1999 GMC Sonoma Reviews - Page 3 of 4

1999 GMC Sonoma SLS 4.3 Vortec from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 4.3 Vortec Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.2 / 10
Distance when acquired89000 kilometres
Most recent distance95000 kilometres
Previous carPontiac Sunfire

Summary:

I love this truck

Faults:

Passenger seat handle has broken.

When the gas gauge is at 1/4 tank or 350km, the needle jumps all over the place (any suggestions).

A button on the factory radio was worn. I guess the lady who owned it before had long nails.

General Comments:

Back seat cup holders are not deep enough (ask my kids or carpet cleaner).

I love that it's a factory low rider, don't have to spend the $ to drop it.

Wide tires for great handling.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th November, 2003

30th Oct 2007, 13:43

Just in case you did not fix your needle.

The problem is in the fuel pump module and you will need to replace it.

J.C.

12th Jan 2010, 08:11

Fuel pump is going out in it. The fuel sensor is bad, trust me, my gauge jumped when it was full. It stopped after replacing the fuel pump.

1999 GMC Sonoma SLS 2.2 from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.2 Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.4 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance165000 miles
Previous carHonda Accord

Summary:

Dependable truck for the money

Faults:

Nothing. Well, the clutch just went out, but at 165,000 miles, I guess that's to be expected. I replaced the original brake pads at 150,000, but there was plenty of pad left. Tires every 50,000 miles. That's it - all I do is regular oil & filter changes every 5,000 miles. Thing's the most reliable truck I've ever owned.

The GM dealer will rape you on parts and service - have a local independent shop do any big maintenance.

General Comments:

Decent truck for the price. I've beat the poor thing to death, and it still starts and runs perfectly. The 2.2L engine is gutless, but I bought it for fuel mileage, which is still getting ~25mpg at 75mph.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st October, 2003

1999 GMC Sonoma 4.3 from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 4.3 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.2 / 10
Distance when acquired72000 kilometres
Most recent distance87000 kilometres
Previous carChevrolet Van

Summary:

High priced junk

Faults:

Third door latch has broken.

Emergency brake doesn't work.

Manual transmission just quit working, at the the tune of $1900.00 to get fixed.

What next?

General Comments:

The truck is nice looking, but that is as far as it goes. GM has a lot of nerve asking the price they do for their product. I have been buying their products for as long as I can remember, this will stop, reason being, they're not getting better, as the years go by they're getting worse.

Not a happy camper...

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 14th October, 2003

14th Feb 2004, 13:31

It is very simple problems here. This individual cannot take care of his truck. I have a 1999 Sonoma with over 150,000 miles on it and its been great and very reliable. Other than some interior problems, there is nothing major wrong with this truck. The windshield wiper module goes out at about 90K miles and that's the biggest interior problem I've had. Its performance is great, as well as reliability and comfort. I have a manual transmission just the same as this person, but for some reason I have about twice as many miles on mine, and I still haven't had anything wrong with my transmission. Other than the usual clutch jobs.

1999 GMC Sonoma ZR2 4x4 4.3 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 4.3 V6 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.4 / 10
Distance when acquired55000 kilometres
Most recent distance120000 kilometres
Previous carFord Bronco

Summary:

Save your money... buy a Toyota

Faults:

Seat cover wore through below 55000 km.

Had to replace master cylinder.

U-joints.

Seat adjuster snapped off.

So far had to replace oil cooler lines on a yearly basis.

Had to basically rebuild front end (2000.00$) before 100 000km, bearings were replaced, and at 120 000km more bearings need to be replaced.

Has a persistent rattle and squeek coming from driver side extended cab window.

Brakes pretty much had to be completely redone at 55 000km.

General Comments:

I apparently don't share the same optimism as everyone else with this truck. It's mileage is terrible, and has a small gas tank, so when highway driving you have to hit a gas station no later than 400km.

I have taken this vehicle off road... however I take easy. This doesn't seem to matter because the vehicle always needs some repair after. What good is a 4x4 that your scared to take off road?

For the price I paid for this truck, and the problems that it has had, it has been nothing but a nightmare. Sure warranty covered some of the work... but the warranty is gone... and the problems still persist.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 8th February, 2003

6th Feb 2005, 10:39

I agree the gas mileage stinks. and the driver door I have replaced bushin twice in it and the gas float to.

25th Jul 2008, 14:02

GMC Sonoma is total garbage. I own one and totally regret buying one.

The handle on the third door broke 4 times.

The seat adjuster handles are all broken on both seats.

The engine 2.2l gets horrible gas mileage and no power.

The stepside bed is useless.

The ride is horrible.

Heavy stiff springs on a truck not powerful enough to pull the load the springs are rated for.

I totally hate this truck!

29th Aug 2008, 13:19

I don't know what the person who posted above was expecting from their four cylinder engine. It gets bad mileage because it's in a truck and it is a four cylinder of course it has no power. It's the same engine you'll find in a cavalier.

23rd Jan 2009, 09:56

A 4 cylinder, in a small 2wd pick up, should get good fuel economy. Our old Mazda B22, gets the same as our Focus.

Average review marks: 6.5 / 10, based on 21 reviews