles
Most recent distance107000 miles
Previous carJeep Cherokee

Summary:

Small wonder

Faults:

The only thing I had to replace was a drivers front wheel bearing. It was only $38.00 from an on-line parts distributor. Other than that I have had zero trouble with this vehicle.

General Comments:

I own the four wheel drive hardtop in a 4 door. This vehicle goes everyplace. I have taken it 4 wheeling many times and my friends say it outperforms their Blazers and Explorers off road. And I only run the stock size tires in a regular smooth street tread pattern. It's a total blast to drive. All the power equipment works great too. Windows, locks, cruise control, Air Conditioning all work great. The rear wiper even still works. On previous vehicles those always burned out.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th January, 2004

1997 Geo Tracker 2wd convertable 1.6 from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired46000 miles
Most recent distance89000 miles
Previous carGeo Storm

Summary:

A good dependable car for the money

Faults:

New clutch at 89000. I was told this is unusual, probably because of adjustments and maintenance done by the local Pep Boys.

No other problems.

General Comments:

Wonderful little SUV, great on gas, dependable. Never had a problem until recently, hopefully will have no more for a while. A little rough riding, and kind of scary during a rain storm. My 2wd goes great on mountain trips, even some rough mountain roads. I can't complain.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st October, 2003

1997 Geo Tracker 1.6 liter from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.6 liter Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired31000 miles
Most recent distance62000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Suburban

Summary:

Don't mess with the best!

Faults:

Replaced Clutch cable at 59000.

Head lamps replaced twice.

Replaced worn out soft top with hard top.

General Comments:

The clutch cable was fairly inexpensive to fix and the head lamps were even cheaper.

I made an earlier review when I first got the truck and now that it is 30000 miles later I thought I would give my review again.

This is one tuff truck, no major problems. Continues to drive like a champ.

I have given it a two inch lift and installed a performance sound stereo which made it even better.

The only thing that I don't like about my truck is that it seems the seats are getting even more uncomfortable.

I would tell anyone to buy one of these beasts, very reliable and just an awesome fun truck.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th May, 2003

1997 Geo Tracker 1.6 from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired31000 miles
Most recent distance34000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Suburban

Summary:

A beefy performer

Faults:

Absolutely nothing, except no one takes me seriously about the four wheeling capabilities.

General Comments:

I have had a lot of fun so far. I was amazed at the ability it had to go wheelin. Can climb anything and go anywhere anyone else can go. I put some 30 9.5 mudders on it and it still can perform. I did it without a lift, just slight body mods.

Took it on a 200 mile trip last weekend. Did great except for the small gas tank. Fun little SUV.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th November, 2000

1997 Geo Tracker 1.6 from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired47000 miles
Most recent distance48500 miles
Previous carNissan Sentra

Summary:

Quite a little hottie if you're realistic!

Faults:

Nothing to date except theft, can't keep a set of rear speakers.

General Comments:

I dropped it 2" and it takes turns a little better, it's only a 2 wheel drive but that's all I need, I will just modify the performance and personalize the look, but I am very happy over all!!!!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 27th October, 2000

1997 Geo Tracker LSI 4x4 1.6 from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.6 Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired52 miles
Most recent distance39885 miles
Previous carGeo Tracker

Summary:

Bargain SUV

Faults:

I can say nothing so far.. thank goodness.

General Comments:

Great SUV on road and off.

The top is a blast to take down and cruise around.

I really enjoy this truck, this one seems to have more power than my 1990 model that I traded in for it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th August, 2000

1997 Geo Tracker 1.6 from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.6 Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired63 miles
Most recent distance34000 miles
Previous carGeo Tracker

Summary:

Buy one, you'll love it!

Faults:

At this time nothing has broken or gone bad.

General Comments:

Great car, the ride could be better. Umm the only thing about the car I don't like is that fact that it can be broken into with the flick of a razor, you really can't leave anything personal in the car.

I love the California Gold color that I have. The stereo is excellent in it, with the convertible off it really gets attention from everyone else. Another thing with this car it pulls mountains rather well for having such a small engine I was quite shocked the first time I drove it up.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th July, 2000

8th Jan 2002, 00:30

You said that the car can be "broken into with the flick of a razor". For my car, you don't even need a razor. All you have to do is un-zip the back window. Or go to the side window, and pull. The velcro will just pull aside.

I think that at the very least, Geo should have made the Glove Compartment out of something other than cheap plastic. Or built some sort of "secure box" somewhere in the car.

22nd Jul 2004, 04:55

When I visit my son in the city, I always OPEN my glove box, and PULL OUT my ashtray before installing my steering wheel "club"; and I NEVER, EVER lock my doors.

The open glove box tells the no-minds who break into cars that a. there's nothing in there, and/or b. somebody's beat them to it!

Anybody who locks the doors of a convertible is begging for a slashed top. The losers who figure that "if it's locked, there MUST be something valuable in it" won't hesitate to slice up your perfectly good top to get in.

1997 Geo Tracker LSI 4X4 4door 1.6 from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.6 Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired200 miles
Most recent distance34225 miles
Previous carGeo Prizm

Summary:

Rugged

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

This car sure has surprised the hell out of me. I can't believe something with such a small engine can go off road and do the things that this truck does. It never gets stuck. I've pulled several people outta holes and drop offs with this thing.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st July, 2000

14th Nov 2005, 13:31

This review is not very detailed, and therefore not very helpful. Why did the owner buy the car? Did it meet expectations? Surely there was a disappointment or two; what were they? Mileage? More detail...

1997 Geo Tracker 1.6 from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.6 Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired3 miles
Most recent distance43000 miles
Previous carDodge Colt

Summary:

Fun!

Faults:

As of yet, nothing.

General Comments:

Fun little car, a bit scary in turns though. Frugal on gas for this type of vehicle. A/C is very cold which I'm very grateful for. Only down side to this car is that people tend to like to break into them. Mine has been broken into several times, there just isn't any security with the vehicle unless you buy a hard top which is very expensive.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th June, 2000

16th Mar 2005, 01:58

I have to agree with you on the theft part. My car has been broken into and my radio stolen.. It sucks!! but it is a fun car..

2nd Aug 2006, 02:54

I love my Tracker 4 door hard top no problems. Well one problem - left front hub-lock got stuck, had to replace it, but cheap price $ 179 Canadian for two. Oh and really easy to replace, plus I get 800 kms to a tank.

Average review marks: 7.8 / 10, based on 22 reviews