1999 GMC Sonoma SL 4.3L Vortec from North America


Big, fat, smelly turd


Truck has been misfiring for 40k of the 50k miles I have owned it. I have replaced the plugs, wires, fuel sending unit, and the cap and rotor four times. Finally discovered that Advance Retards sells an inferior cap that degrades. Put a NAPA cap on it, and now it only misfires 1/3 of the time it used to.

Door spring popped out, so the door didn't lock. 2 weeks later, the door pin popped out of the top hinge and the door sags 4 inches.

Rear brakes are completely gone and leak brake fluid.

Clutch went out at 140000 miles from normal wear, but my mechanic discovered the slave cylinder leaking inside the tranny.

Main clutch cylinder went out at 150000 miles.

Rust holes in each cab corner 6 inches square.

Alternator died at 160,000 miles.

Fuel pump died at 150k.

Insult to injury, the tailgate is so broke it just falls off when you use the handle.

General Comments:

These vehicles may be wonderful when you first buy them, but after 120k they start to die. Everything starts failing in quick succession.

When it isn't misfiring, it has decent power.

Really bad on gas, even as a manual.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 26th November, 2010

1999 GMC Sonoma SLS 4.3 V6 Vortec from North America


Great vehicle


Fuel pump went out at 136000 miles.

4 wheel high went out at 143015 miles.

Passenger side window will randomly roll itself down.

CV joints dissembled themselves after using 4 wheel drive for 12000 miles.

Leaf springs had to be replaced first year I got it.

Fuel mileage is not the greatest; only gets 225-250 miles to a tank.

General Comments:

Truck handles really well with 33" tires. Rides extremely smooth for a 4x4. NEVER BEEN STUCK. Been through really deep and soggy mud. Never got stuck.

Flow-master duals sound amazing on the V6 Vortec.

All around great sturdy truck.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th January, 2010

1999 GMC Sonoma SLS 2.2 liter 4 cylinder from North America


Good truck


Leak in the vacuum hose and starter went out.

General Comments:

Added a Thrush dual exhaust, front and back anti-sway bars and new starter.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th August, 2009

1999 GMC Sonoma sl 2.2 from North America


Not worth the financial investment


The driver worked by the computer quit working on a long distance trip, resulting in an engine block filled with unburned gas and oil, a rolling time bomb as the mechanics explained it, a new computer replaced, a new catalytic converter. Seats wore badly, handle to lift seat forward broke long ago, door latch is worn and broken, an must be manually repositioned each time when shuting the door, a new battery, new clutch from a bad mechanic, which still needs some work or , new starter, new brakes, new windshield, constantly problems, always needing something, always changed the oil and plugs and wires THE MONEY PIT could have got something better.

General Comments:

Small cabin uncomfortable for long trips, no passenger room.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 4th May, 2007

22nd Aug 2009, 13:26

Exact same truck I owned, 2 engines, 2 transmissions, bad drive shaft, seat knobs broke off. What a piece of junk.

1999 GMC Sonoma sls 4.3 from North America


Think I got one that was made on a Friday


Had it for about 2 weeks and the drivers seat started to wear, had this replaced 3 times and now I just live with it. Next the rubber around the windows would not seal properly had that fixed. seat handle broke, but what I've read this happens. I've put on new wires, plugs, had to replace the front shocks, and the brakes and rotors. These things I understand go with time. My biggest beef is my fuel pump went at 60,000 and now its acting up again at 120,000. (does anyone else have this problem?) Just this week my starter didn't work, I took it off and there is a wire from the battery to the starter then there is a wire from the cylinder which when you turn the key it turns the starter over, this wire was fried.

General Comments:

My trucks been really good besides the hiccups its had. I've looked after it really well, do my own oil changes every 4,000, change the air filter every 20,000, I even change my gas filter every summer. It goes like snot when ever thing is working right.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 12th April, 2006

13th Apr 2006, 05:05

These trucks are only fabricated on Friday 5:30 PM.

31st May 2006, 21:56

I have had the same problems with the seats.

1st Oct 2008, 20:56

I don't get the seat handle problem. Very annoying.