GMC S-10 Reviews

2001 GMC S-10 from North America

Year of manufacture2001
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired89000 miles
Most recent distance104000 miles

Summary:

Been very reliable until the ticking started

Faults:

No lights came on... no warning... just sitting in line at the pharmacy when a loud ticking noise started.

Took it to a mechanic, and he changed the oil and put something in that looked like sludge called LUCAS, and it quieted down some, but still ticking some.

Have taken it for oil change every 3000 to 4000 miles since I bought it with 89000 miles on it in January 2009.

I'm a Grandmom with three of them living with me.. cannot afford large mechanic bills... don't really know what to do.

General Comments:

Have had no problems with the windows.

Have had no problems with the lights.

Have had no problems with the brakes.

Have had no problems with anything until now.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 22nd July, 2010

2002 GMC S-10 sls 4x4 3rd door 4.3 liter from North America

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 4.3 liter Automatic
Distance when acquired48000 kilometres
Most recent distance73000 kilometres
Previous carGMC S-10

Summary:

Nice truck, likes gas, happy with performance

Faults:

First, the electronic shift control for the 2x4 to 4x4 front passenger side, started sounding like a playing card in a bicycle wheel, got it checked, all day service cost $500.00 still have the problem, but only when it gets cold.

Second, had a squealing noise in distributor, took off cap, full of white cake, which worked its way down the dist/shaft, drying it out, cap original never changed at 73,000 kms, oops.

Few squeaks and rattles.

General Comments:

I use softer tires better ride.

Sand gets under box liner.

21 mpg hiway 13-15 mpg city with K&N filter

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 20th November, 2007

1995 GMC S-10 4.3 from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 4.3 Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.3 / 10
Distance when acquired105000 kilometres
Most recent distance145000 kilometres
Previous carGMC S-10

Summary:

Losing confidence this type of vehicle

Faults:

Blower motor cuts out, may start hours later.

Had to replace radiator fan and assembly.

Power switch not working for window or door passenger side front.

Wiper motor rear not working.

Looking for information to trouble shoot blower motor failure.

General Comments:

This vehicle is comfortable, but the dealers charge the same price for 1995or 2004 parts. very expensive to maintain with defective parts that should last longer.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 13th March, 2004

11th Apr 2004, 20:51

Blower is not grounding good run seperate ground wire and it will work fine.

2001 GMC S-10 PICKUP V4 from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission V4 Automatic
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 3 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.4 / 10
Distance when acquired21 miles
Most recent distance24000 miles
Previous carMitsubishi Eclipse

Summary:

Some major flaws despite little use

Faults:

Fuel pump broke after 2 months. Dealer repaired it for no cost. At 13 months, the EGD valve started sticking-nearly causing me to have an accident at the intersection of which this problem first occurred. Dealer said to look at it thoroughly it would cost me about $100, and recommended that I use lower leaded gasoline. the dealer said that this problem was not covered by the warranty after 12 months. I now question the reliability of that statement. I have used lower leaded gasoline and have not had the problem recur for the past 18 months.

General Comments:

Uncomfortable seating, but very reasonable for a lower end priced pickup.

Effective and efficient most of the time.

Suboptimal dealer service.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 24th July, 2003

24th Oct 2005, 08:25

If this is possible the person with the problem should see this. The EGR Valve is part of the emissions. In your owners manual it tells you that your emissions system is under warranty for 50,000 miles or 5 years which ever is first. I think you should still be covered unless your are more than 50,000 miles.

Thanks.

7th Jul 2013, 20:40

Tell that to GMC corporation! My friend made the same mistake. It ran great until it blew up under warranty. The repair was a joke. Knock knock KNOCK said the GMC. I warned him. He never bought a GMC product again.

The Dexcool class action was even a bigger joke... If you did get a refund for your blown up car or truck; I think there were 32-35 million of them! The max payout was $800.00 bucks! I hear most people didn't even get that? Why buy an auto that runs worse than an old Datsun?

12th Jul 2013, 20:43

Just flush your Dexcool every 3 years. Don't mix other color anti-freezes with it. I have run Dexcool in many of my late model GMs (including my Corvette) with zero issues. The guys that wait 5 years or mix with the wrong color run into problems I don't even mix yellow universal with Dexcool, and never ever green! I am sure it happens. It's cheap to change fluids often. It's also easy to read Dexcool only on the reservoir caps.

Also, do not flush out Dexcool and switch colors. If you leave a small amount in, you will have big problems. I do all my fluids, including axle and bleed the brakes, and do not wait 5 years.

Average review marks: 5.9 / 10, based on 7 reviews