1997 GMC Sierra Reviews - Page 7 of 7

1997 GMC Sierra SL 4.3L (292 ci) VORTEC V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 4.3L (292 ci) VORTEC V6 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired175206 kilometres
Most recent distance220000 kilometres
Previous carNissan Pickup

Summary:

Best Lineup of TruckS!!

Faults:

When I First Bought the Truck, I seen it and fell in love with the body. After I took It down the highway opened it up and seenhow much power she had I bought it right away.

Transmission Gaskets had a small leak which turned my Check Engine Light on.

I never noticed that the transmisson had no fluid in it causing it to jerk at 20km/h when the engine shifts from 1st to 2nd gear. New gaskets and complete flush with new fluid and filter and the problem was solved now it shifts nice and smooth.

Nothing Else has gone wrong with her.

General Comments:

- Many People say GM trucks are "Gutless" well my 4.3L Vortec can beat a ford V8 take a look at the charts and I've proven it.

- Very light truck although its 2wd in the winter I have to put lots of weight in the back to keep it from sliding around.

- Excellent Heater, easy controls, 4 speakers in regular cab sound great with a JVC CD/MP3 player.

- Engine sounds looks and sounds like new.

- Body Is easy to take care of and still looks like new with no rust on it.

- Very good on gas if you tweak it and don't abuse the engine. Use Valvoline MAX life, Fram Oil filter, K&N Air Filter, Bosch Platinum Plugs and new wires, Penzoil Concentrated Fuel Injector Cleaner.

- Still have the original DELCO freedom battery.

- Interior is Extremely easy to keep clean without carpet.

- The Truck has more power than you could possibly ask for for a V6 and Rides like a Sports car with very tight steering and lots of Power under your foot.

- Brake Peddle is like a sponge however I really don't like it, but it does the job anyway.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th December, 2003

1997 GMC Sierra SLT Ext Cab Z71 5.7 Vortec from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 5.7 Vortec Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired54000 miles
Most recent distance99000 miles
Previous carNissan Pathfinder

Summary:

Worth every penny.

Faults:

Replaced the alternator at about 85,000 miles.

General Comments:

Simply the best four-wheel drive I've ever owned. This truck handles great. Ride is smooth on highways and interstates.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th October, 2003

24th Feb 2005, 06:38

I have a 1997 GMC sierra EXT. cab Z71 and it rides good I think GMC should go back to using the 97 gille and lights.

11th Aug 2005, 23:22

I agree, the grilles on the early to mid 90's GMC's are by far my favorite, they give the trucks an excellent look and profile, and really make them stand out.

12th Dec 2008, 21:18

I think GM has to make trucks like the 95-98 models again. Those were amazing. From 1999-2003 weren't that great, bring back the 5.7!! They were great on gas, but these new 6.0s ARE TERRIBLE ON GAS!

1st May 2010, 22:04

My whole family relies on the GMCs. I have a 97 GMC Sierra, I paid 8000 cash for it, and they're worth it to me, it is a very good reliable truck. 4 wheels great, and is quick and strong without having to put any junk under the hood.

I drove one for over 100,000 miles and dogged it; it had about 250000 miles on it, so I bought one just like it, same year and all.

1997 GMC Sierra SLE 5.7 Vortec from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 5.7 Vortec Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance81350 miles
Previous carNissan Hardbody Pickup

Summary:

I got a great reliable truck for the money spent

Faults:

After 81000 miles I needed to have the front brake pads replaced. The rear are still good. I think that's great.

An engine seal blew at about 33,000 and cost about $600. to repair.

Tires that came with vehicle lasted only about 25,000 miles.

General Comments:

I live where there is snow and ice 6 months out of the year. I have a 4 wheel drive which I use for the majority of this time. I have so far have had no problems with the transmission or drive chain or anything for all of this time which I find exceptional.

I do find that the seats are really lacking in support and comfort. This is my only negative comment on this vehicle.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd August, 2003

1997 GMC Sierra 5.0 V8 from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 5.0 V8 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired29000 miles
Most recent distance57000 miles
Previous carHonda Accord

Summary:

This is a great, reliable piece of machinery

Faults:

Absolutely nothing.

General Comments:

I have driven my Sierra for a couple of years now and I have to say that I could not ask for a better vehicle to suit my needs. It is powerful, reliable and has performed much better than my overall expectations. It is not a 4x4, but I have driven it off roads and it handles great.

As far as towing goes, it has delivered every time. I have pulled a stuck SUV out of a ditch, as well as a friends broken down car. I love my truck.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th March, 2001

3rd Dec 2002, 15:02

My dad has a 1997 GMC Sierra 5.0litre, V8, 2WD, 1500. He has had it since it was brand new. At 125,000kms, the transmission had to be replaced!! It has needed a lot of work since he bought it.

20th Apr 2003, 12:25

I have had my truck for 2 years now. I bought it when it had 35000 km. I have put 40000 on it in that time. Their has been nothing but trouble since I got it. Purchased a power train warranty and glad I did. Problems I've had, fuel pump, brake lines, front brakes at 50000 km, intake gasket, loud noise when you come to a stop (GM said it is the springs),and now the transmission gave out.

1997 GMC Sierra SLE 4x4 5.7 from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 5.7 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.5 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance31000 kilometres
Previous carGM Safari

Summary:

Good offroad towing vehicle

Faults:

Poor fitting interior trim (carpet).

Engine main seal leaked.

Rear RH brake shoe siezed.

Premature rusting of doors and tailgate.

Bumpers replaced due to pitted chrome.

Overfilled engine oil after service call.

General Comments:

Nice, powerful and handling truck, but quality control and dealer service somewhat lacking.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th August, 2000

Average review marks: 7.1 / 10, based on 20 reviews